Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Disappointingly dowdy

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Spacious two bed apartment with en suite facilities and a lovely communal pool right outside the French windows. If the apartment had been refurbished, in particular the dreadful bathroom and shower cubicle, I wouldn't be able to fault this place at all. Unfortunately, my kids and I found the shower cubicle/bathroom/toilet disgustingly old and dingy. Yes, they were cleaned every day, but they still felt grubby and gunky. I could only recommend this resort if you could pick the apartment and assure yourself that the bathrooms had been updated
5 out of 5
by James

First stay in Portugal

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

very good

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice apartment individually decorated had everything we needed. Great heated pool in April and beautiful view. Short walk up the hill but close to everything you need
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Our unit had amazing view from our third floor balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

What a find, great resort

Posted Mar 13, 2017
A wonderful resort in a tranquil location on the hill just above Carvoiero. Clean well equipped apartment. Heated swimming pool and fabulous views of the area. Great sunsets from the balcony. As the apartments are on the hill you need to be reasonably fit. Easy access to the town and beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Gomes, Hotel Management
Looking forward for your next visit. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Comfortable hotel close to amenities

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenience to a number of close facilities. Weather prevented use of the facilities such as the pool, tennis, etc.
Cons: Directions to the resort -- we spent an intolerable length of time looking for the resort!!!
Location: Shopping; water sports; tours of Spain, the area, markets, golf.
We elected to experience Portugal having never visited for any extended period. We found the facilities most comfortable and convenient. The accommodation was most adequate -- we came at the end of summer/fall and as a consequence the weather was a small issue -- cold during our stay, particularly at night, and we were not used to the cool! It did not deter us from our otherwise full and interesting stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great complex

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Everything you could want from an apartment.
5 out of 5
by Caroline from London

Wonderful spacious apartment in a great location

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Really spacious apartment and proper sized beds, king size with a memory foam mattress in one of the bedrooms was a blessing given both my small children wanted to sleep in the same bed as me. Nice and quiet at night and with shutters so no dazzling light in the morning to wake my little beauties. Wonderful having 2 bathrooms, dishwasher and washing machine (I know, I know, I even had a reality check that these items now excite me on holiday). Apartment was very well equipped and everywhere is kept super clean, the cleaner was lovely, really friendly and super efficient (if only she lived near me at home I'd hire her!). Our apartment over looked the tennis courts and our buildings pool, very nice too, the apartments overlooking the sea are a bit special though for the view, if you can stretch a bit I would go for one of these. Big pool was a bit more lively as in there were more people around it, still very chilled, so we used to go up there in the afternoon. Really close to the town, and beach, just be prepared for the steep hill, I know everyone mentions it, it does take a bit of energy, pushing a buggy and a baby strapped to me with bags of shopping took me 3 stops to catch my breath but definitely do-able. And comical to watch the other half showing off by tearing up the hill, after a few pints watching the football, and nearly collapse at the top. The whole place is hilly so it does not apply to just this hotel. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Love this place!

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Clean, modern and lovely sea views
Cons: I would help if there was a snack bar or shop on the complex
Location: Carvoiero is a lovely little town with restaurants, bars and shops all clustered around a beautiful bay.
This is the second time I've stayed here and will definitely be back next year. Great apartments clustered around small pools make it very peaceful. Never had a problem getting a sunbed, but there is a larger pool if you want company. Pool towels are provided. Apartments cleaned regularly and very well equipped with cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, washing machine and TV. Only downside is that wifi is a bit 'hit and miss' so access to internet is limited. Within walking distance to centre of town (although quite a steep hill to get back up)! All in all a great place to holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated for beach ,restaurants etc.

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: The staff at reception were helpful and pleasant.
Cons: Surprised the accommodation did not have a gym.
Location: Fabulous location for beach and restaurants.
Had a lovely time at Monte Dourado Resort however there some noise due to building renovations.As a result we left the resort after only three days.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Sandra Gomes, Hotel Management
Monte Dourado Team appreciate your coment and hope to welcoming you again. Kind regards,