Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointing stay 4 star hotel?

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful
Cons: Finish building works. Get the locks fixed so they can be closed without slamming
Location: Beach right next door very quite location at night . Only a short bus/ taxi ride into town.
The location, on a quite beach is why we booked this hotel. We had stayed close to this hotel / beach before so we thought we knew exactly what we would getting. Unfortunately there's building works out side on the beach side, a new shop and restaurant? The work stared at 07:00. Diggers, concrete pumps etc. All hotels need refurbishment at some point, but this information was not passed on. We would not have booked this hotel had we known. A few other items to note, the bath room was dirty due to age e.g. Shouter curtains mouldy, (not glass screen) plus shower head holder broken. Another problem is the card reader door locks do not close properly, the latch stay out so every time someone goes in and out of their room they have slam the door. You will hear this from all the rooms around the balcony any time of day and night. Lastly the pool was not open when we were staying around 1st May onwards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Fantastic location and service

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Trip to Lisbon was perfect thanks to this hotel. It is in Cascais outside of Lisbon. Hotel was directly on the water and the sound of the ocean every night and morning was amazing. Room was clean, nothing fancy but a great bed with a ocean view. Breakfast was decent (although the coffee machine was not the greatest). Staff was very kind and helpful. But word to the wise, it is a approximate 25km from the airport. I paid a taxi 90€ to the hotel but only paid 45€ on the return. So just be sure to get a quote if you go by taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Okay but could be better

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Stayed there one night, the room size was okay but some of the decor was dirty and not maintained. There were a few cob webs in the bathrooms as well as rust on the towel rack and taps. The mirror in the bathroom was also dirty. With a bit of care and love this hotel would drastically approve. On the flip side the bar area was the best part of the hotel. The WiFi in the rooms is terrible keeps disconnecting, it only worked in the bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a shame

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly people but room desperate for renovation from cracked tiles, loose sink taps, flaking paint, windows 'blown' so you couldn't see the amazing view and no wifi in he room even though it was advertised with. A real shame, could be amazing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thanks

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay and it was our 50th gold on annaversity
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Gorgeous beach location in rustic styled hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The hotel is located on a very scenic and sparsely populated stretch of beach. Although I had never stayed there, my wife had several years ago. The only reason she was willing to return there (aside from the gorgeous setting) was the fact that the hotel's website indicated it had been renovated since her stay. However, the reality is that the hotel has only redone about half of the rooms. Our unrennovated bedroom was perfectly fine, what wasn't was the bathroom. There is really nothing positive that I can say about that room (mold/mildew, flimsy shower curtain, old and tired towels). The rest of the hotel is fine, so I as long as you ensure that your room is one that had been renovated I would anticipate that you will have a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel on best beach around - Great Location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Old, quaint and a perfect location.
Cons: A coat of paint here and there, a cooked breakfast to be offered.
Location: Perfect location, Sintra, Cascais and Lisbon (Train from Cascais) are all reachable. Use a taxi as busses are the same price.
The Hotel is 'old' world (quaint), has steps everywhere so you need to be steady on your feet. Upgrade your room if you like a good view, Fortress wing sea view is the view from the pictures on website. (Superb) The restaurant is reasonably priced for the area and the food is OK. Don't go to other restaurant nearby unless you want to pay a fortune for a meal. You can use the bar for snacks during the day but the beach side shop is good for quick food and drink. This can be a windy area, so when windy the beach is quiet apart from the normal surfers (Plus wind and Kite). When not windy the beach is busy and the car park is hilarious. The pool has tricky steps down to the area and the water is as cold as the sea. Good for sunbathing when windy. Being a 'surfing' beach the Red flags are out often near the hotel, so unless you have a board you may have to walk to the other end of the beach to swim/jump waves. A taxi to Cascais town center is <10 Eur and 10 mins, there is plenty of choice in the Town for food shopping etc Sintra is also not that far by taxi or organised trip. Overall this is an ideally placed hotel that gives freedom from the towns but still is near enough to travel of an evening or day. The area is expensive but worth a visit.
3 out of 5
by Vanessa from Bend

Great hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
I was delighted to find this hotel. The pool setting is amazing, the bar and restaurants are wonderful, staff were so friendly and helpful. The only thing that ruined the stay for me was the birds in the cages. Very sad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

March - passing through

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Previous reviews were right. Cool place. Yes a little dated but that's what makes it cool. Some recent updates appear to have been made. LOCATION on the beach is great.