Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Casa Frankenstein!

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Quiet at night
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing to do at night
Upon check in the "gentleman" did not greet us, was rude and when we asked for our passports back he acted as if he was doing us a big favor! Our room #36 smelled dank and was uninviting and depressing. We went to the pool, not clean, broken tiles and a hose continually filling it. This was a very disappointing experience in the heart of Tuscany. The hotel has great potential, it is a real shame that it has not been kept up at all. The complimentary breakfast is fair at best, the coffee is brown water. They just want you to order a cappuccino so that can charge you more. I cannot comment on the onsite restaurant as it is pricey and after seeing the state of the hotel, we did not have much confidence. We went down the road 5 minutes to eat and it was amazing!!!
5 out of 5
by Rafaël

A genuine get away

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay in this lovely hotel. Friendly people, very kind, fantastic food !!! Our air conditioning was not working properly, we were given another room !!! Very quiet place in a beautiful setting !!!!
4 out of 5
by David

Tuscan hide away

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great little hotel in Tuscany. Very clean and great staff. Winery and restaurant onsite with some great wines and food! Room was spacious but the bed was a little hard. But still a recommendation.
4 out of 5
by Robin

Nice hotel but air conditioning did not work

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Let me first say that Tuscany was beautiful and we had a very nice time. There were a few major concerns however. The air conditioning did not work satisfactory. At night when lobby was closed it seemed as though the air conditioning was shut off. And there was no one in the lobby for emergencies at night During the day the air conditioning worked. We could not open shutter because of insects and birds flying so we had to keep our shutters closed. No screens. So I did not sleep at night it was so stuffy in the room. When we complained they kept telling us that the air conditioning was being fixed. We were there for five days and each night Our room was hot. The refrigerator in the room also did not reach a cold temperature so our bottled waters were always just "cool". With that being said the room was very clean. The people in the hotel very friendly. The breakfasts are very good and the Restaurant was good. Biggest concern was the air conditioning and fridge. Also the parking area could have been paid better. And walking up to the lobby and to your rooms it was all gravel and you could twist your foot because it was very difficult to walk uphill.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Cristiano from Melbourne

Okay but could be better

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Have stayed here before as it is delightfully situated in Tuscany and has a great relaxing area. I do not understand why the host tries to accomodate your room needs by suggesting rooms ( we booked 3) that are smelly from being not aired or over the cellar. The rooms are comfortable and they changes made without too much bother but this is the second time we have had to ask for the changes. Service is casual but friendly. Rooms are getting tired but are comfortable. SHower in one room was not really useable. It would not take much to make this hotel really good. Breakfast was very good and the ambiance is really relaxing. Don't get the SHiatsu massage unless you like zero pressure massages. Served our purpose well but think there may be other options to explore next time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel in stunning (but remote) location

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Great location, quiet, fabulous scenery, charming, helpful / friendly staff
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Siena is less than half an hour away. Hill towns of San Gimignano, Montepulciani, Pienza etc. A bit further but well worth a visit.
The hotel is charming, set in lovely grounds well off the road. Very quiet and picturesque. Adjoining it is a separate restaurant which serves fabulous food in very good portions; not cheap but not overly expensive for the region. You need to pay them separately. Free parking and wifi. Nice pool. With tiled floors, noise from other rooms, particular above, could at times be a little bit of a nuisance. It's a little hard to find, not being in Castellina in Chiant itself, but about 8km outside the town heading for Siena. Great base for exploring Siena or the hill towns round there. Staff were very helpful & friendly (albeit one seemed surprised at everything we asked for before helping sort something out). Main negative was breakfast (served in the hotel itself). Plenty of variety but not fresh produce (like juice or nice bread) and generally the quality not great. Their own wines and olive oil a must to try.
4 out of 5
by Sofia from Sydney

Lovely rustic buildings

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful surroundings, lovely pool. The aircon was a bit ancient and noisy. A couple of little things we asked the staff to sort out were resolved in a very short space of time ( we asked for twin beds, and it was made up as one bed, the aircon stopped working, but was solved swiftly) The restaurant next door has good food for the most part, a car would certainly be a much better and would be a good place to explore the Chianti region
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, Canada

Excellent country side hotel in chianty

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Cons: Guidance on how to find it.
A very beautiful and super relaxing hotel on a hill 8 km from castellina in Chianty. We planed to stay 2 days but we loved so much than we stayed 4. We had a small but very clean room. Staff was nice and very helpful recommending trips in the gorgeous area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Pleasant stay in the Countryside!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
I stayed at casafrassi for four fantastic nights. The location was great. There was great weather, a fantastic pool area, and the rooms were spacious with everything needed. The location is slightly out of castelina, where there are some nice restaurants to go to - a car is a must! Staff were fantastic, friendly, and welcoming in both Italian and English. All in all a great stay, highly recommended!