Ratings based on 193 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by NADINE from MC

A refaire

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Très bel accueil, hôtel agréable en dehors de la ville, magnifique jardin arboré et fleuri, un vrai plaisir d'y prendre un verre ou un café !! Jolie piscine, bon petit déjeuner !!! bref un excellent séjour, rien à redire.
5 out of 5
by Marian from New York City

Sunny with a view of Mt. Vesuvias

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay at La Medusa - perfect for the relaxation I was looking for after hectic touring in the area. The setting couldn't have been more beautiful - the gardens and landscaping were some of the most exquisite I've seen in all of my traveling. The staff was lovely. I had two dinners in the hotel's Riatorante Eugenia that were delicious. I highly recommend it. I had a wonderful time (and massage from Roberta) at the spa. The room was small, but we'll appointed and comfortable, and what more could you want than to step out on you balcony and straight ahead in the distance is a full view of Mt Vesuvias. The one caution is that early to mid-June is the time for First Holy Communion and Confirmation (very important childhood events for religious and non-religious Italians alike) and for well-heeled families in and around Naples and the Amalfi coast, this seems to be a very popular spot for parties. So weekends maybe should be avoided during that time. However, the property is large enough that even though several parties took place during my stay, and even with music, it wasn't much of an intrusion. I would definitely choose La Medusa again for a longer stay in the Naplea and Amalfi area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Amazing hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Pompei, Vesuvius, Herculaneum and Sorrento are all within half an hour by train. We would recommend Capri and the Amalfi Coast by ferry from Sorrento.
An exceptional hotel. We stayed for 5 days and were very impressed with the whole package. The rooms were spacious, well equipped and clean with views of Vesuvius and the sea from the balcony. Our evenings were spent having a snack and a drink in the garden bar surrounded by orange trees and well tended gardens. We were greeted by Erminia who provided us with a wealth of information. All the staff were friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Every morning we used the shuttle bus to the nearest rail station. The driver was very friendly and suggested the best routes for each of our trips. For €10 you can also have a taxi back to the hotel on your return. I would advise ringing as you leave wherever you are visiting. The only down side is the town centre which is run down and dirty. However, if you travel by car or use the shuttle bus this is not a problem and the hotel more than makes up for it.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Sudbury

Great base for visiting Pompeii and Amalfi coast

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel set in fabulous gardens. Well positioned for driving lo wonderful surrounding areas; but don't expect nice walks from the hotel; very much set on its own so you'll need a car if you feel the need to leave the oasis!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Beautiful, quiet hotel near Pompeii & Herculaneum

Posted May 19, 2016
From the moment you drive into the driveway until the moment you leave, this hotel is fantastic. Our only disappointment were the meals. The 4th floor dining area was closed so we were seated for dinner in the downstairs area where breakfast is served. None of the food was good. Overcooked vegetables and veal, undercooked pasta, a beautiful piece of swordfish horribly bland and fishy. The staff in this place are wonderful and attentive. Maybe there are restaurants nearby for dinner. Please hire a new chef LaMedusa. For the money you charge you need excellent food every day.
4 out of 5
by Morgane from Strasbourg

Super accueil

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Accueil francophone d'une grande gentillesse. Hôtel très charmant. Petit problème d'insonorisation. Le spa est super mais assez cher, du coup on était tout seuls dedans. Restaurant hors de prix par rapport à la cuisine servie La ville de castellammare n'a rien de charmant, mais c'est un bon point d'accès pour pompei et le vesuve
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, beautiful grounds, gorgeous pool

Posted May 3, 2016
We loved it! My children kept pinching themselves - we loved the pool, the citrus orchard, the big room. We felt very at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful, directing us to a wonderful local seafood restaurant in town, arranging taxis and airport transfers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guildford. UK

Superb hotel with a garden to match

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Just driving into the hotel was a good experience. Beautifully laid out gardens and a safe car park to park the hire car. Our room wasn't large but was very comfortable and quiet. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was as good as it can get. Sadly we only had 3 nights to explore the area but we wished we'd had another couple of days to chill out in the very relaxing garden amongst the orange and lemon trees. Fabulous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

En riktig Italienare

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Jättetrevlig hotell, fantastisk trädgård med citrus frukter i hela trädgården. Mycket sevice minded personal
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kaiserswerth

Das Hotel ist eine Oase.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Location: Das Hotel liegt oberhalb von Castellamare, daher benötigt man immer ein Taxi. Definitiv Ort Castellamare ist einfach schrecklich heruntergekommen.
Das Hotel hat sehr, sehr freundliches Personal. Das gesamte Ambiente ist perfekt gepflegt. Es ist einfach schön in dem gepflegten Park zu relaxen. Leider ist der Fitnessbereich nicht zugänglich, wenn es eine Massage stattfindet. Der Shuttlesevice war auch nicht verfügbar, ohne Auto benötigt man immer ein Taxi, weil das Hotel abseits liegt.