Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brittany

A truly awful hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Leaving it
Cons: Everything
Location: Located on a busy, noisy roundabout. Nothing to do but join the Aldi sunshine bar across the road.
This establishment actually has no official stars. This is a richly deserved rating. Apart from one very kindly cleaning lady, I can not think of one positive thing to say about this "hotel". The sign on the gable wall tells you the hotel has been renovated. The notice in the plastic cubicle that is the "bathroom" (the door didn't close) tells you improvements will begin in September 2017. We found an infestation of flies on the nasty plastic curtain of the shower . And this was the better room we were moved to after complaining about the one first allocated to us. I could list a stream of complaints about this place but will simply advise you to think twice about booking a stay here. I would also ask where the positive reviews of this place actually came from because it makes Fawlty Towers look like the Ritz. I can't imagine who could enjoy a night here. I will never book a Balladins hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

basic but quite cheap

Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels
A rather basic hotel of "budget class"
3 out of 5
by Manuel from Mesa, AZ

Great people at the front desk; uncomfortable bed

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel, so I understand that the accommodations can't be perfect! It was our second night in Valence and we had stayed in another hotel for the first night. We just needed to get something closer to my daughter's place. The front desk people were out-of-the-ordinary nice. They spoke English to us without any problem, gave us information and directions to find good places to visit. The room was clean and fresh. The only major problem for me was the bed, harder than a rock. The type of bed that hurts you if you sleep too long in one position. So, my advice is: if you are tired of snooty French service people, unwilling to at least try to help you in any other language than French, then you have a friend at this hotel that will help you in English. You might have to endure an uncomfortable bed, but the atmosphere of good vibes and friendly service will help you to feel better about the bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Judy from London

Long way from town

Posted Sep 14, 2013
Pros: Breakfast. Staff friendliness.
Cons: You get what you pay for.
Location: There is a nearby chateau hotel at the end of an impressive avenue of pine trees but it was shut for dinner on Monday and Tuesday.
Had no idea the hotel would be so far from Agen as I was without a car. This is a motel off the road to Toulouse amongst retail park type developments. My room was quiet, the breakfast first class with a local newspaper and good help given by hotel staff to find the local bus to Agen. But walking along the pavement or grass strip to the relevant turn-off was a bit daunting. Ate dinner the first night (a Monday when much shuts in France) at Leclerc supermarket as it was about five minutes on foot. The strange thing is that suburban life begins immediately on turning a corner off the road and the bus stop was about 10 minutes away in a charming village with church and shops. And Castelculier (perhaps 15 minutes) is similar with a Roman villa under reconstruction. So I found interesting lesser known France as well as visiting Agen with its canal on a bridge crossing the Garonne River and historic architecture. But really you need a car. I gather they get mainly people on business during the week and people on the move at weekends.
2 out of 5
by Matthew from England

Balladins Agen

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels
Rooms small but clean, it was cheap but that's about it!
4 out of 5
by rob and jane from australia

bigger room than most cheaper hotels

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel had larger room than all the others of the less expensive chains that we have stayed in. We could put both suitcases on the floor and still have room to move around. The shower was the same small one, but did not have a curtain which made showering easier. Really comfy bed. For a short stop overnight it is a great little hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ILE DE LA REUNION

espace et confort

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: la proximité
Cons: salle de bain petit déjeuner avec du choix Espace détente
Location: Agen une ville surprenante
La salle de bain et les chambres sont généralement trop petites dans les hôtels français contrairement en Afrique du Sud, où tout est king size. Salle de bain trop petite, lit en 140, alors que nous ne sommes pas forcement de fortes corpulences mais de grande taille Un effort doit être également mis sur l'hygiène, dans les coins
5 out of 5
by Chantal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2017 on Hotels