Ratings based on 531 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, UK

A characterful small hotel with old world charm

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: Cosy atmosphere, old world charm, antiques and collections
Cons: Perhaps rooms are a bit stuffy
Location: Everything about Venice is truly amazing - that's why it is so busy. I would still rank it as the best city in the world for architecture and culture
A lovely hotel set on the water front with plush furnishings and antique furniture - very cosy lighting décor, perfect for a winter stay. Staff are very friendly offering very much the personal touch without being overly attentive. Cocktails in the Oriental Bar are to die for, served by very welcoming bar tenders. Only criticism would be nice to have free bottled water in room as cost of water from bar fridge and tax is very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Classy hotel in Venice

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Excellent hotel, first class staff, rooms with laguna view are brilliant (have their own jacuzzi and combined shower/ sauna). Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2017
The staff were Friendly and helpful, the hotel was in a great location just minutes from Saint Marks Square, inside each floor was themed and packed with interesting design touches. Our room was excellent and the view was amazing overlooking the lagoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Beautiful hotel. Great location

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Metropole is a beautiful, warm and friendly hotel in a prime location. The rooms are just what you would want from a Venetian hotel - almost. Bizarrely no coffee making facilities and given the cost of everything in Venice, a cuppa in your room would be nice. Overall a great stay though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bern, Switzerland

Top notch staff and beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel is conveniently located near St. Mark's Square, The Ducal Palace and directly on the Grand Canal where all the action happens during the day. The staff takes time to know each guest and takes care of everything they can. We felt like royalty. The hotel decorated throughout with antiquities which were enjoyable to veiw. The walkways get crowded along this part during the day due to cruise ships unloading but it is the perfect place to watch the boats come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best historic and romantic hotel in Venice.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Is a romantic hotel near Plaza San Marcos. Attentions are magnific. We will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife, Scotland

Exceptional hotel in a great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is in a great location for St.Marks Square and is very handy for the main water bus stops. It is stunningly decorated and our room was really nice and clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and I can't speak highly enough of them all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from venice

stunning hotel and location

Posted Aug 20, 2017
This was my second stay at the Metropole with extremely polite and welcoming staff, they couldn't do enough to please. The location is facing the lagoon in the midst of the atmosphere of why I went to venice. The room was perfect with everything I needed( with the exception of tea making facilities so take a travel kettle!). I would fully recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a high quality experience in the centre of Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
We spent 3 nights at this hotel (room only basis) and found it really good. Didn't have breakfast as was so expensive - 35 Euros each - although you could choose individual items for less. Our 'standard' room only lacking tea/coffee/kettle etc which would have been nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Metropole Venice

Posted Aug 10, 2017
The hotel stay was very nice with a couple of exceptions. The main problem was the bathroom. There is a high curb to enter the bathroom which is a tripping hazard. Also, it's impossible to take a shower without getting the entire room wet. There is only a half glass enclosure at the tub but the side of the tub you're meant to stand in has a sloped back so when using the hand shower, water goes everywhere. I was also surprised that the hotel would recommend a "free" water taxi trip to Murano. We expected a sales pitch but didn't expect sleazy sales tactics to get us to purchase the overpriced merchandise. Also, we weren't allowed to see the town which was a disappointment. So, my recommendation would be to skip this free offer endorsed by the hotel...nothing worthwhile is free in Venice. Again, surprising that they would do this considering the quality of the hotel. Otherwise the staff were great, hotel beautiful with a great location.