Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The room was very smelly. We had to get some FaBreeze air freshener. No microwave or refrigerator in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by S. Svrko, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to address this immediately.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Advertised well but disappointing

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location and breakfast.
Cons: Everything could be improved especially be notified about things like pool & hot tub
We walked into a filthy lobby to check in, asked about pool & hottub- one of the reasons we picked this hotel- and were told it's not operating.. We got the room key and moved in, the carpet was filthy our feet turned black from walking from bed to toilet..If I knew how to get a refund we would have and went somewhere else..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear about your experience during your stay sir. Myself, as well as my staff will address these issues right away. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Low price, met expectations

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Cleanliness in the common areas
Location: Good shopping and dining nearby and easy access from the highway.
The hotel itself was about what we expected. The common areas were not very clean and there was a feint, unpleasant odor. The room was clean and quiet, though. The big standout was the staff. The woman who checked us in was very pleasant and efficient but the woman at the desk the following morning was even better. When I went to check out the person ahead of me was taking a lot of her time and I was getting a little impatient until I stood a little closer. When I could overhear I realized that the desk clerk was on the phone trying to set up inexpensive ground transportation for the man whose wife was in the hospital across town and he could not afford a cab. It was a very impressive effort that was way above and beyond her job description.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! I will be sure to address the issues of cleanliness in the common area with my staff, as I know first impressions mean a lot. I am so pleased to hear about your experience with our staff, we work hard here to keep our guests happy and make sure they feel comfortable and welcome. We hope you'll come see us again, and thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from alberta

Location ok

Posted Jul 7, 2017
If I knew how to get my money back in would have tried. We booked here because of the pool and hot tub-both not working. This should have been in the booking ad. The lobby is dirty and our room carpet is dirty, white socks turned black and unwearable. Walking to the bathroom made your feet black. If Expedia was fair they should either refund part of my money or provide me with coupon for a another hotel stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us. I have addressed the issues of the carpet with my staff so as to ensure this does not happen in the future. While we cannot remove the pictures from the booking sites, it does not say that we have an operating pool and hot tub at the moment. I sincerely understand your frustration, as both can be very important when travelling. Especially if travelling with children. Again, I am so sorry that you were not pleased with your stay and I appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wyo

Older hotel remodeled into super 8

Posted May 30, 2017
Old Shilo remodeled into super 8. New furnishings and decor but old structure remains. Pool was out of service which I've been told is a common thing. Not bad for the price paid but if you are looking for a high quality newer hotel this isn't it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by K. Cooper, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
2 out of 5
by SHANTANE

Not a place for a family stay

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Windows broke, shower didn't work, pool was not working and they did not tell us that and it was a family trip with kids. Connected to a the Wy downs gambling place had lots of strange people wandering around. Front desk staff was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I am so sorry to hear that you weren't pleased with your stay. I will address these issues with the staff immediately. It is helpful to mention issues such as this at the property so that we can better accommodate you right away. Thank you again for making us aware of areas in which we may need improvement.
3 out of 5
by Joe

Decent enough !

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Was a bit difficult to be sure we were at correct location with little signage.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I'm sorry for any confusion, I can see how it would be difficult with only having the small sign as of now, and we are working to install the larger sign currently. We hope to see you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Poor quality overall

Posted May 7, 2017
The hotel advertises a pool and hot tip. Both out of order. The room had a moldy smell to it made worse by turning on the air conditioner. I had to pull my sheets off the bed to have them changed. Poor maintenance. I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry to hear about your experience here at our property. We are currently working to repair the pool and in doing so can't allow access to the room as a safety measure. I will discuss the issues you had with our housekeeping staff to ensure this never happens again. Thank you for your review!!
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Awesome staff.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay. The staff is awesome. Very pleased highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review! I will be sure to let the staff know you were pleased with their service. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
by Brent

Comfortable and clean

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was good. The room was quiet and comfortable. The location of the motel was pretty ideal, in that there was a restaurant next door, a gas station with convenience store across the street, and there were more fast food places up the street, as well as a mall and other big box stores. My only complaint was in the arrangement of the room. There was a desk at the foot of the bed, which was wide enough that you couldn't leave the chair at the desk. To get around the bed, the chair had to be moved out of the way. I think the desk should have been placed to the side of the bed next to the TV chair, and the chest of drawers placed where the desk is. Just my opinion, but it would have made moving around the room easier. The staff was very friendly, and quick to help me when my door wouldn't lock. Overall, this is an older motel, but comfortable and I recommend it to travelers coming to Casper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Keela, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! Even the slightest details can make a difference when staying away from home. I appreciate you bringing the room arrangement to my attention as I would never have realized this otherwise. I can empathize with trying to maneuver through a space that is not the most comfortable, and will definitely look into some adjustments. We hope to see you again!