Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

One of our favorite places to stay in Costa Rica.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Staying in this hotel is like a trip back in time where everywhere you look throughout the building there is history, character, and charm.
Cons: The plumbing could use an upgrade but was totally acceptable. Given the age of the building that may not be possible.
Location: It is on the edge of Turrialba in the mountains between San Jose and the Caribbean Coast. We were there to raft the Pacuare River, but there is more
This place is located high up and just outside Turrialba with great views and cooler temperatures. The building appears to be an older plantation house that is beautiful with lots of charm and character. Very Nice! When we got there to check-in we were greeted with a warm towel to freshen up, a small delicious cookie, and a blended fruit smoothie drink to welcome us at the check-in counter. The rib steak with green pepper sauce that we had for dinner was amazing, and the table service was outstanding. Everything that we had for dinner from the salad, to the wine and locally brewed beer made for a wonderful experience. The surrounding gardens were beautiful to walk through before breakfast with many birds to see and hear their songs. All things considered it was one of our favorite places that we stayed during our 3 week visit to Costa Rica and I strongly recommend it without reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Quiet

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Great people. Nice property. Chef should have more options of local dishes in the menu. Menu is expensive for the area and for the quality of the food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by German from Escazu, San Jose

Excelente hotel para descansar en la naturaleza

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente hotel al lado del lago. Da mucha tranquilidad menta e ideal para ir con tu pareja.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Hôtel de charme pour découvrir Turrialba

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hôtel pour découvrir la région: superbe propriété, accueil très aimable et efficace, chambres spacieuses et restaurant de qualité, le tout pour un séjour très réussi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hameln

Komfortables Hotel mit sehr gutem Restaurant

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Einfach alles!
Cons: Das Hahnengeschrei ab morgens um 5 Uhr stört den Schlaf doch etwas.
Location: In der Nähe von Turrialba. Nationalparks zu den Vulkanen Irazu und Turrialba, Ausgrabungsstätte Guayabo, Lake Agostura
Haben uns in der Nähe die Nationalparks zu den Vulkanen Irazu und Turrialba angesehen. Das Hotel liegt auch nah an der Ausgrabungsstätte Guayabo. Der erste Eindruck bei der Zufahrt zu dem Hotel über eine Palmenallee mit dem Vulkan Turrialba im Hintergrund ist beeindruckend. Das Hotel ist in einem ehemaligen Herrenhaus einer Plantage untergebracht. Überall ist die Historie des Hauses greifbar, das Hotel wurde gefühlvoll in das Haus integriert. Das Personal ist sehr aufmerksam und zuvorkommend. Das Restaurant des Hotels ist sehr empfehlenswert. Wir haben unseren Aufenthalt sehr genossen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lille

Tres bel hotel, mais animations pas a la hauteur!

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Tres bel hotel dans un magnifique domaine. Vraiment dommage que les kayaks soient a l'abandon a cote d'un ponton qui s'est écroulé. Le lac est envahi de plantes toxiques et le lac infestés de moustiques est impraticable. La balade a cheval proposée a été annulée apres qu'on nous l'aie proposée... C'etait vraiment décevant. Domage car l'hotel et le domaine sont sublimes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great Hotel, Boutique concept, nice outdoors spaces , pacefull quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Liz from Carpinteria

Remote but ideally located for rafting the Pacuare

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect for rafting the Rio Pacuare. Beautiful but remote---make sure you have a 4WD vehicle to get there. Incredibly comfortable and many other activities available besides just rafting excursions. Only critique was that the food looked better than it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Raquel Pizarro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels