Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riyadh

Beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean .nice breeze

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great view of the Atlantic Ocean and golf course with nice breeze and sound of the waves. However the hotel facilities are very poor. Needs new paint,cleaning of carpet in corridors. Fitness center need to be improved. Breakfast is good however espresso coffee is extra. Restaurant staff attire need to be formal.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by HIND EL KADIRI, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay , particularly our convenient location; Hoping to see you again for your next trip to EL JADIDA!! Best regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel- Bad management

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Expedia had a deal for 1€ breakfast buffet with this hotel and that is why we chose this over Mazagan however when we got here they denied such and offer existed. We showed them our itinerary printout which clearly stated the deal however the staff were confused and not accepting it at all. They kept us standing there while discussing how to tell us it's a mistake! After their long discussion they called the manager. He stormed to reception and ignored us standing there, he was very rude and unprofessional and after telling his staff off turned to us and said there's no such thing and that they would never offer the breakfast for 1€. He was very harsh and kept going on about it although I said we'll just pay for it. He just kept going and at the end we just had to walk away! Other then the management the hotel and the facilities are very nice. Nice access to the beach is good and the rooms are clean and well designed. The food was expensive but tasty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Hind EL KADIRI, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Pullman, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Hind EL KADIRI Guest Experience Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
We had a dismal stay. The staff were rude, and unhelpful. On our second day they had a full blown argument, with yelling, in front of guests at the breakfast. The food was poor, period. Limited menu choice, unless you went for a shoddy but expensive buffet, and what they did have wasn't very nice. The wifi is shocking, the AC didn't work, the hotel overcharges for local taxis, the maids kept giving us one towel for two room occupants... We weren't impressed, and won't be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa. Needless to say when I saw your posting this week regarding your visit I was left puzzled.I am deeply sorry that you were so much disappointed by our food. It is rather uncommon that we hear of such displeasure, and we apologize if you were not happy with that offering. We take your comments very seriously, and following your post, we have implemented a work group to understand how we could be more consistent on the quality ofour services, generally acclaimed by our guests. We hope that the discomfort you experienced has not marred your overall impression about the hotel, and that you will give us a chance to prove you that it was more an isolated incident, rather than the norm. Warm regards, Hind EL KADIRI Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Typically for golfing and horse-riding

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Excellent site for playing golf. It's worthwhile to travel by golf car the whole greens and forest of Araucaria and Eucalyptus at the waterfront of the Atlantic. For beginners of equestrians, it's also good. Take an hour riding on horse crossing the forest, fields with sheeps and cows, and local village. Take a breathe of fresh air and you forget your daily routines and trouble. But the hotel is far away from Casablanca and there's no shuttle bus to and from the nearest town El Jadida. Limousine, which they call it "navette", is the only way of transportation, and it's expensive to book. Thus your meals could only be in the hotel if you don't hire a car for self-drive, for it is impossible to hire an Uber there. wifi connection is slow inside my room, slower than the riad I rented later in Marrakech. They seem to position the hotel as a business hotel as they are building a business center beside the hotel. Wifi connection is something they need to work on. Staff are no nonsense business like, though there are some friendly ones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Hind EL KADIRI- Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, What a wonderful review to start the year with! Thank you! "Excellent site for playing golf. It's worthwhile to travel by golf car the whole greens and forest of Araucaria and Eucalyptus at the waterfront of the Atlantic"- that are wonderful comments and we so much appreciate that you took the time to convey your kind words! We are delighted you could enjoy the ride in the Golf Course, one of the best Golf Courses in Morocco. Actually it was elected the number one in a competition between Golf Courses in the country. I took note of your comment regarding the Wifi speed in the rooms, we are working on it to improve the quality of the Wifi connection in this region. We wish you and your family a wonderful New Year and look forward to welcoming you back in 2017. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings UK

A great location.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Wonderful setting and friendly staff .Food was great and the golf was a real treat.
Cons: Nothing to moan about , just hope the business goes from strength to strength.
Location: It is set on an amazing beach great walks [ beach could do with a regular clean of Atlantic debris ] El Jadida is a great old fishing town.
This was a great holiday break . An outstanding break the staff and hotel was a real surprise . I had always gone to Spain for a quick winter break but now I will change and next time take my own golf clubs . The golf course is really great layout tough front 9 and very pleasant back 9 .Nice range to warm up ,a terrific caddy and a great club house serving great food in a wonderful setting . Golfers give it a try .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by etx-H2960QM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest The entire team joins me in thanking you for choosing us and for taking the time for this through review Delighted the staff were attentive, providing you with a warm welcome upon arrival as well as throughout your entire stay, making you feel “at home and relaxed”. It is always greatly appreciated when our guests mention the staff. It is true that the Pullman Royal Golf El Jadida has everything that makes it stand out from the other competitive Golf courses in the region. Pleased to know that the design and sophistication of it has suited you completely. I hope to have the honor of welcoming you again for another incredible stay. Until then I send you my warmest regards. Hind EL KADIRI Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

an ok experience

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: natural setting; the calm; i slept well; i liked the comfortable pillows; hotel staff were warm and welcoming
Cons: - food- not much choice, items needed warming ex.(baghrir & msmen) - cleanliness room had some insects inside - expensive transportation
Location: not much if you don't have a car, but El Jedida center & carrefour malls are all places to visits; great restaurant: Le Privé in downtown.
The hotel's park and beach are the best perks. The room's design and amenities are excellent, however the food's quality not as much. The breakfast is expensive and so is the transportation from the Pullman to downtown (costs about 16 Euros each way). On the first day we were given a room that smelled bad and was on top of the kitchen (the heavy sound of the equipment was annoying). But we were later changed to a better one. For the deal received on booking, the hotel is ok, but if the price was higher, i guess i would feel that the quality does not match the price. Also, the hotel needs to improve the safety between the reception and the swimming pool area. A old tourist fell on the floor and was hit by the edge of a small step that he couldn't see because of insufficient light. His face was injured. The hotel staff were quick to help him out but signs should post that there are steps on the way. The internet works ok in the rooms but its speed should improve. Hotel staff are gentle and helpful especially Mr. Abdallah.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by etx-H2960-QM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your experience at the Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa on our page Expedia.com regarding your trip last year. I invite you to revisit our hotel as it has a lot improved from last time you stayed in. I hope to have the pleasure of having you gain at the Pullman Mazagan to show you how much we strive to provide our guest with the best services. Best regrads Hind LE KADIRI Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by zakaria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from morocco

Very very good hotel Paradis sur terre

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Location: excellent location, love it .
We had a marvelous stay in pullman mazagan, an excellent place in a great location, wonderful interiors, very good service. Must recommend the hotel's SPA , Shaibia and Safa are the best in massage we enjoy it. Very reasonably priced too for a wonderful hotel. I prefer the breakfast in the club house unfortunately they move it to the principal restaurant. My only qualm is the behavior of one of the front desk staff that i do not appreciated at all especially that she is very dishonest and unpleasant by the way she is a little bit alder than her colleague in the reception. thanks to Fatema housekeeping , Houssein & Zohair the porters ,Majid & Hakima in reception and finally my special thanx to Abd elilah the night manager who was nice and helpful, wish him good luck.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by etx-H2960QM, Hotel Management
Dear zineb, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Pullman Mazagan Royal Golf & Spa. I take this opportunity to welcome you to revist our hotel as it has improved since the last time you were in it. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you at the Pullman Mazagan Until then I send you my warmest regards. Hind EL KADIRI Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by Oscar from Pennsylvania

Pullman Mazagan EL JADIDA MOROCCO

Posted Mar 12, 2015 on Hotels
The internet in my room is not working. I reported to the front desk but nothing happened.
4 out of 5
by Graeme from UK

OK - needs improvement

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
I spent one night at this hotel in early March 2014 with a friend. We arrived and ate in the clubhouse which had excellent food and views across the golf course and ocean. The rooms were clean and comfortable though unfortunately the entire hotel (inside and outside) felt very dated and visibly needed work doing. Another negative was the 'Spa' which really felt like a downbeat leisure centre and if you wanted to use the swimming pool it would cost a further £12 per person. We then ventured down to the beach which was covered in rubbish so generally no a pleasant place to be. Thankfully it got better when we went to the bar which had an excellent selection of beers and wines with good music and a big screen for sport.