Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Hotel is older and I was surprised that breakfast was not included since it is part of the Holiday Inn group
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Bad.. I don't like everything. Very different photo and real
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Please see comments above.
Cons: Well, it could be free of charge. lol.
Location: I wasn't vacationing, so did not care about this. I will only say it's right off Highway 95 - so super convenient to someone traveling the East Coast.
Needed it on the fly. It exceeded expectations in every way. It's not on my regular "flight path," but it was there when I needed a quiet, clean, well lit place to chill for one night, and I was pleased by the warm welcome - and then doubly pleased by the lovely amenities in the room (REAL blackout curtains, overlapping curtains that ensured privacy on the lower floors, HOOKS in the bathroom to hang up stuff. Like!) But most importantly: reliable high speed internet, refrigerator, microwave, huge desk - everything the thrifty business traveler needs (esp. one who doesn't care to 'eat out' that much and prefers one's own food). If I'm ever in the area again, this hotel would be my top choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn of Carteret. I am pleased to hear that we exceeded expectations and we would be your top choice again in the future. We do value and appreciate your business and are looking forward to your next visit. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Good stopover

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Mixed review. Employees were better than good, friendly,competent and attentive. This however cannot completely overcome a structure that is showing age. My room was dirty with at least (4) wear holes in the carpet which in itself was old. The breakfast had no fruit available except an orange. Oatmeal & eggs were cooked competently, coffee was OK and tea water was hot. Put these employees in a better maintained facility and the whole operation would shine. I'm giving this experience a 3.5 and trying the competition next trip. Wish I had taken photos of the carpet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from from southern NJ

Very accommodating to my night shift schedule

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Location...price...staff...accommodating
Cons: Can't thing of anything off hand
Location: Lots of places to eat and shop close by. 3 miles from Rahway train station that takes you to NYC. They have a shuttle but I didn't use it.
Everything went great. I did forgo room cleaning because I slept till 1:30 from working night shift. That was my doing. They let me check out later then noon also (2:00). Has a restaurant that is very reasonably priced with a adequate menu. Surrounded by the NJ Turnpike but wouldn't know it...was quiet. Good thing about that was there were no locals walking through the lot. All in all, stay was terrific!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by kathleen@hicarteret.com, Hotel Management
Dear Bob: Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn of Carteret. I am very pleased to hear you stay was terrific you liked the location, price, great restaurant and the staff was very accommodating. Yes, our location is very convenient right off, exit 12 of the NJ Turnpike and you are correct, we do offer a complimentary shuttle ride to and from the local train into NYC, as well Newark Liberty Airport. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Good beds, clean and comfort. A bar at the lobby, excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by kathy, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn of Carteret. I am pleased you found your accommodations clean and comfortable the bar and lobby excellent. We hope to see you again soon. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Hotel but Better Options nearby

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed one night as we were in town for thanksgiving with some friends. The room was okay. The hotel is very outdated and could use a remodel. The room was okay for one night. The bathroom was clean. Two things that we did not like were: 1. We found a stain on one of the bed sheets. 2. When I turned on the water from the faucet in the sink, initially it came out brown. I had to let it run for a little bit before using it. We called the front desk about the stain. The lady only offered to give us a new sheet. The next day when we checked out, we complained. We were told that the lady had offered us another room but we were never told that. Nevertheless it was her word against ours. We got $25 removed from our bill as a "courtesy". We found another hotel nearby in Woodbridge which was much nicer, more modern, perfectly clean and included breakfast for about the same price that I paid for this room. I would stay there again if they updated their hotel and maybe included breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

clean. comfortable.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: staff was friendly and very helpful
Cons: nothing.
Location: very close to Elizabeth NJ which has GREAT Colombian food, and short bus to Time Square for only $8
only stayed here to get a short bus to be able to go to times square. very convenient!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient with friendly staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient to 95 with a good restaurant Friendly staff .............. ................
Cons: Could be updated, a bit old .................. ................. .............
Location: Good for 95 travel ........ ..... ......