Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Sakari from Uppsala, Sverige

Lugnt lantligt läge nära hav och stad.

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Trevligt hotell med personligt bemötande, ägarparet var mycket vänliga, hjälpsamma och tillmötesgående. Mycket lugn trädgård utan störande trafikljud men med havsutsikt och fin "maxi-bar" med självbetjäning. Normal tid för frukost var något sent för oss men ägarna ordnade så det fanns frukost tillgängligt för oss vid den tid vi önskade. Det enda negativa för oss var att vårt rum saknade fönster med utsikt, vår utsikt var mot en inglasad uteplats.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U.K

Good quiet position.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness. Facilities that were to our liking. Quiet. Good local knowledge.
Cons: Lighting in lounge and our room. Heating in breakfast room (in cold weather).
Location: Torrox Costa lots of restaurants and beach and entertainment in the summer. Mountain walks and drives. Interesting mountain villages.
Very welcoming and helpful. Functional and practical rather than modern and smart. Facilities include a tennis court, table tennis, swimming pool (summer), darts, car park. Breakfast adequate. Beveridges including alcoholic drinks available at all times by helping yourself and recording in book. Rooms were clean and attended daily. During our stay (January) there were just the man and wife team servicing so it was personable and they were helpful in advising on local places to go and even booked us into a mountain winery tour and lunch. A downside was the shared lounge and our room being dark and particularly in the lounge it was difficult to read even with the light on.
5 out of 5
by Francis from Vancouver, BC

What a charm!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
This was a wonderful stay after Barcelona. The place is totally charming and the hosts are so attentive to their guests. The great feature is the self service bar (Honor system) with varied drinks. The view is extraordinary but the calm at night is a further plus. We highly recommend. Thank you Saskia and Vince
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2015 by Cortijo Amaya, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind words, Francis. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also enjoyed having you as our guests. Thank you for coming!
5 out of 5
by Adam from Telford

Always a great stay

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
We've stayed at this hotel numerous times now as it's close to family we visit and the service from Saskia and Vince has always been brilliant. The hotel is about 10 min walk from the beach up in a residential neighbourhood with views down towards the sea. It's comfortable and always clean with only a small amount of rooms so never crowded. They also have a tennis court, swimming pool and little outside bar area. We will definitely keep coming back.
5 out of 5
by Li from Canada

Home away from home

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
Wonderful. Very nice little B and B. A perfect spot to stay and relax yet it is only half a mile down to the ocean,stores and restaurants.The view from the place is breathtaking.The rooms are big with nice beds and the bathroom had a tub with a shower plenty of water pressure. The breakfast has every thing you can ask for. The owners made everybody feel right at home.
4 out of 5
by Victor from A.M.

Es un hotel muy acogedor

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Es un hotel muy acogedor, relativamente cerca de la playa, con un entorno muy natural... El servicio del desayuno bastante completo..mi mujer y yo pasamos una estancia muy agradable ya que el personal además es bastante amable y hospitalario, repetiríamos sin lugar a dida
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pas clair

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels
Pas possibilites de trouwer l' etablissement
3 out of 5
by Glad turist from Norge

Pittoreskt og rimelig :-)

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels
Vi valgte dette hotellet siden vi var ute etter en billig overnatting før vi fikk flytte inn i ferieleiligheta vår. Vi hadde lave forventninger siden hotellet ikke hadde fått så god rangering her. (Valgte imidlertid å ta den aller dårligste beskrivelsen av servicen med en klype salt da vår erfaring tilsier at så misfornøyde kunder som regel har sin del av skylda... som man roper i skogen får man svar heter det jo ;-) Hotellet ligger rimelig avsides, og taxisjåføren fra Malaga hadde problemer med å finne fram da verken gata eller hotellet var å finne på GPSen hans, men det ordnet seg da vi plukka opp en eldre mann som var oppvokst i nabolaget og villig viste vei oppover til toppen av en høyde med fin utsikt. Vi ble møtt av svært hyggelige og hjelpsomme resepsjonister, og hotellet har massevis av sjarm, så litt "kjellerlukt" på rommet og et litt skranglete airkondition-anlegg var absolutt til å leve med. En trivelig liten spisesal med enkel og deilig frokost neste morgen overgikk alle forventninger :-) Vi dro begge der ifra med en følelse av å ha vært på koselig besøk hjemme hos en gammel tante :-)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel experience ever

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels
I have travel around the world and stayed on more than 1000 hotels but never been asked to excause to the hotel management. But here the management totally lack the understanding of service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2014 by Cortijo Amaya, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in Cortijo Amaya, in the past. We respond only to inform you that Cortijo Amaya is under new management per 1-11-2013. Kind regards, Saskia and Vince, new hosts in Cortijo Amaya.