Ratings based on 288 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Jay

Worst hotel in Casper

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
I found the hotel in horrible decay. The rooms are currently being remodeled but it still seem like the carpet was dirty the front entrance driving in I thought the building had been abandoned. And that Google and taking me to the wrong building. The food in the cafe was good however they continue to run out of things and not keep their calf Cafe stocked. The bar didn't open till 4 and only staying open till 10 you couldn't order any type of liquor before 4. Additionally, I poured a glass of water out of the faucet which had a brownish coloring to it. When I went to the front desk they said oh we should have told you don't drink our water we have an incredibly High iron content right now and you can have all the free bottled water you want. I've traveled the entire United States been in every state in the Union except for Alaska into territories and this hotel is probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in my entire 28 years of traveling. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone which by the way I found out that almost every employee I came into contact with was an ex-felon spent time in either state prison or County Jail this made me feel very nervous and untrusting of the employees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Jay. We sincerely apologize for the multiple shortfalls and inconveniences you had to endure during your stay. We understand how frustrating it must have been to experience a number of inconsistencies from the brownish water to the dirty carpet. We strive to provide our guests with great service and amenities and take your comments very seriously. We have shared your concerns with our management team and will work diligently to make improvements. With kind regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Will never stay here again

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Not a thing
Cons: Fixing thing around the hotel
Location: Nothing
Are room smelled and the room was hot no air at all plus the key cards did work in the front door and had a .hard time use them to work in the back door also
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to provide our guests with great service and amenities and are saddened that we failed to meet your expectations. We have shared your concerns with our team and will work to make improvements. With kind regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
2 out of 5
by Douglas

Sorry to Say

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
The restrooms by the bar and restaurant were filthy. The restaurant itself left a lot to be desired. There is no kids menu. We had to order adult portions for a three yr. old. Orders were mixed up or the kitchen was out of something. The front desk day clerk acted as if we were really taking up her time. Telephone in our room didn't work. We did have fun at the pool though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Douglas. We are pleased to hear that you had fun at our indoor pool. However, we sincerely apologize for all of the issues you encountered with our restaurant, front desk clerk and guestroom telephone. It is never our intension to make our guests feel as though we don't care and take your comments very seriously. We have shared your concerns with our management team and are working diligently to fix the issues you experienced. With warm regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you for reviewing us. We are happy you enjoyed your overall stay at the Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. With warm regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Powell Wy

TRAVELERS BEWARE!!!!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff was polite and friendly.
Cons: Cleanliness, pluming.
Location: very convenient location.
Although we got a free upgrade the person at the desk was very polite even though they had minimal staff and no house keeping, the room had something on the walls that looked like blood and there was brown water spots and hair on the ceiling in one of the bathrooms, as well as the water was coming out brown. The stucco was falling off the walls and no one ever cleaned it up off the floor for the entire 4 days we were there. On the way home I discovered they also have bed bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, Tina. The Parkway Plaza is conveniently located in the heart of Casper with direct access to the Casper Events Center. We are very disheartened to hear that your stay didn’t exceed your expectations and we assure you that the management and team members are working to rectify these issues. We sincerely apologize and hope that next time you are in Casper that you will give us another chance. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards, Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Don't stay there!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located to the event center.
The shuttle took over an hour and two phone calls before getting picked up at the airport. We found out that the maintenance guy was also the shuttle driver and believe me, the maintenance workers were extremely busy trying to keep the hotel running. Two days of NO hot water and then when we did get hot water it was dark brown. In many rooms, the air conditioning was not working. We stayed for 6 days and our room was never cleaned, the bed was made twice but the sheets weren't changed or the room cleaned. We would have changed hotels but our daughter was required to stay at that hotel and we didn't want to leave her. There are many nice hotels in Casper so choose a different one!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Jan. We apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay. We understand how frustrating it must have been to have to wait over an hour for the shuttle after traveling and then have issues with your guest room. We have shared your feedback with our team and will work diligently to make improvements. We strive to provide our guests with positive experiences and we are disappointed that this was not the case for you. With kind regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green River, WY

It was nice & big and close to the Events Center.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: cooler rooms
Location: Easy access and close to the Event Center
It was easy access, but would have liked our room a bit cooler .. It was comfortable though.. The staff was very friendly and our room was comfortable and clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you, Diana, for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is always great to hear when our guests have a wonderful experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, from our location to our guest rooms and friendly staff. We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future. With many thanks, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver colorado

Very run down at the heels.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Went to check in and there was nobody waiting and it still took 15 minutes for the women to get us checked in. TV didn't get any channels. Horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Jean. We apologize for all of the issues you encountered during your stay. We understand how frustrating it must have been to have to wait to check-in after traveling and then have issues with your guest room TV. We have shared your feedback with our team and will work to make improvements. With kind regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to get to

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice friendly staff, ac condition not great even after moving to different room never seemed to really cool down
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Customer Service Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff. However, we apologize for the issues you encountered with the air conditioning. We have shared your comments with our team and will work to make improvements. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. With kind regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre
1 out of 5
by Teresa

Don't stay here!

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The stay was horrible. AC didn't work in the first room, even after they ask me to mess with the thermostat. So they moved me to a new room, which had a door that would not shut after I pushed it open,it was no cooler than the first room and the thermostat was broken. So, I left the motel. The staff was very nice and apologetic. It did have a remodel, but it was like polishing a tu**, still too many things wrong! Also, it was between the interstate and a railroad track, in a pretty scary part of town, with lots of people just "hanging out" everywhere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, Teresa. We sincerely apologize for all of the issues you encountered with your guest room and throughout your stay. We strive to provide our guests with positive experiences and we are disappointed that this was not the case for you. We have shared your feedback with our management team and take your comments very seriously. With warm regards, Customer Service Team at Parkway Plaza Hotel & Convention Centre