Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Beautiful view and close to town

Posted Nov 29, 2017
The hotel is on a hill, which offers a beautiful view of the area. It’s very close to downtown Castroville and the town’s regional park. The hotel’s facilities show some wear and tear, but the room was very clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, wa

A little less than expected.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Closest/most convenient to relatives we were visiting. Each time we made requests of hotel staff, we were accommodated promptly and without attitude.
Cons: There was a crack in the bathroom sink. The security lock on the exterior door was broken off.
Location: This hotel was really the only option in the area near relatives we were visiting for Thanksgiving. Recommend visit to “Vines on the Rocks” winery.
There was an initial problem at check-in due to inoperative printer and declined credit card. Not sure if the problem was with Expedia or inexperienced hotel employee but they let us check in while it was being resolved which I appreciated. I was traveling with my 83 yr old aunt who has some mobility issues. Booked a room with no stairs but not specifically ADA. The toilet was an older “short seat” and the mobility hand rail was behind the tank so was no help to use in rising. The tub did have bars but no non slip mat. One was provided when requested. I can’t recommend the on-site restraunt for any meal. Interminable wait and issues with availability and quality of menu items at dinner service in a practically empty dining room. When butter was requested both for dinner and breakfast, the only option they could supply was little containers of “Smart Balance” I called ahead and went and picked up breakfast and had to return for items that were forgottten. We were told that the restraunt had changed hands and had only been open one week so perhaps it will improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Cons: The service in the restaurant was very slow - possibly due to holiday weekend and chef arriving late (our guess). But food was good once it arrived.
Location: Did not do anything in town - visiting relatives.
It was a pleasant stay for one night. Convenient location, however our room was near the highway. Other rooms are farther away. Room had a balcony with chairs and view of trees. HVAC worked great, was not noisy and thermostat in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Pretty

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: the food was good, nice balcony with a view.
Cons: The decor was very mixed in the room, they could have a nicer table/chair/light combo,there was room for a comfortable chair, small table on balcony.
Location: Spa was nice, we were too late arriving to use. The town had interesting landmarks/history.
The grounds were nice, except for a large pile of garden debris under our balcony adjacent to the pretty pool. The dining area was nice, but the first night someone had left a broom at the end of the entrance hallway to greet us, and it was left standing there in the open the entire time we were there for dinner. sloppy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Oct 25, 2017
I would definitely stay again. Staff is friendly and courteous. Rooms are spacious. Restaurant and bar has a lively, warm feel for big or small gatherings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Katy, Texas

Hunter's Confort

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Great location. Good views. Very clean. Comfortable. DirectTv with plenty of HD channels.Friendly Staff.
Cons: See above.
Location: Castroville is a great little town. We were hunting nearby. Very convenient.
Overall we had a good experience. There are some issues that need improvement. The tub in our room would not drain when you took a shower. It would fill with soap scum, etc., which was not pleasing. The restaurant was in some sort of transition. There was a new menu and wine selection. Unfortunately, the staff was not well informed as to the menu items, available wines and libations, etc. I must admit that the dinner I had my first night (the duck breast) was outstanding. However as good as it was, the dinner I had my last night was that bad. The ribeye steak was cold and undercooked, and it was not prepared with the peppercorn butter as advertised. When I inquired, I was brought a cold brick of peppercorn butter that only served to make the steak colder than it already was. I did not finish the meal, and no concession of any kind was offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upper Peninsula of Michigan

Quite nice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: comfort, staff, decor
Cons: Nothing really. Like it the way it is
Location: Was in town to visit family, but it is a reasonable drive to San Antonio
The staff were quite friendly and helpful. Facility is a few decades old, but I feel that adds to its charm. Would recommend for anyone wishing to stay in the San Antonio area, even though it is a fair ways out of town.
3 out of 5
by Vicki

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Jenniffer

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Horrible mold in my suite had to turn ac completely off. other than that location is wonderful
3 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels