Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just one thing people should know...

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel, with lovely, helpful staff... there is just one thing. The walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbours snore, sneeze, open and close doors etc. it was really strange for a five star hotel not to have this feature.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
The place and service were amazing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Quite Perfect Yet

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
First off, the resort is absolutely beautiful. Whoever was in charge of the remodel did an amazing job, especially considering the resort is over 1,000 years old. A few complaints would be that beds were very hard and lagged behind the other similar caliber hotels we stayed at throughout Europe on our honeymoon. The walls were very thin so don't expect to sleep in. Also, the wifi might as well be non-existent with speeds reminiscent of 1998. Our biggest complaint was customer service. First off, we were there on honeymoon. This was the only hotel (we stayed at 6 others on our journey) that didn't do anything for our honeymoon - they didn't even congratulate us! When we first arrived, we went to the pool and ordered a bottle of rose. After 45 minutes of no rose, we told the bartender to cancel our order. During checkout, we called to have our luggage brought down (hotel has no elevators) and our rental car brought up front, giving them an hour to do so while we ate breakfast. Long story short, it took almost 2 hours and I had to check in multiple times with the bellman and front desk where no apologies were given. The breakfast and breakfast serving staff were a highlight and it was the best hotel breakfast we had on our trip. We did try Cantina - don't waste your money. Food & drink is twice as much as any of the local restaurants and half as good. Overall, could be an absolute gem with a few tweaks to the room and a lot of tweaks to the food and customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qld, Australia

Incredible resort

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Amazing place to stay. We spent a part of our honeymoon here and were upgraded to one of the best rooms available overlooking the pools. Restaurants were greet with Cantina dinner in the garden courtyard under the stars a highlight each night. Definitely recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under the Tuscan Sun - Castel Monastero

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
A fabulous resort in the heart of Chianti for people to experience an ancient but modern stay. Go for wine tours or see the towns of Siena and San Gimigniano. Eat a menu prepared by Gordon Ramsay Its just wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castel Monastero (check you're in the right room!)

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Generally good - attractive setting, lovely pool etc - but disappointing that we were placed in incorrect room (inferior to that which we had booked) and the hotel had not noticed this (? hoped that we would not either?!) until we double-checked our booking details ourselves and brought it to their attention; that said the difference in the cost was refunded to us and the 'inferior' room was still very pleasant. We ate in both restaurants - very expensive and although very nice not worth these prices. Decent breakfast. Poor wifi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel. Really helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Lake District, England

Lovely Tuscan rural retreat.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Two quality restaurants to choose from.
Location: Easy access to main road to Siena and surrounding towns and villages.
We were very pleased with the up-grade which gave us more flexibility as a family of three. Beautiful food, extremely accommodating staff, excellent facilities. Will return next year.