Ratings based on 298 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bpl

Great location for visiting West Ireland

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Hotel iocation and suites are fabulous, but if noisy kids are not your thing then avoid. Our experience was marred by children running up and down the corridors at all hours. Doors were being slammed late at night up to 3 or 4 times per minute and kids and adults were screaming and shouting out on the putting course which was located close to our room after midnight. I ended up calling reception to ask for them to be moved on which they did immediately. Maybe the hotel should set a policy limiting the time the facility can be used? It's not all hotels fault though - it's the usual case of ignorant parents taking no responsibility to control their children and letting them run riot. Other than that Breafy Resort Hotel is magnificent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Did not meet expectations

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The grounds, exterior and reception were amazing...then we checked in. Staff pre-emptively apologized for the noise due to various weddings. Got to the extremely small room, then dinner in the pub in which the staff were too busy to serve us. Next day had to change rooms due to toilet malfunction; moved us next door...nothing for inconvenience. Had to ask for body was, conditioner and NO washcloths! Staff were less than friendly and when we ask to borrow a pen we had to promise to return it! Most food in the pub was overcooked and the breakfast buffet did not appear appealing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Big hotel, set in beautiful grounds.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Pool. Breakfast.
Location: Great walks.
Very welcoming even though we checked in late. Friendly staff. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

grand hotel in countryside

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: convenient location
Cons: better bread at breakfast
Location: good eating and shopping Castlebar day trip to north coast and Achill area with advertised walks a beautiful part of Ireland
comfortable quiet room good breakfast enjoyed 3 full touring days in this beautiful part of Ireland
3 out of 5
by Kevin

Easter Weekend Stay

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Thought it was going to be alot nicer than what it was. The room was very basic and the colour on the walls I thought was shocking. We had a meal on Friday night and the monkfish was horrible. Also a bunch of travellers were staying there for the weekend, so found the whole experience not great, will not be returning there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Galway

Great stay for family

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Me my partner and two girls stayed here for two nights it was very nice the staff are so nice and helpful. There is a kids club every moring during mid term for school age kids and a kids disco in evening time for all ages my daughter loved it and our 2 year old loved the walk around the fairy village plenty of grounds to walk around, we ate in Heaney macs very nice food it's fresh, it's close to castle bar town great for shopping and restaurants too.
4 out of 5
by helen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel felt overpriced, very disappointed how badly maintained it is. I wondered if I was in the correct place as the price I paid for was a rip off. Old and dirty carpets, plaster on the wall, dirty bowls in breakfast, lumps in the porridge, a piece missing in the tap in the bathroom, strong draft on the corridor shanking the door and producing a noise all night long.
4 out of 5
by Teresa

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Attending a wedding so not too much interaction with staff but those on reception were extremely friendly and personable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. The only negative thing to note was the renovations that are on-going. I got lost returning from the pool - I thought I was in the Crystal Maze😂😁