Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA, USA

Charming, comfortable, and close enough to town

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Garden, helpful and friendly staff, charm
Cons: The noise from the hallway from other guests coming and going - the doors would slam, which in the morning isn't so nice.
Location: Wine tasting, dining, shopping, walking, biking
Excellent hotel! The rooms are so nice. We had a room in the main building facing the road, but you couldn't event tell it was there. It was like sleeping in the vineyard! The garden/lawn area is very well kept and it wad so nice to enjoy a glass of wine there in the evening. Close to town and other towns too. We'd love to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Hidden gem in the heart of Tuscany.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
We had an amazing experience during our stay at the Salivolpi hotel. The staff are friendlier than you can imagine, making you feel right at home. They welcomed us and provided us with all of the information on booking our wine tours, restaurant reservations, etc. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast was great, and the pool was perfect! This was definitely one of the highlights of our 3 week Italian vacation. They even sent us off with a very good bottle of wine!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Salivolpi Team, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Alana, we are so thankful for your kindness and your beautiful words about your stay with us at Salivolpi! We are glad that you loved our services, our breakfast and our staff. We hope to see again soon at Salivolpi, you will be welcomed with our greatest smile!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whistler, BC

Nice pool & yard, clean, 10-15 min walk to centre

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Loved castellini chianti. Spent 1 night but wished we had stayed another night. Hotel amenities made it very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great countryside villa feel. Great Cafe nearby.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Christina the receptionist was incredibly patient, helpful and went out of the way to be informative
Location: Castallina is a great area and a lovely little town. A great launching point for the Chianti valley
This is the sort of experience one would expect of staying in a country villa in the wine valley. Run like a hotel it has a great lodge and family style feel. recommended for couples or families also as the grounds are spacious and it has a pool for summer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida, USA

Perfect place to stay in the Tuscany countryside.

Posted Nov 10, 2016
This was my second visit to Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi, which is ideally located in the heart of the wine region. If you are looking for a place to stay with a country inn feel, this is the spot. The multilingual staff is extremely helpful in providing local recommendations and attending to the guest's needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect place, perfect location

Posted Jun 10, 2016
A lovely property, and an easy walk to the Castellina in Chianti village. The staff was excellent and responsive, breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The shower had amazing water pressure! We didn't take advantage of all the resources they had to offer, unfortunately we stayed during some bad weather. But it was a good place, since we had a car, to have easy access to other villages, wineries and Sienna. I highly recommend this place!
4 out of 5
by Alice from Virginia beach

A piece of history at a quaint hotel in chianti .

Posted Dec 24, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed our one night and found the hotel very accommodating to all our needs. Loved the historical aspect.
4 out of 5
by Luc from Niagara Falls

Northern Italy excursion

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here after Rome with the intention of taking a cooking class. Very much enjoyed the hotel and the area. My wife and I like walking so strolling the 1 km into the town centre was great. Everyone was friendly and helpful.A nice change from Rome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great place, rude star member

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
this is a beautiful villa-like hotel, in a great location in chianti, but our sty there was seriously affected by one very rude receptionist. besides this one, everyone else on staff was very kind and the hotel - the room, breakfast, grounds, were everything we hoped for in terms of tuscan-rustic and relaxing. This rude receptionist acted annoyed in the extreme to all of our questions, to us wanting to make a winery tour appointment for the following day, for us asking for water from the sink - she just acted very high and mighty and made it very unpleasant for us. she even said things like, when i asked if we could fill our water bottle from the lobby sink, that she "could and should charge us for that but she won't." why did she feel the need to say that? it made the whole thing very unpleasant, and every interaction with her was the same.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Romsey

A Lovely Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here in June 2015, we had one of the rooms above the breakfast room, which is in a sepparate building in the garden. Really quiet room, even when other guests are taking breakfast below. Breakfast can also be taken in the garden. The grounds of this old farmhouse are stunning, the pictures of it do not do it justice. The gardens are extreemly well maintained, as is the pool and surrounding area. Although you may find the pool a little colder than you expect for June/July as it is not heated, but really refreshing. The outside bar/terrace is also very nice. The staff are simply the best, extreemly healpfull and able to organise most things for you. Their wine tasting in the town shop is great. The hotel is only a short downhill walk from Castelina in Chianti, which is a beautifull little town. The resturaunt just 70m from the hotel is superb and discount is given. The room was spotless and well maintained. A word or two about the Tuscany mosquito's "What Mosquito's?" Didn't see one and left with zero bites after 5 days. Although my wife was devoured by several other insects, mostly when laying on the grass, or near the pool, but not mosquito's! Great stay here, highly recommended.