Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Very nice hotel with fabulous views

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The views are great, as was the room, nice and spacious with a very adequate balcony
Cons: Would like to have had tea and coffee making facilities in the room, This was a bit of a let down for such a good hotel.
Location: The location is on the edge of Castelo Branco on a small hill, the rooms have views over the whole town and the mountains, you can see for miles.
Had a great stay here even though it was out of season, prices are excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel near Castelo Branco castle

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The room comforts especially the beds
Location: You can visit the castle the Kings gardens and local museum. Lots of friendly cafes .
We were disappointed in the comfort of the room the beds were hard like sleeping on boards and also the pillows. There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room and a poorly stocked mini fridge. Overall the hotel is clean including the dining area and there was a good choice for breakfast. We ate a couple of times in restaurant in the evening the food was good and the staff were friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well worth a stay

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had an excellent night at the hotel. The buffet evening meal was excellent value for money and well balanced. Breakfast also was excellent. The large swimming pool and ancillary options were a great addition.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Sara

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Brian from Bethany, Ontario, Canada

Great pick

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful clean hotel. Fantastic sunset view. Great food
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel - A little tired

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Location & History
Cons: Update the beds & ammenities in the room
Location: Close to old town
Hotel was showing age & could use more amentities in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holmfirth

Great hotel with fantastic views

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Location: Turn left out of the hotel and descend steps through typical Portuguese houses to a square with good bars and restaurants. 10 mins there (20 back)
Stayed here 10 years ago and recently returned. The hotel is on top of a hill with fantastic views over the city and mountains beyond. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are good and the prices are very reasonable. Buffet evening meal at 14 Euros is great value for money.
3 out of 5
by Stefanie from California

Not what we expected.

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is nice looking,the staff was very accommodating, the room was basic kinda old compared to there hotels in coimbra and lisbon, we were disappointed however that there was nothing in walking distance to do! The castle next door was a tagged ruin i wouldnt even call it a castle. We spent our time in the room, thankfully it had a patio and tv.
4 out of 5
by Evelyn from Canada

Very clean and pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was surprisingly nicer than the photo and we were very happy with the service overall. There was a cot set up in our room on arrival so when we asked to have it removed that was done as soon as was possible. The a/c was thankfully good as it was a very hot day. Overall was very good value for the money. The buffet dinner and buffet breakfast were also very adequate with excellent service. Would definitely be happy to stay here another time.