Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, Texas

Hunter's Confort

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Great location. Good views. Very clean. Comfortable. DirectTv with plenty of HD channels.Friendly Staff.
Cons: See above.
Location: Castroville is a great little town. We were hunting nearby. Very convenient.
Overall we had a good experience. There are some issues that need improvement. The tub in our room would not drain when you took a shower. It would fill with soap scum, etc., which was not pleasing. The restaurant was in some sort of transition. There was a new menu and wine selection. Unfortunately, the staff was not well informed as to the menu items, available wines and libations, etc. I must admit that the dinner I had my first night (the duck breast) was outstanding. However as good as it was, the dinner I had my last night was that bad. The ribeye steak was cold and undercooked, and it was not prepared with the peppercorn butter as advertised. When I inquired, I was brought a cold brick of peppercorn butter that only served to make the steak colder than it already was. I did not finish the meal, and no concession of any kind was offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Quite nice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: comfort, staff, decor
Cons: Nothing really. Like it the way it is
Location: Was in town to visit family, but it is a reasonable drive to San Antonio
The staff were quite friendly and helpful. Facility is a few decades old, but I feel that adds to its charm. Would recommend for anyone wishing to stay in the San Antonio area, even though it is a fair ways out of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Hill Country outside of San Antonio

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Lovely location on a hill providing scenic view. It is private and quiet with good parking. It has a good restaurant on site. The room is spacious
Cons: Tile on floor loose; the lock on the door had all screws coming out
Location: Tour of beautiful homes in historic area; Landmark Inn; short drive to Paradise Canyon
Hotel is located on a hill providing nice view of the Medina Valley. Close to the center of town where one could sightsee at leisure!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Out from the big city

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Out from the big city. Was looking for more to do , no weight room or other activities for that price. Look like it once was a very nice place at one while , a little ruin down. My wife and I first noticed the run down sign. It was our anniversary, we made the best of things. Beautiful hill top scenery, just wish it had more to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Good hotel with good staff. Did not try restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Ron

Another great stay

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great stay as always. We were a little disappointed that the restaurant changed from finer dining to a bar and grill. Room was clean and comfortable. The staff as always was very professional.
5 out of 5
by paul

castroville

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was amazing. Super good service and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wharton tx

Nice hotel on edge of town, semi rural setting.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: I enjoyed the location, décor, the quaintness,everything.
Cons: It would be nice if the restaurant stayed open past 10:00, but I understand that in a small town it may not be profitable.
Location: I was only for the graduation, so I don't know about things to do, but the facility is in a beautiful area.
Was in Castroville for high graduation, only spent one night. The staff at hotel was great, hotel was beautiful. We enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Bad check in and no phone

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice and helpful. It was quiet
Cons: Everything
Location: Close to the graduation but really nothing to do. Went for the family
It took us 30 mins to check in because girl said how would you like to pay for this! What, this is prepay when booked online, no there is a balance of $176, My husband a diabetic, now 6:30, I told her to get someone one the phone & get this straighten out. She did a & said I have it taken care of on my end! I told her they do not give all the money till we check in & that is what they did last year and yes we were here last year & did great. Now the room, NO PHONE, here for a graduation, so we had to use our cell to call the DESK to ask questions, call out for food or family! They said they new about this that morning & the phone co had to put a new line, why rent room or a least tell us. Worst pillows, hold handle on toilet to flush, coffee maker did not keep coffee hot, just warm, had a bug in the bath & a dead buy under my top cover. We had another graduation in 3 years but will NEVER STAY HERE but 15 mins down the road for a less expensive hotel & this is what we got for the high cost of this stay.
4 out of 5
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels