Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Kimberly

Hot room

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
It is the owner's policy to not turn on air conditioning to rooms until check in. It was 95 degrees outside that day. We checked in at 9 p.m. and it took until after midnight for the room to cool off enough to sleep. When we asked for another room we were told they were all that way. Summer in central Texas and no air turned on? Otherwise it's a very nice motel and a great cafe across the street.
4 out of 5
by Zann

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Nice, clean rooms. Staff was nice. Late reservation hadn't been sent by the time we got there, but night mgr got on the phone immediatley to fix it.
5 out of 5
by gayla

OK for the money and location

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Compared to the rest of the hotels in the area, this was the best. Still needs to be a bit updated and cleaned but no real issues.
5 out of 5
by Lesley

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
The guy at the front desk was really helpful and the rooms were clean.. Every time I chime tho the East Texas area I stay here
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Neglected Dirty Rooms but Friendly Staff

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed there for 3 nights for a basketball tournament. The room was very dirty when we got there. Very dusty, cobwebs in the corners, smoke detector wires were cut and the smoke detector was laying in the window sill. The carpet coming up in places and was so dirty that it would make your socks black to walk on them. Overall a pretty gross room. The staff was nice but clearly with the level of room cleanliness it's not something that ownership cares about. I think they must usually just have guys staying there who are in town for work, construction crews, etc. We did not bother telling staff anything about the dirty conditions because our friends room was also just like ours. The stuff that was dirty was the result of months of neglect not just a housekeeper taking a shortcut or forgetting something. I just don't think we are the customers this place normally hosts. The staff was very nice to us, even accommodating a very late check out. I think we were just a mismatch for their motel.
1 out of 5
by Robert from Houston

DON'T STAY HERE

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
I am a regular user of Hotels.com and for the most part the service has been good to me until this trip. I was driving to Shreveport from Houston for the Holidays and was getting tired so I looked for hotels in Carthage so I could still arrive early the next morning since it's and hour away. We get there at just before midnight and the door is locked, nobody is behind the glass window and after calling the phone number and getting no answer countless times I finally called hotels.com who tried to call them and also got no answer. Then hotels.com tells me it'll be 3 days for a refund. I guess if you're not there before the owners go to sleep or you somehow lock yourself out of your room late it's going to be a long night. We stayed next door (comfort inn) for roughly the same rate and someone is actually at the front desk 24/7.
4 out of 5
by Lissa from Wallis

Okay property will use again

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
This was our second stay at this property the main reason we stay here is because of price and it's close to our family. The room key had to be updated every time we used it. The carpets needed to be cleaned. But for the price it was good. Breakfast was good and service was good.
4 out of 5
by Kaycee from Rockport, TX

Good place to stay.

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
We just stayed for one night, but it was nice. The hotel was not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. The bedding was clean and the room did not have any disrepair. Good Parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
No breakfast a promised. Hair on shower wall.