Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We spent 3 nights at this hotel (room only basis) and found it really good. Didn't have breakfast as was so expensive - 35 Euros each - although you could choose individual items for less. Our 'standard' room only lacking tea/coffee/kettle etc which would have been nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Metropole Venice

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The hotel stay was very nice with a couple of exceptions. The main problem was the bathroom. There is a high curb to enter the bathroom which is a tripping hazard. Also, it's impossible to take a shower without getting the entire room wet. There is only a half glass enclosure at the tub but the side of the tub you're meant to stand in has a sloped back so when using the hand shower, water goes everywhere. I was also surprised that the hotel would recommend a "free" water taxi trip to Murano. We expected a sales pitch but didn't expect sleazy sales tactics to get us to purchase the overpriced merchandise. Also, we weren't allowed to see the town which was a disappointment. So, my recommendation would be to skip this free offer endorsed by the hotel...nothing worthwhile is free in Venice. Again, surprising that they would do this considering the quality of the hotel. Otherwise the staff were great, hotel beautiful with a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Beautiful hotel, calm and relaxing not too stiff

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Beautiful hotel great air con in this heatwave. Calm and relaxing in a discreet not in your face way. We can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

lovely Hotel full of character

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location on the waterside with a water bus stop right outside. Very close to St. Marks Square and all it's attractions
This hotel certainly lives' up to it's reputation as one of the nicest hotels in Venice. Our room had a roof terrace with comfortable seating and wonderful views across the lagoon. Breakfast was off a high quality and could be taken inside or outside on a shady terrace. The hotel also has it's own landing platform on a canal, great for the water taxi back to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, okay location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Had to wait for our room at check in. Sat in a what we thought was a lobby bar, but didn't see a single staff member. Had dinner reservation at the met- but was cancelled without notice for a special event.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location; uncomfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great location, beds very uncomfortable. Seems like nothing has been done in years and years to enhance experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place in an excellent location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The staff were very polite, and helpful. The hotel was in the heart of Venice and next to points of interest like St. Mark's square. The hotel was beautiful and unique.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, CA

Good location, but very dark inside

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the Piazza San Marco
Cons: Too expensive for what it is
Location: Great location
We were given a room where AC was not working which is really uncomfortable given Venice's climate. When we complained, they gave us a fan. When We complained further and said we cannot sleep with a fan, they finally upgraded us to a junior suite. The new room was very comfortable and cool. My surprise was that with $400/night for two with no breakfast, they gave us a room with no AC. We recommend the hotel because of its location, but make sure you contact them before u leave to know what you are getting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to St Mark's Square

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Cheaper drinks in the bar!!
Location: St Mark's Square, Arsenale, Naval Museum
A very nice hotel with charming, helpful staff. First thoughts were that the room was on the small side, but your're in Venice - how much time are you going to spend in your room. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was extensive - beware of the pigeons in the garden area they are very keen to help themselves to anything on your plate. Location was great - close to St Mark's Square and convenient for Vapperetto stop. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quaint but not luxury

Posted May 25, 2017
Very noisy, we had three diferent rooms over a three night stay. Rooms were comfortable but we didn't sleep much due to chandelier shaking everytime someone walked down the hall, street noise was the problem in second room and small single beds in third room(we booked a double). No tea or coffee making facilities, not even a complimentary bottle of water! Staff professional and very helpful. But I would not say particularly friendly. Shower/bathrooms a bit tired.This hotel is not as good as the Baglioni where I have stayed before. Venice is very expensive these days and certainly not value for your money, visit Birmingham in the UK instead :) it has more canals than venice and your more likely to find a decent Italian restaurant to dine in there :)