Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location with great view.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The old world charm and views from the rooftop were the best. The restaurant was excellent.
Cons: I would have given this place a higher overall rating if the breakfast was better. It is a high end hotel , but the breakfast was very bad.
Location: Great location and plenty to do nearby.
Beautiful place with Million dollar view. Great staff . Close to Papal gardens and quaint town center. Short drive to lakefront with plenty of good restaurants. The hotel restaurant was also great. We had a very good dinner at a good price. The free breakfast was just bad. As we found out , it is hard to get a good free breakfast in Europe these days. Most places have awful free breakfasts. We just skipped it after the first day and went into town to have some fresh pastries and coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, an "old school" hotel environment

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: "Character and tradition"
Location: Excellent location Excellent for an early morning Rome Ciampino Airport departure. Just up the road from Pope's Summer residence.
Excellent restaurant and dinner overlooking the lake - fantastic. Rooms - did not pay premium for lake view, but perfectly OK. Staff all very attentive and friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Decent well located hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: Location - lake views, 15min walk from rail station, 10 min walk from historic Castel Gandalfo centre with its eateries. Breakfast.
Cons: Plumbing - My room's shower only ran hot (rather than lukewarm) and loo only flushed properly after I asked for them to be fixed.
Location: Lake views, country walks and bike trails, historic sights to visit, 40 mins on train into Rome.
Enjoyable and decent value but not quite what I would expect in all aspects from a 4 star hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Area and Hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
This Hotel is fantastically located and very professionally run. our Room was a bit small but it did NOT matter.We had views of the Lake and they where heavenly. The staff was very friendly including the Waiter, the food was excellent too. We would love to come back here and stay a week to enjoy this Magnificent Area/Town/Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Views

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Staff exceptionally welcoming, full of information and recommdations for visit. A nice dinner and adequate breakfast. Fabulous views and beautiful building. All very elegant. Internet access not available. Did not complain as not really needed. Room a good size, really comfy bed, bigger shower than usual although bathroom a little cramped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel but nice view

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a 3 star and not 4 star. The room furniture and toilette are very old. The shower is very small I couldn't barely move. The view is very nice. The breakfast is OK. It is 10 min walk from the city square.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
hotel ideally positioned for exploring the Castelli Romani. only there for one night but suited my needs / requirements more than adequately. Staff were hospitable and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Armin from Filderstadt

Just ok.

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
As this was just for overnight stopover, it was ok. As in the name "Castel Vecchio", quite outworn. Not even a free bottle of water on the room. The food in the restaurant was very good.