Ratings based on 507 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent UK

lovely Hotel full of character

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location on the waterside with a water bus stop right outside. Very close to St. Marks Square and all it's attractions
This hotel certainly lives' up to it's reputation as one of the nicest hotels in Venice. Our room had a roof terrace with comfortable seating and wonderful views across the lagoon. Breakfast was off a high quality and could be taken inside or outside on a shady terrace. The hotel also has it's own landing platform on a canal, great for the water taxi back to the airport.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, okay location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Had to wait for our room at check in. Sat in a what we thought was a lobby bar, but didn't see a single staff member. Had dinner reservation at the met- but was cancelled without notice for a special event.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location; uncomfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great location, beds very uncomfortable. Seems like nothing has been done in years and years to enhance experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place in an excellent location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The staff were very polite, and helpful. The hotel was in the heart of Venice and next to points of interest like St. Mark's square. The hotel was beautiful and unique.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville, CA

Good location, but very dark inside

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the Piazza San Marco
Cons: Too expensive for what it is
Location: Great location
We were given a room where AC was not working which is really uncomfortable given Venice's climate. When we complained, they gave us a fan. When We complained further and said we cannot sleep with a fan, they finally upgraded us to a junior suite. The new room was very comfortable and cool. My surprise was that with $400/night for two with no breakfast, they gave us a room with no AC. We recommend the hotel because of its location, but make sure you contact them before u leave to know what you are getting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Close to St Mark's Square

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Cheaper drinks in the bar!!
Location: St Mark's Square, Arsenale, Naval Museum
A very nice hotel with charming, helpful staff. First thoughts were that the room was on the small side, but your're in Venice - how much time are you going to spend in your room. Room was very clean and bed very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was extensive - beware of the pigeons in the garden area they are very keen to help themselves to anything on your plate. Location was great - close to St Mark's Square and convenient for Vapperetto stop. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Quaint but not luxury

Posted May 25, 2017
Very noisy, we had three diferent rooms over a three night stay. Rooms were comfortable but we didn't sleep much due to chandelier shaking everytime someone walked down the hall, street noise was the problem in second room and small single beds in third room(we booked a double). No tea or coffee making facilities, not even a complimentary bottle of water! Staff professional and very helpful. But I would not say particularly friendly. Shower/bathrooms a bit tired.This hotel is not as good as the Baglioni where I have stayed before. Venice is very expensive these days and certainly not value for your money, visit Birmingham in the UK instead :) it has more canals than venice and your more likely to find a decent Italian restaurant to dine in there :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to St Marks Square.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The location, quality and service.
Cons: Everything was of the highest quality.
Location: Central location close to St Marks Square and water buses for visiting all the sights.
Excellent service and unique hotel experience in a fabulous location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Pleasant enough hotel, but 5 star? Maybe 3

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: It has a certain charm and it was quaint and the outside terrace/bar area was lovely.
Location: Venice itself is stunningly beautiful and is almost magical and mystical BUT it is ridiculously expensive and is at bursting point with tourists.
The hotel itself is pleasant but as my title suggests I wouldn't call it 5 star, certainly not by London standards. I would call this a good 3 star. The bedroom was quaint and had a certain charm and the bed comfortable but the room was very small and the bath tub was minute, with just a hand shower that's wasn't great. NO coffee or tea maker to be seen! No complimentary water either! What you will find about Venice is that's its exceptionally expensive! And everybody but everybody including this hotel are only interested in making as much money as they can and they do that by overcharging for everything! We asked reception for a dinner recommendation on the first day we arrived and they "highly recommended" a particular restaurant! You needed a mortgage for the bill! Soups were €35 euros and the bill came to €300 for two people and the food was very disappointing and tiny portions! When I asked why there wasn't any coffee or tea making facilities in the room I was brusquely told that the "Breakfast in the hotel is very good where coffee and tea are served!" I'm sure it is very good for €35 euros per person! Look Venice itself is stunningly beautiful and almost magical and mystical even, BUT everyone, the shops, the hotels, the restaurants, are all trying their absolute best to rip you off by overcharging massively! I'm sure it's one price for the locals and another for the tourists! I have travelled all over the world and this has to be the most expensive place ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Don't want to thanks everything very satisfactory.