Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Warn guests that the hot water was very, very hot.
Hotel offered great value and the room for presented to a very high standard based on a Mexican theme. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast had a selection of fresh fruit and a wide choice of continental meats and cheese.
3 out of 5
by karen from miami

3 stars at best

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels
very modest hotel, 3 stars at best. bed was stiff and uncomfortable. 2 twins stuck together.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Go!

Posted May 27, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel definitely needs to be re-rated. We stayed in 9 hotels when we were in Sicily and this one was the worst! It was difficult to find, the pool was not open and looked disgusting, the showers had mold, and when we asked to change rooms, the manager said a bus was coming in 30 minutes (untrue), and no rooms were available. We were one of two rooms with guests until the bus finally arrived that night. When we persisted, we did change rooms, but the second shower was worse, plus the shower head did not work. There was mold in our butter at breakfast, and she opened another package, looked at it, closed it back up, put it on a silver tray and brought it to us, and explained the reason was that there were only two guests at the hotel. The place was dirty, the staff was rude, and unsightly scenes just kept appearing. I will NOT ever get near the place again. It it's 4 Star, I can't even imagine what would be considered a 3, 2, or (heaven forbid) a 1 Star would be like.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford UK

Grande Hotel Selinunte

Posted Jul 21, 2011 on Hotels
The hotel is in a nice position overlooking farmland and the sea and has a good restaurant. They have their own beach area with sun loungers and umbrellas about half a mile away and a mini bus will take you to the entrance to the green area where it is situated. The hotel gets crowded at weekends but we had the pool almost to ourselves during the week. Staff are ok but have limited English. The map is less than helpful showing the hotel in Castelvetrano when in fact its in Marinella di Selinunte - head there and follow the signs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Tough to find but worth the effort.

Posted Jul 7, 2011 on Hotels
This was an interesting place. I fear they will not survive. We loved the rooms. They were very large and modern with nice views and balconies. This hotel is located in Selinunte and not in Castelvetrano. However, everything from their website, to our GPS to maps indicate that this place is in Castelvetrano. Some nice guy at the local gas station lead us several miles through back roads to find the hotel. Without that we may never have found it. There is nothing at all near or around the hotel. No bars, restaurants or stores within walking distance. The beach is nearby and so is the historic site (though a very long walk). But finding food can be difficult if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant. The Hotel offered a very nice buffet Breakfast which was very good and extensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Posted Jun 8, 2011 on Hotels
The reception clerk, and staff, were just excellent and made us feel VERY welcome. We were very comfortable in this hotel. Dining room was not exceptional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Grande Hotel Selinunte comfort and clean

Posted Jun 5, 2010 on Hotels
Very nice and clean hotel, great swimmingpool, friendly staff , spoke little bit english, some problem with directions on the main road from Castelvetrano, breakfast o.k but need some veg. close to ancient city Selilunte and restaurant on the seaside, car necessary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Great hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2009 on Hotels
The hotel staff was outstanding! They helped us with our travels between small towns in the vacinities and made accomodations specific to our needs. They transported us to the train station on our last day at the hotel. They were wonderful. The location of the hotel was within walking distance (45min walk) to the arceological sites in Salinunte. However, the walk is unsafe due to stray dogs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Good but could be better

Posted Jul 31, 2008
Super hotel in lovely area with great potential. Friendly staff, superb clean pool and good breakfast.Excellent private beach. Needs to have written information for guests about times and facilities. At times musty smell from shower drain which needs to be sorted. Confusion about beds in our room due to booking system. Childs bed was removed halfway through our stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Setting

Posted Jul 17, 2008 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting - swimming pool was simple but beautiful and the setting tranbquil and quiet. Hotel was not for those seeking an active and exciting holiday but for those seeking peaxe and being a little bit off the beaten track (but not too far off) Family stay - kids 12 and 15 - quiet during the week but a little noisy with Italian visitors at weekend late into night.