Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, central, value for money

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Difficult to access by foot from the station, but other than that no faults. So close to the square and food places/shops. Clean and friendly staff, both of whom had brilliant English too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Canada

Clean modern room in heart of Venice

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, central location, friendly staff, air conditioning.
Cons: Noise control between rooms.
Location: Amazing location. Central to San Marco, ferry to airport, all shopping, etc.
Very nice clean, comfortable, modern room in the center of the city with all amenities you would ever need. Very friendly staff at check in and check out. Only complaint was that it was a little noisy, we could hear the people clearly from the next room.. but other than that it was very nice. Would recommend staying here. We would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy at night. Lovely room.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Polite and gracious staff. Awful racket at night. Impossible to sleep. Very nice room. Clean and modern.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice and small hotel. Clean and good location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Tiny room and clean. Cleanliness is the main key for me and the location
Cons: If possible, provide some tissue paper/kleenex in the room. We got running nose while in Italy & Kleenex or tissue papers would help a lot.
Location: good location and a lot of walking. everything is closed by if you have a good map and know where you go. We got lost so many times though.
We had a nice time stay at Rio Hotel for 1 night. Restaurants, water taxi, & ferry transportation are all closed by. very good location. The ferry stop is San Zaccaria (get off the ferry & walk straight up to the alley (tiny street) about 5 minutes & next to San Marcos Square. 5 minutes walk to both locations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location but poor service by staff

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location is good
Cons: Service from the staff. If we were to go back Venice, we will find a nearby hotel instead of this one.
Location: You can visit almost all the major location from here easily. Rialto Bridge, San Mark Square.The only problem is that it is far from the train station
The hotel is located near San Marco square. It is at the central of everything in Venice. But the issue arise when we reach the hotel. We were expected to carry out luggage up a flight of stairs as the hotel is located at the 2nd floor. Below it is a restaurant. The staffs were not able to do help out. The check in took a while & the room is quite small. The room is comfortable but just that. For 2 luggage, it is abit of a squeeze. The irritating part about this hotel is when we check out, we were not informed of how to travel to the train station. In the end, we were made to walk 1.5 hrs to reach the train station. Nobody inform us to take the water bus to the train station. We were not aware & for other hotel we have stayed in, the staff will make an effort to ask where we going & how we will go. But sadly, this hotel will not help you carry the luggage up & down the stairs,not to mention infrom you how to go around the places in Venice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from NY

Fantastic hotel for the price and location!

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Loved the location.
Cons: Only wish is that the wifi was better--- it cut off every once in a while.
Location: All major tourist attractions are nearby: St. Mark's Basilica was only a three minute walk.
As a solo traveller, I was only looking for convenience, safety, and cleanliness. Rio definitely met the criteria! Loved the location-- I was able to take a nap everyday because the hotel was in the middle of everything. The staff was great and spoke English. The room was cleaned everyday and the bottle of water was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
by Porche

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Arun

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly and informative staff, clean room and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney/ australia

Nice hotel, next to St Marcos and central!

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Wonderful hotel with everything in it, and so close to everywhere , St Marcos is just less than 5 minutes walk, great places to eat everywhere , just don't eat in the restaurants that are in the plaza just where the hotel is, very expensive , i will suggest if u want to have a night out go to the ones the hotel recommends u, you get 12 percent discount saying their name :), to go there from train terminal just catch the public ferries that takes u to San Marcos/St Zacharia and from there is about 5 minutes walk to hotel ( just ask someone where is hotel Daniels and walk trough that narrow little street and there is the hotel) one thing u do need to go through a few stairs to your room and is quite narrow at well , but is a beautiful hotel with exactly all what u need, and for the price is superb! Thank you Hotel Rio we loved staying with u!
4 out of 5
by Lisa

Smelly room

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
I really like the room we had as it was clean and will decorated except it smelled of dead rat or sewer, not exactly sure which it is. They could not offer another room as they only have one room that can fit 4 ppl.