Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ana Alexandra from Lisbon

Relaxing get away

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was relaxing and comfortable. Staff was pleasant and available. View from the room was breathtaking and the pool was magnificent!
4 out of 5
by Mr Neil from Cardiff

Magnificent hotel with drab food.

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Stunning views and lovely rooms, shame about the food. Drab and tasteless food, no specials and the same menu for our stay. I think the chefs are lazy as you have no choice.
5 out of 5
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paula from London

Tranquil picturesque setting

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
Set in a beautiful location on the River Douro, the hotel was a warm welcome after a long drive. The staff were courteous and helpful and the restaurant food was very tasty. We would of appreciated a coffee making facility in the room, but otherwise a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by mark

100%

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels
Was a bit difficult to find the hotel. But once we found .. everything just perfect. We will be back as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
by Gary B from Harrogate

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights here a really nice hotel. Found food to be good but service too slow one night when only one waiter/waitress available. Could do with more activities as location is right on the river and disappointed with this. I think this would be much better in the high season. I would recommend the wine tasting offered at a local vineyard!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful retreat by the river

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels
This is a beautiful hotel with a great spa and two pools with river views. It is perfect for a retreat, but not for those seeking to walk around Porto. It is a bit far of a drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marg from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Relaxation Central

Posted Jul 11, 2013
Pros: Beautiful views and great food in the restauant
Cons: Kind of a windy, therefore slow, drive to other places
Location: Right on the Rio Douro!
Hotel is great but a bit off the beaten track. If you want a beautiful place to relax for a day or two --- this is it!
5 out of 5
by Anna

Finding and dining

Posted Sep 22, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel is great, beautiful surroundings and very high standard and great SPA facilities. However, it is difficult to get to if you haven't got a car; the website says they organize transfers to the hotel from the Porto airport, however when we rang the hotel about that it turned out they don't do them. Also very limited choice of food - there is only one restaurant with a very small menu (3 choices of pasta, 3 fish, 3 meats) and the room service serves pretty much the same dishes, which is a bit of an issue if you stay longer than a couple of days.