Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clare

Very nice, spectacular views

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: View, Spa and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Breakfast was pretty basic.
Location: Well worth walking down to Ballindoon Abbey nearby.
Perfect for a relaxing and peaceful getaway. I also had a treatment in the spa which was very nice, excellent value for money with lunch included. Our room was a bit dated but I personally love old world charm so all in all, it was a great hotel experience. The bar is worth visiting for it's relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, if nothing else!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from co armagh

First class

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Simple answer is everything.
Cons: Our stay, we where there for one night only.
Location: Beautiful location with walks and plenty of sites to visit of ancient Ireland and folklore.
We found the hotel was in a beautiful location and as we like walking had maps of the area marked out to suit our needs. The staff where very helpful and friendly which made our stay very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Banbridge County Down N Ireland

Rural Ireland with Forest & Lake Views

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Lovely setting with fabulous views over lake & mountains. Breakfast & meals in contemporary clean fresh restaurant with those views fabulous. However Menu for families limited choice Breakfast choice for kids limited no kids cereals no bananas or other fresh fruit. Family room decor very dated Need serious upgrade. Bathroom had no ventilation or fan working Constant condensation & shower dripped throughout night. Emergency exit door was faulty hanging off creating draft no sleep as bed opposite it was directly in line.Entrance door to room difficult to open Ancillary staff made joke about this room having to jiggle key in door for a bit Obviously been like that for a while !!! Staff lovely manner but not able to do anything about room issues & reporting or communication between shifts non existent yet there seemed to be other rooms/upgrades available in hotel Disappointed not 4* in our opinion but has potential to be with a little more effort & attention to detail in family rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

Secluded hotel on Lough Arrow

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, nice facilities, dining.
Location: A bit hard to find, but worth the effort
Lovely hotel, we stayed one night, two couples touring Ireland. Experienced an issue with the bartender being quite rude; but the manager found out and rectified the issue quickly. Did not like the amount of stairs needed to travel to reach our rooms. Nice dining facilities, which is necessary as this resort is secluded and off the beaten path. Best for couples or women participating in their spa facilities. Lovely locale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely for relaxing, not great for business travel

Posted Aug 16, 2013
A nice hotel and overall good service. Doesn't really cater very well for business travellers. Breakfast isn't served until 8am and generally the cooked breakfast and service for tea/coffee wasn't available until 8:15. For most people this won't be a problem, for those with 9am meetings in the vicinity this will be too late. WiFi is not available in the bedrooms. You might be able to get a weak signal in the bar and restaurant area on a laptop but not a mobile phone - the best place in reception (if you don't mind sitting there). Would I stay for a few days relaxation? Definitely. Would I use again for business travel... possibly not. The restaurant food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Seattle, WA

Swanky hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Aug 13, 2013
This is a beautiful hotel located 10-20km in the middle of nowhere... but totally worth it. The rooms were great, the staff was wonderful, etc. It was a surprise to find such a nice hotel in the middle of the farming fields. The one downside is that we felt underdressed as we came in t-shirts and shorts whereas most people were dressed up in suits and dresses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerry from Co Fermanagh N. Ireland

A wonderful place to stay.

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Views, food. and wonderful staff.
Cons: Couldn't fault it in any way.
Location: High on a hill, off the beaten track, with panoramic views.
I wanted a break where we would have peace, quiet, nice surroundings, quality food, and comfort. Wow we got it and more. From the moment we stepped into the hotel nothing was too much bother. The staff were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and very tasty. The views were absolutely spectacular. It was such a joy to sit and enjoy the view. The peace and quiet were so wonderful. Definitely would go back for another visit. Thank you to all who made our visit so enjoyable and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from Ireland

Excellent well worthy of 10 stars

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Cons: The weather
Although we stayed only one night we would have no hesitation recommending this hotel for a relaxing stay. No problems with anything we were treated like royalty from the time we arrived till we left.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wilm, DE

Tarmon

Posted Oct 5, 2011
The hotel was in close location to the areas of Sligo we traveled. The receptionist Mary, was incredibly kind to look into music sessions in Gurteen. The spa was very relaxing. The seaweed bath was special being able to gaze onto the lake and surrounding mountain. The spa manager was very nice and accomadating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Seeblick buchen!

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Sehr gutes (und teures) Hotel. See-Blick ist klasse