Ratings based on 542 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

As Good As It Gets

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great, staff, location, room. I wouldn't recommend paying the standard room rate, but if you can get it half price as I did during off peak season, then it's worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester. UK

Weekend in Venice

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Real gothic feel!
Cons: It was very dark, but nice.
Location: No issues.Fantastic location. Close to everywhere.
Booked the water taxi from the Airport and got dropped off at the hotel entrance. A real VIP experience. The local water buses are also fantastic value at 30 Euros for 48 hours. Enjoy the unique city with no cars or modern distractions. Great food to cater for all budgets! A great weekend away!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

A characterful small hotel with old world charm

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Cosy atmosphere, old world charm, antiques and collections
Cons: Perhaps rooms are a bit stuffy
Location: Everything about Venice is truly amazing - that's why it is so busy. I would still rank it as the best city in the world for architecture and culture
A lovely hotel set on the water front with plush furnishings and antique furniture - very cosy lighting décor, perfect for a winter stay. Staff are very friendly offering very much the personal touch without being overly attentive. Cocktails in the Oriental Bar are to die for, served by very welcoming bar tenders. Only criticism would be nice to have free bottled water in room as cost of water from bar fridge and tax is very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Classy hotel in Venice

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Excellent hotel, first class staff, rooms with laguna view are brilliant (have their own jacuzzi and combined shower/ sauna). Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Skip this hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The 2nd room we paid extra to receive had a wonderful view and patio.They only have 2 of these rooms so they should not display the patio picture..
Cons: The service at check-in was rude and did not explain anything.
Location: If you want to stay in a area that gets flooded with cruise ship people, this is that area. When we return I would NOT stay in this area or this hotel
At check in we mentioned it was our honeymoon which he could care less. The man was rude and abrupt and one of the rudest people we encountered in Italy. The other awful place was a restaurant down from this hotel yet the rest of Italy was wonderful. What was advertised as our room was not what we received and we had to pay an extra $100 a day to have the room that was displayed with the patio. Not sure if the issue was with the hotel or what is being displayed on this site. Very disappointing. The room we received was above the bar and had loud music playing past 11pm. When we called about this since it clearly listed they closed at 10 They were having a special that night which the check in man also failed to inform us about. After a day of traveling the last thing you want is having to hear blaring music over and over. We paid the extra money to get the room we thought we were receiving the following day. This was a much better experience but would still not return or recommend this hotel. Very pushy about trying the MET restaurant which we skipped and only tried the bar. The bar and drinks were nothing special...go down a few blocks and try Harry's Bar that is expensive but a long history. Overall, skip this hotel and this area since it is very commercial and crowded. Try around the Rialto Bridge area since it was very pleasant to sit along the water. It is also busy but not as packed with cruise ship traffic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
The staff were Friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a great location just minutes from Saint Marks Square, inside each floor was themed and packed with interesting design touches. Our room was excellent and the view was amazing overlooking the lagoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Hotel Metropole - Venice - Will Stay Again

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Wotif
The Hotel Metrople is an excellent place to stay in Venice. It is in a good location making all attractions easily accessible. The hotel is a 480 year old palace, and it is like you are staying in a museum. The is period furniture, and artifacts all through, and collections of items suchs as dance card cases, The rooms are comfortable, and amentities are as you would expect for this period style hotel. The cincierge and his staff are most help, and will try to assist you when you ask. Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Beautiful hotel. Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Metropole is a beautiful, warm and friendly hotel in a prime location. The rooms are just what you would want from a Venetian hotel - almost. Bizarrely no coffee making facilities and given the cost of everything in Venice, a cuppa in your room would be nice. Overall a great stay though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bern, Switzerland

Top notch staff and beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located near St. Mark's Square, The Ducal Palace and directly on the Grand Canal where all the action happens during the day. The staff takes time to know each guest and takes care of everything they can. We felt like royalty. The hotel decorated throughout with antiquities which were enjoyable to veiw. The walkways get crowded along this part during the day due to cruise ships unloading but it is the perfect place to watch the boats come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best historic and romantic hotel in Venice.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Is a romantic hotel near Plaza San Marcos. Attentions are magnific. We will stay there again.