Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Good beds, clean and comfort. A bar at the lobby, excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

clean. comfortable.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: staff was friendly and very helpful
Cons: nothing.
Location: very close to Elizabeth NJ which has GREAT Colombian food, and short bus to Time Square for only $8
only stayed here to get a short bus to be able to go to times square. very convenient!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient with friendly staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient to 95 with a good restaurant Friendly staff .............. ................
Cons: Could be updated, a bit old .................. ................. .............
Location: Good for 95 travel ........ ..... ......
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Rude, Noisy, Stay Somewhere Else

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Night time manager was more reasonable than day time manager.
Cons: Customer Service or lack thereof. Noise. Breakfast. Staff lack of professionalism.
Location: not applicable
The room was ok. It was noisy and difficult to sleep. The daily manager was extremely rude to me and not helpful at all. She was condescending and inappropriate. The night manager was better. Not sure if it's a regional thing or not but it felt like people working there had a chip on their shoulder and did not want to be serving me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Dear Mary T: Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Kathleen F.
4 out of 5
by Anthony from New York City

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Overall great stay. Comfortable. Good staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anthony: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Carteret

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: It was not too far from New York City.
Cons: Better Customer Service!
My first impressions of the hotel was not good at first because I tried to reach them by phone several times and no one answered. After continuous calls, someone would pick up the phone and hang it up. Another thing to know about the hotel is that, they do not have any elevators and they do have more than one level, so it was unexpected. Other than that, the room was fine and comfortable. We did request for towels and no one brought them to us. The restaurant on site was fine. We just ordered some fruit, but overall we had a good experience there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Dear Farrah: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear your rooms was clean and comfortable and you enjoyed the restaurant. Nice to know overall you had a good experience. Hope to see you again in the future. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by Lisa from JAnesville

Over Priced

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was way over priced for what it offered! Live and learn we travel alot
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff was very accommodating. The hotwl will drop off and pick up for free at the Rahway subway station 24 hours a day. Julian's restaurant was good but a little pricey. This hotel would be perfect if they offered a complimentary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous: Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
4 out of 5
by JANET from BALTIMORE

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
The room was adequate. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Janet: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn of Carteret. I am pleased you found your room adequate, clean and comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Hotel con exc servicio de shuttle, pero...

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Todo en la estadía estuvo muy bien. Tienen un servicio de shuttle excelente q te lleva a la estación del tren o al aeropuerto las veces q necesitas. Tuvimos un incidente la última noche debido a un grupo de jóvenes y adultos q se pasaron la noche gritando y haciendo escándalo. A pesar de la policía estuvo presente la situación no mejoró y no pudimos dormir nada. A las 3am nos dispusimos a regresar a casa tomando dos vuelos sin haber dormido. Para mi es responsabilidad del hotel velar por la tranquilidad de todos los huéspedes y no permitir q algunos pertuben a los demás
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by Kathleen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.