Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Aesthetically pleasing, though service unpleasant.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel, though service is extremely rudimentary. The perfunctory politeness of the staff is palpable. If you have any special requests, (even basic ones like an extra luggage rack) forget about asking. They became indignant when we had a request or an issue. (Example: There where a bunch of forest fires in the hills around the hotel. You could hear the planes buzzing around the hotel to put out the fires. And on the news they were talking about towns close by having to evacuate. The smoke from the fires was settling in the rooms and it was hard to breath. When asked if it would be possible to cancel our last night and at least get a partial refund so we could move locations (due to the smoke), the woman at the front desk said "What fires? I don't see any fires. You will be charged your full rate if you cancel." It was shocking, as the smoke was physically visible (not to mention suffocating smell of smoke in the hotel). There's not much around the hotel, so you're basically stuck eating your meals there (unless you're doing day trips to other places) and the prices are quite steep for the quality and temperament of the servers. I'm afraid I cannot recommend their spa services either. And lastly, our mini bar appeared as if it had not been changed or restocked since the 80's. Overall unless you have to stay here, I would recommend avoiding this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Beautiful

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: View, style, breakfast
Cons: Water kettle and some tea in the room would be great! More food variety for people who don't eat dairy.
Location: Secluded location, 15 min drive to Castellammare centre.
Overall it was a very nice experience staying at La Medusa. It is a bit secluded and without a car it would be very difficult. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We had room 309, which was VERY small, so that part disappointed us a bit. Also, there was not even one bottle of water in the room, so if we didn't have any with us it would be terrible. No tea/coffeee making facilities in the room either. No ironing facilities in the room, however few of my clothes were ironed for me upon request. The best was breakfast on the upper terrace, beautiful views and service. Breakfast and reception staff was great. I am gluten free so there was some bread provided for me. I also have to avoid dairy, however it is impossible during holidays in Italy :) The hotel grounds/garden is beautiful. Relaxation area and swimming pool was great. There is a gym with the relaxing view to the garden, however there were only cardio machines, no other weight training equipment. We had a dinner in the restaurant late evening on our arrival night. We were disappointed with the service then. Staff was busy talking and doing other things, they did not attend to our table, no water was poured, no candle was lit up when it was out. We also had to wait very long for our bill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Excellent hotel but the location. .......

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Excellent hotel but the location is not that great, everything is excellent except for the fact that in our 5 nights stay there was 4 weddings. It is ennoying after all, plus the noise until midnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks

The Medusa is Wonderful

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Excellent customer service, room exceeded our expectations.
Location: This is a great place to stay if you are touring Pompeii or the Amalfi coast.
We had a wonderful stay at the Medusa.I recommend it if you are staying or visiting the Naples and Amalfi area. The hotel was a little haven amongst the city and the staff was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Warm Welcome

Posted Jun 30, 2017
From the moment we entered this property we were enchanted. Every attention to detail from the grounds to the common areas in the hotel are meticulously maintained. After a long journey from New York we were welcomed to our exquisite room on the third floor. When our host opened the French doors to our balcony we were moved to tears .. a view of the bay of Naples as well as mount Vesuvius will be something that we will never forget. Our room was appointed with the finest linens and laid out in a very spacious floorplan. Period furniture, moldings and tasteful artwork gave way to a very modern, sleek and immaculate bathroom. As we were staying at the hotel for a little under two weeks I for one was pleased with ample space in a semi walk-in closet/dressing room equipped with all the hangers I needed shelves and room for our luggage to be stowed away. A convenient mini bar and in room safe finishes the package. We had the opportunity to enjoy dinner several times at the hotels elegant restaurant and we were very pleased with the professionalism and service. The menu changes every day and we enjoyed the kitchens creativity. The food was spot on ! Breakfast every morning on the fourth floor offers a lovely selection of homemade pastries, fresh fruit and juices, cereals, fresh salad, sliced meats and cheeses and always a chafing dish of beautifully prepared scrambled eggs. The view from any table in the room as well as the balcony is Outstanding.
5 out of 5
by John R

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is an oasis in an otherwise non descriptive area. There is no need to leave the hotel as it was lovely.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

First class accommodations for a romantic stay

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
This is a gem of a hotel/spa. First class accommodations. Food and service were as good as it gets. The spa actually left my wife in tears of joy. It's a peaceful oasis in the middle of nowhere. Great pool/spa/jacquzzi/gardens........ My only knock on it, is that it's in the middle of nowhere. You can't walk to a shopping area or restaurants. It was great for a 2 night stay.
5 out of 5
by Anna

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is aslovely as it looks in the pictures. It is very well kept and the swimming pool is great. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly - particularly to our two young children. I would recommend this hotel. It is very close to Pompeii and Vesuvius.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Staff, Decor, Room, Garden, Restaurant - Everything.
Cons: An iron provided in room.
Location: Historic sites Pompeii / Herculeaneum / Stabi villas Beaches in Sorrento Amalfi coast
The hotel was beautiful with really friendly helpful staff. Everything about the hotel was beautiful from the gardens, to the pool, the restaurant to the rooms. They provide a shuttle to the local station which can take you to Sorrento, Napoli or Pompeii / Herculaneum. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the view from the breakfast restaurant was amazing. We will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Brilliant !!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Superb and very friendly staff, lovely hotel and great facilities away from the hub hub and typical touristy areas. Very close to Pompei and Vesuvius, only 20 min drive to Sorrento. The hotel is like an oasis.