Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga-Canada

Nice and quite

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Pros: the location and the excellent customer service
Cons: the menu is a banquet menu, it was OK but nothing to create an experience.
Location: as above
stayed for one night to visit Pompeii. beautiful grounds,. it is considered a wedding venue. rooms are clean and spacious and very comfortable With nice and spacious bathroom. the location is off the drag but the hotel shuttle service is amazing, they drop off and pick up any where in town. we told them that we have booked a private tour guide that we have to meet with! they contacted the tour company and the shuttle driver was told where to drop us off, he picked us up at the end of our tour dropped us off at a restaurant he recommended, came back to pick us up to the hotel. a memorable customer service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Nice Property

Posted Oct 20, 2017
You have to have a drink on the back patio. The rooms were spacious and the bed comfortable. We stayed after a long day touring Pompeii. Good stop over point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

A little remote piece of heaven

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great amenities, beautiful property, lovely room, and very attentive and helpful staff.
Cons: Not much, except having free shuttle service to the hotel.
Location: Location of hotel is kinda remote, highly recommend driving or getting a taxi or calling the hotel for a shuttle. Short 15 min train ride to Pompeii.
Once we learned to rely on a taxi or hotel shuttle to travel to/from the hotel, my wife and I were very happy with our stay. Very friendly and attentive staff, spacious and comfortable room with a nice view of Pompeii and the Gulf of Naples, deliciously fancy food from all meals of the day, wonderful garden to get lost in, and a relaxing pool and spa to get spoiled in. This hotel may be remote and not conveniently close to the touristy spots, but all the amenities on the hotel grounds make it easy to forgive. A luxurious hotel that was cheap on room rates compared to all the other 4-star hotels we stayed but expensive on everything else. Just an FYI, shuttle service from the hotel is complimentary at specific times of the day, but a shuttle to the hotel costs about 10 euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An excellent hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very friendly staff, catured for all our needs. Excellent quality of food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Amazing food, staff and facilities. A lovely place for a relaxing holiday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An affordable 5 star experience

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Incredible hotel, grounds, view, staff, and experience! Silvano our porter, driver, and information center, made our stay one of the most enjoyable we have ever had. Everyone greets you with a smile in the pressure-free and relaxed atmosphere of this amazing hotel. You can take the free hotel shuttle to the local train station and be in Sorrento in 20 minutes which only costs 2 Euro each way per person. Going to the Pompii ruins will only cost 35 Euro each way to have the hotel shuttle drop you off and pick you up. Breakfast on the rooftop dinning room has an amazing view of Vesuvius. We will definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
by Emma

Amazing

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
Superb hotel, one of the best I've ever stayed at. Highly recommended. Staff were incredible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Aesthetically pleasing, though service unpleasant.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel, though service is extremely rudimentary. The perfunctory politeness of the staff is palpable. If you have any special requests, (even basic ones like an extra luggage rack) forget about asking. They became indignant when we had a request or an issue. (Example: There where a bunch of forest fires in the hills around the hotel. You could hear the planes buzzing around the hotel to put out the fires. And on the news they were talking about towns close by having to evacuate. The smoke from the fires was settling in the rooms and it was hard to breath. When asked if it would be possible to cancel our last night and at least get a partial refund so we could move locations (due to the smoke), the woman at the front desk said "What fires? I don't see any fires. You will be charged your full rate if you cancel." It was shocking, as the smoke was physically visible (not to mention suffocating smell of smoke in the hotel). There's not much around the hotel, so you're basically stuck eating your meals there (unless you're doing day trips to other places) and the prices are quite steep for the quality and temperament of the servers. I'm afraid I cannot recommend their spa services either. And lastly, our mini bar appeared as if it had not been changed or restocked since the 80's. Overall unless you have to stay here, I would recommend avoiding this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Beautiful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: View, style, breakfast
Cons: Water kettle and some tea in the room would be great! More food variety for people who don't eat dairy.
Location: Secluded location, 15 min drive to Castellammare centre.
Overall it was a very nice experience staying at La Medusa. It is a bit secluded and without a car it would be very difficult. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We had room 309, which was VERY small, so that part disappointed us a bit. Also, there was not even one bottle of water in the room, so if we didn't have any with us it would be terrible. No tea/coffeee making facilities in the room either. No ironing facilities in the room, however few of my clothes were ironed for me upon request. The best was breakfast on the upper terrace, beautiful views and service. Breakfast and reception staff was great. I am gluten free so there was some bread provided for me. I also have to avoid dairy, however it is impossible during holidays in Italy :) The hotel grounds/garden is beautiful. Relaxation area and swimming pool was great. There is a gym with the relaxing view to the garden, however there were only cardio machines, no other weight training equipment. We had a dinner in the restaurant late evening on our arrival night. We were disappointed with the service then. Staff was busy talking and doing other things, they did not attend to our table, no water was poured, no candle was lit up when it was out. We also had to wait very long for our bill.
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels