Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton oh

The most dirtiest holiday inn i had ever see

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel hall ways were very dirty, it looked like run down, cheap Motel. Nothing looked like typical holiday inn that i know of. Restaurant staff was extremely rude. Food was Terrible. My recommendation: never ever include breakfast in the deal. I regret paying for it ahead of time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to bus stop to NYC

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Very comfortable stay close to NYC. Will choose again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice alternative

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Cons: Upgrade
Everything was ok, room could have used a little updated but for the most part we enjoyed our stay, Staff was friendly..
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear A. Peay: Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. I am pleased to hear you did enjoy your stay and the staff was friendly. We do appreciate your feedback. Warmest regards, Kathleen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Average hotel approx 1 hour from NYC

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Hotel had complimentary shuttle to Rahway train station once an hour. Shuttle ride took 15 minutes. Train ride to NYC took 40 minutes and cost $18.50 round trip to Penn Station. Hotel was dated but did the trick. Overall a 3 star.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to use the complimentary shuttle to take you to the train into NYC. We hope to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Stay

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The staff at the hotel particularly the lady at the restaurant and another cleaning lady do not respect the guests. The lady at the restaurant treated us "8 guests booking 2 rooms" with arrogance and disrespect. The attitude of most of the people working there is very negative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Front desk, Hotel Management
Dear Gabriel: First, I want to thank you for your feedback. While I wish, you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case, we fell short in the restaurant. I have shared this review with the restaurant ownership so they can address your concerns with their staff. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Rooms were not comfortable. The side entry doors were not accessible using the door keys. The rooms could use a good cleaning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Angela D. , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is very sadden to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and hope to see you again in the future to meet your them. Safe travels, Angela D. Front Desk Representative
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W.

Hotel next to turnpike

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Our stay was comfortable. They cleaned every day and we never had to ask for new towels or wash rags. The beds were clean and so comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly during our stay. I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by gm, Hotel Management
Dear Tina: Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Holiday Inn of Carteret. I am please to hear that you found your accommodations clean, comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I will share your review with the staff, we do appreciate the recommendation. We hope to see you again in the future. Warmest regards, Kathleen F. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
The stay was good. area is a little bit shady. but hotel staff were friendly. good place to stay if you are visiting new york from down south.
2 out of 5
by warren

holiday forgotten inn

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel needs to retrain cleaning personnel on how to properly clean a room. this hotel is old and the interior reflect this . I am suprise holiday inn allow it's name to be used.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Good for one night.

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Proximity to highways
Cons: The bathroom mirror was dirty with stains on it.
Location: Right off highway, near diner, McDonald's, BK etc
Spent only 1 night there. The room was decent and the King size bed was very comfortable. The water pressure was strong as well.