Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
This is a little jewel in little Alsace! Wish we stayed longer and we'll be back!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Odessa

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Room was nice, spacious and comfortable. Restaurant was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Hotel close to highway

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: The scenery from the porch and the size of the room were both great.
Cons: If there were a way to lessen the road noise, perhaps through hedges or wall, it would greatly improve our rating.
Location: Castroville is an old town with lots of history. San Antonio with the myriad of things to do is right down the road.
The hotel is older, but has been kept up, for the most part. The restaurant was decent, $30 for two meals without alcohol. Our waitress was new, but eager to please and did a good job. The room was large, tiled floors, king size bed and still room to walk around without bumping into anything. There is also a porch overlooking the hill country, which was enjoyable to sit and read, however, the door would not close completely without the deadbolt from the inside. The biggest complaint is being kept up half the night by the sounds of US 90. It is a popular route for both large and small vehicles. We should have known better as we were in a room closest to the road!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to Sea World

Posted Jan 11, 2017
I thought the hotel staff and room was nice. I didn't like the fact of no laundry area, but it was down the road about five minutes away. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Very nice hotel that offers great view from the room. The room is spacious and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NA

Convenient but not exceptional

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The size of the room, the cleanliness of the room and the location of the hotel.
Cons: The staff (front desk), the pillows and the coffee bar.
Location: This was my hometown and I was there for a family Christmas Party.
I requested downstairs room. At check in I was told by Jenny she knew I requested upstairs but she decided upstairs would be better. I would have no problem if I had been told there were no downstairs rooms available, but it was not her decision to make. After a long drive I was in no mood to argue. Then I called the front desk for a wake up call. Again I spoke to Jenny and she asked if I wanted one irritating call or two. I think she was trying to be funny but I found her to be irritating. Also I did not like the little square pillows on the bed instead of regular size pillows. They were very uncomfortable. The room was always nicely cleaned but the coffee creamer was never replenished, and on my last day I had none to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Below 30 degrees in Castoville, Tx

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Hotel has a nice scenic view of the hill country which makes it good for weddings, parties or reunions. The hotel rooms are too close to the highway & one can hear the traffic. The rooms were clean with plenty of space. The hotel has been renovated with new tile, though the windows may need to be replaced. One could feel the cold air from the outside seeping through the windows. The heavy curtains helped, but coldness could still be felt. The thermostat dropped & heater didn't kick in to warm the room. I had to manually raise the control for heat. The a/c & heat unit are located in the ceiling of the shower which raised safety concerns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Had problems with toilet ,wasn't very happy nothing else to add.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Convenient location

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Has much more character and better decor than the chain hotels typically found along the highways.
Hotel is quiet despite its location convenient to the highway. The grounds are nicely kept and well treed. The bed was comfortable. Also the in-hotel restaurant is good. If you like beer, be sure to try their draft special on Tuesday. They have a good selection including some craft beers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Super friendly and accommodating staff! Quaint and cozy little motel. Highly recommend if you are staying in Castroville!