Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Raleigh layover

Posted Apr 20, 2018
We needed a last minute place to stay and were comfortable here. We enjoyed walking on the grounds in the morning and meals at the hotel. The room was a bit more than we usually would pay and was a big cost splurge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to vacation

Posted Apr 19, 2018
The grounds and building are beautiful. The staff and food were excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I paid for

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Will not stay again. Upon check in staff was uncooperative about the booking made thru Expedia. .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prime property with a major problem

Posted Apr 5, 2018
This property is obviously top shelf. However, I will NOT return due to its practice of booking up the property to locals Friday through Sunday, denying access to hotel guests. I stayed at Umstead because of its spa and 5 star dining. Imagine my surprise when I was denied access to both the entire weekend. Talk about bait and switch! Entice you to come at top dollar rates and then deny access to the very facilities that brought you there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NC

Happy Anniversary!

Posted Mar 12, 2018
Cons: I never did figure out how to access the tablet in the room.
I decided to surprise my wife with a stay at the Umstead Hotel for our anniversary. I was the one surprised by the hotel's response to our off-handed reply that we were there to celebrate our anniversary during check-in. I had not made any mention of that when booking the room, but when we returned to our room after an excellent dinner in the Bar & Lounge, we found that an anniversary present and card had been left in our room. Incredible! We will definitely be returning again to enjoy the warm hospitality of this hotel and their staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Great experience, beautiful hotel and the staff is amazing!
5 out of 5
by Robert

5 Stars

Posted Dec 15, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely Amazing!
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
The hotel and property was stellar with art, food, staff and comforts exceeding my expectations. Definitely will be visiting again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth every penny.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean room, technology in the room (tablet control was great).
Cons: Nothing.
I travel a fair bit, and usually stay in a hotel at least once a month. This hotel is definitely in my top 2 of places that care about your stay. ALL staff were nice and very responsive. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Margaret Northrup, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again in your travels