Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economy Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Checked in during a rainstorm, was lucky enough to get a parking spot under the covered entry way so didn't get soaked. Three people at check in area, but apparently only one of them could work with customers. The other two were busy ignoring everyone and working on another project. My check in agent was more concerned with checking her text messages than getting me checked in as it took about 15 minutes (and 6 texts on her cell phone) before I managed to get checked in. Room was upstairs (no elevator) and more than adequate for one person. Breakfast was promoted. First day no evidence of it, second day I finally found the breakfast room. Cereal, waffle maker, and coffee was empty. Pretty average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable price and conveniently locatrd

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Hotel has been recently remodeled and is pretty decent. Breakfast was just so so, but the rest of the hotel is very satisfactory for the price. I will definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The room was very smelly. We had to get some FaBreeze air freshener. No microwave or refrigerator in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by S. Svrko, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to address this immediately.
2 out of 5
by Tonya

Not a good experience

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
The pool was closed for the five days I was there for "maintenance" and the wifi was really bad. The breakfast served consisted of poor tasting coffee and old, dried out pastries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay. Due to the pool being serviced by an outside source, we unfortunately have no control over the time frame in which the maintenance is completed. I'm very sorry to hear you weren't happy with the breakfast options served for the Super Start Breakfast. We do appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by Christal

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay! We appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
by sheridan

1 Night Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The Room was nice but the air conditioner did not work very well and also pool was down due to maintenance other then that the price was reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I am very sorry that we are not currently able to offer the use of the indoor pool. Due to the safety of our guests as well as our staff, we are performing some routine maintenance in the area. I understand how disappointing it can be to arrive and not be able to use the pool, especially when travelling with children. Thank you so much for your feedback!
4 out of 5
by Steven

Great for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great place and location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Advertised well but disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location and breakfast.
Cons: Everything could be improved especially be notified about things like pool & hot tub
We walked into a filthy lobby to check in, asked about pool & hottub- one of the reasons we picked this hotel- and were told it's not operating.. We got the room key and moved in, the carpet was filthy our feet turned black from walking from bed to toilet..If I knew how to get a refund we would have and went somewhere else..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear about your experience during your stay sir. Myself, as well as my staff will address these issues right away. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Low price, met expectations

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleanliness in the common areas
Location: Good shopping and dining nearby and easy access from the highway.
The hotel itself was about what we expected. The common areas were not very clean and there was a feint, unpleasant odor. The room was clean and quiet, though. The big standout was the staff. The woman who checked us in was very pleasant and efficient but the woman at the desk the following morning was even better. When I went to check out the person ahead of me was taking a lot of her time and I was getting a little impatient until I stood a little closer. When I could overhear I realized that the desk clerk was on the phone trying to set up inexpensive ground transportation for the man whose wife was in the hospital across town and he could not afford a cab. It was a very impressive effort that was way above and beyond her job description.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! I will be sure to address the issues of cleanliness in the common area with my staff, as I know first impressions mean a lot. I am so pleased to hear about your experience with our staff, we work hard here to keep our guests happy and make sure they feel comfortable and welcome. We hope you'll come see us again, and thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Location ok

Posted Jul 7, 2017
If I knew how to get my money back in would have tried. We booked here because of the pool and hot tub-both not working. This should have been in the booking ad. The lobby is dirty and our room carpet is dirty, white socks turned black and unwearable. Walking to the bathroom made your feet black. If Expedia was fair they should either refund part of my money or provide me with coupon for a another hotel stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. I have addressed the issues of the carpet with my staff so as to ensure this does not happen in the future. While we cannot remove the pictures from the booking sites, it does not say that we have an operating pool and hot tub at the moment. I sincerely understand your frustration, as both can be very important when travelling. Especially if travelling with children. Again, I am so sorry that you were not pleased with your stay and I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention.