Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

This is a beautiful boutique hotel. The restauran

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is smaller and feels like a large beautiful home- it is very open with pretty views and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Fan was noisy.
Location: Remote location, very private. The rafting on the nearby Picquarre is with the trip.
This is a very beautiful hotel. We stayed here specifically to be near the white water rafting on the Picquarre River. The restaurant is very good and the staff was very friendly.
1 out of 5
by Bob from from ca

if you want to rough it this is it

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
1st room had bugs in the bed. moved to 2nd room and the sheets were dirty. only other room was two beds. no AC. and the pictures are old. no kayaks, nature trail is overgrown, food tasted old and frozen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

One of our favorite places to stay in Costa Rica.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Staying in this hotel is like a trip back in time where everywhere you look throughout the building there is history, character, and charm.
Cons: The plumbing could use an upgrade but was totally acceptable. Given the age of the building that may not be possible.
Location: It is on the edge of Turrialba in the mountains between San Jose and the Caribbean Coast. We were there to raft the Pacuare River, but there is more
This place is located high up and just outside Turrialba with great views and cooler temperatures. The building appears to be an older plantation house that is beautiful with lots of charm and character. Very Nice! When we got there to check-in we were greeted with a warm towel to freshen up, a small delicious cookie, and a blended fruit smoothie drink to welcome us at the check-in counter. The rib steak with green pepper sauce that we had for dinner was amazing, and the table service was outstanding. Everything that we had for dinner from the salad, to the wine and locally brewed beer made for a wonderful experience. The surrounding gardens were beautiful to walk through before breakfast with many birds to see and hear their songs. All things considered it was one of our favorite places that we stayed during our 3 week visit to Costa Rica and I strongly recommend it without reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Quiet

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Great people. Nice property. Chef should have more options of local dishes in the menu. Menu is expensive for the area and for the quality of the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great Hotel, Boutique concept, nice outdoors spaces , pacefull quiet
4 out of 5
by Liz from Carpinteria

Remote but ideally located for rafting the Pacuare

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
Perfect for rafting the Rio Pacuare. Beautiful but remote---make sure you have a 4WD vehicle to get there. Incredibly comfortable and many other activities available besides just rafting excursions. Only critique was that the food looked better than it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam from portland, Oregon

Beautiful!!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
We're traveling all over coaster Rica. We have just come from the southern coast and stayed here one night on our way to the Caribbean coast. This is the most beautiful place I've ever seen very comfortable clean and friendly people. They also have great food in their restaurant. I would recommend anybody to stay here especially if they're going from one side of the country to the other side. It's a great stop over.
5 out of 5
by Tonya from new orleans

It WAS something to write home about!

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels
We has a wonderful time at Casa Turire! The hotel was very nice, the furnishings in our room were lovely. The bathroom fixtures weren't modern, but everything was very clean. The bed was comfortable, the meals were hot. You won't find nicer more obliging hotel staff anywhere! I will say, this is the county. If you are looking for 4 star big city hotel, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, that is full of beauty and life, come here! You will cry when its time to go home!
5 out of 5
by Terry from New Orleans

We loved it. A perfect romantic getaway

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels
We REALLY loved hotel Casa Turiri. We stayed in Room 9 which overlooked the pool, it had a beautiful view of the grounds. Oh, and the grounds are absolutely beautiful! Our room was nicely furnished, the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly, they went out of their way to help us. The restaurant is good, very good for rural Costa Rica. Every dish came out hot! I read all the reviews on many different websites and would like to suggest; Bring ear plugs. This is a small hotel, there is noise. But that isn't unique, it is Costa Rica (the noise wasn't even that annoying). Once everything was quiet, the sounds of nature were very peaceful. It is nice to wake up early and sit on the balcony and meditate on all the beauty and music of nature. I think you will love it here. We DID!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Toronto, ON, Canada

OK but nothing to write home about

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Cons: food, room amenities/dated
Location: easy to find with signs off the main road
I think this hotel has seen better days. The grounds were very nice and the room clean and fairly comfortable. The room lacked drapes (aside from a privacy sheer) so that made the sunrise rather evident when we would have rather slept in. Dinner at the restaurant was well presented and service was very friendly. Some croquettes on the side of a "tipico" dish were served still frozen inside. The restaurant comped the cost of the meal but this was surprising for what appears to be a fancy restaurant (I would have thought these and many other parts of the meal would have been prepared fresh but many items were from frozen as well). Several other dishes were so-so. Breakfast the next morning was filling with wonderful service but the food was again lacking.