Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Remote

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The hotel is clean and well laid out. It is remote so if you want close to the major tourist areas and great wineries this is not the place. If you want to escape to relax and not really go anywhere, this is the place. The staff except one lady at the front desk were not the normal friendly customer service you expect from Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rudgwick

Mountain retreat

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Location - quality - service
Cons: Much of the secure car park close to reception, was allocated to a BMW m/bike gathering so we had to walk up a long dark steep hill in pouring rain!
Location: Plenty of good local restaurants. Lucca, Pisa, Cinque Terre are easily accessible by car and train.
Cool - calm - serene - a great mountain retreat after five days pounding the streets of Florence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York. UK

Lovely hotel with fabulous views!!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
This was a lovely hotel with everything you could possibly want. Beautiful mountain views and a true holiday experience. The hotel is very well kept, clean and a great range of amenities. The staff are lovely and cannot do enough to help however service is a little slow. The food is good however as previous reviews have mentioned I did not feel were value for money. €18 for a small burger and fries is a little pricey. However strangely the drinks which you would expect to pay over inflated prices for in a large hotel chain were quite reasonable. I would stay here again but my advice is definitely head into local town of Barga and grab yourself an amazing pattiserie breakfast for a fraction of the price....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2015
We upgraded to a room with a view of the valley and were very pleased with our stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We hope to return one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Wonderful and relaxing

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The food was great and the staff were excellent. Really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Beautiful views and very peaceful

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff very friendly
Cons: Pool could stay open later and a hot tub on the main deck with the stunning views would be fantastic
Location: Barga had some nice restaurants and hotel served as an excellent base for exploring tuscany
A very enjoyable stay we loved the location were able to reach all of the major sites of Tuscany within an hor or so
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rosie from UK

Lovely hotel for rest and relaxation

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Serenity, remoteness, comfort, staff
Cons: Improve restaurant menu and make prices more affordable. Make spa treatments affordable as I couldn't afford anything!
Location: Nice little town called Barga with restaurants and a medieval town. Drive to Pisa and Florence is about 70 miles. Shopping outlets near Florence.
Wonderful welcome and very friendly and helpful staff! Definitely a well located hotel in remote Tuscany. You definitely need a good car to reach it. Feels safe and relaxing. Pricey to say the least so glad breakfast rate was good via Expedia. Dinners are pricey but this is a very exclusive hotel. The room was good but smaller than I expected for a weeks's stay. Breakfast was monotonous but good quality. The spa treatments were so overpriced as to make them unaffordable. I would have liked to afford treatments under 50 euros! would definitely return to this hotel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by porkchop from hong kong

Great view with fantastic outdoor swimming pool.

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Great staff who always smile. Lovely view and delicious food at restaurant. even though it's far from the town, u would definitely want to return to this hotel for a great retreat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jul 23, 2012
I was there with my wife, attending a conference. This hotel is in a remote location and not easily accessible, unless you rent a car (preferably with a GPS). The conference management provided very poor shuttle service to the hotel, and we ended up paying 150 euros for a taxi. Of course, we could have rented a car, but we don't like to drive in that country. Taxis are not allowed to go to the front door of the hotel, and our taxi driver left our luggage on the side of the road, in front a closed metal gate. There was nobody there from the hotel, and our luggage was too heavy to carry. This is really unacceptable and a bad start, to say the least. On the positive side, the room was very nice and the view was great. Unfortunately, most other aspects were poor. The food was generally mediocre. The restaurant (there is only one) is ridiculously understaffed, and service is very slow. There is almost nothing to do at the resort. There are very few tours available. We had to take the train or expensives taxis to go anywhere, and travelling was not particularly pleasant. When we left, we had to take an early morning flight from the Pisa airport. There was no porter available at the hotel to help us with our luggage. They actually expected taxis drivers to do this work for them during night hours!! Need I say more?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

My fourth visit -- enough said

Posted Aug 8, 2010
Il Ciocco is an ideal spot for an Italian vacation. Its locale is incredibly scenic and beautiful, and the hotel itself is elegant and lovely as well as being very welcoming. It is a resort, with facilities such as a spa, gym, and a beautiful pool on a terrace overlooking the walled city of Barga, mountains, and villages dotting the hillsides. There are playing fields, stables, and hiking trails. The restaurant is excellent, and there is a restaurant bar serving light food and drinks. My comfortable, well-furnished room included a balcony overlooking hotel terraces and the hills and mountains beyond. I rented a car and drove to Lucca (about 45 minutes) and Florence (about an hour and a half). Pisa is a little over an hour away, and there are many outstanding restaurants within a 15-minute drive from the hotel. This was my fourth stay at Il Ciocco, and I hope to come back often!