Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Steven from Calgary

Not a great Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Where do I start. We arrive at the hotel and are told that we don't have a room. We told to go look somewhere else as there was nothing they could do. I told them this was unacceptable and insisted that I get a refund or a room, finally the manager started to phone another hotel. We were told that he would get us a similar room in a comparable hotel. No so, the place was a dump. Next we were told that we would have a the best room in the hotel with a sea view room the next night to make up for the inconvenience. The room was below the dining room so all night we could hear the chairs being moved as people ate their dinner and were woken at 5:30am with the same racket. As far as a ocean view, you could see it as long as you looked around the building directly in front of our window. Overall the room was not very clean and or well maintained. The hotel has an open concept to make it feel airy and spacious, however it also very noisy as you can hear guests on all floors. The front staff were good and helpful. We love Cat Ba but we very disappointed with the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Vincent from Gloucester City, New Jersey, USA

Cat Ba for 2 days

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Antiquated hotel with charm. A little out dated but the staff, especially HOA at the front desk and Lee the manager, insured our stay was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2015 by huynh tran, Hotel Management
thank for your feedback ! our staff are very friendly and warmly ! hope you come back Catba Island and choose Princes Hotel for the next time.
3 out of 5
by Vincent from Gloucester City, New Jersey

Cat Ba City ... 1 Day is enough

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is located in the heart of the tourist district. The hotel is older, we stayed in a suite. The place was clean and the staff were friendly and professional, especially, HOA at the front desk & Le the manager. The area has a lot to be desired. Everything is expensive and the food places send out scouts to haul you and your money into their establishments. We hired a cab to take us to a place where the "locals" eat and we could not get service. My wife and I sat at a table for 5 minutes without a word from the staff. It was like THEY were doing us a favor. Finally we walked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2015 by huynh tran, Hotel Management
thank vincent alot ! we will always change to the quality services and hope you feel satisfied when come back Princes Hotel !
1 out of 5
by b.bowker from catba

half a star accommodation

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels
restaurant had no food there was no club or spa wifi was poor so was cable tv building was noisey standard rooms are very old lots of mould an lots of bleech used to cover the smell. housekeeping were by far the worse I have experienced. beds were hard bathrooms were half completed etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2015 by huynh tran, Hotel Management
- Our Hotel is changing to become perfectly , this time you have alot choise about foods and drinks - Our Hotel is using high internet (FTTH) free everywhere
1 out of 5
by john9876543210@aol.com from UK

Completely Dissatisfied.

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels
Requested airport pickup . Nobody at airport to pick us up. Had to get taxi to get to Catba Island. When on way to ferry - driver informed us that last ferry 5 p.m. and we would not be able to get their on time, so took us to another hotel, Princess Hotel, Haiphong. The next day same driver took us on ferry to Catba Town, and the hotel. We explained to a lady on reception that we had requested airport pickup and there was no car/driver to meet us. Advised us that we could have a room for the night, but we would have to pay again. Explained this was not our fault, but theres due to not picking us up at airport. Also their hotel policy states that if for unforeseen reason cannot make hotel that night, will honour booking for next night. Showed this to Receptionist on ipad .She said we should have contacted them. Said we had tried to ring on five occasions but got no response. The receptionist had to keep having a word with her 'Engineer' as to what she should do. At one point she said they had arrived at airport at 4 p.m. to pick us up but we were not there. Pointed out that we had advised them of Flight No. and time of arrival, it being 4.20 p.m. We informed receptionist that we would not pay for a night, already paid for, and went to look for alternative accommodation.
3 out of 5
by Lauren from Brooklyn, NY

Good value but old and dated

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is what you pay for. Close to restaurants and short walk to the beach. Rooms are very dated but are clean. Hotel staff speaks little English so it was hard to ask any questions or get any answers. Didn't appear that any other hotels in the area - besides the large resorts - would offer anything much better. Would stay again for the price. Cat ba itself is an amazing place and well worth the trip.
3 out of 5
by Vincent from Australia

Average Hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels
Very average hotel. Good location. Wifi intermittent. Hot water also intermittent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels
Phew...I dont even know where to start.
4 out of 5
by Jax from Korea

Princess Catba Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in the Deluxe room, and I definitely recommend the upgrade. The hotel staff were really super friendly and warm. The hotel was clean and well looked after. It took us a while to find it though because the name of the hotel isn't really visibly unless you look quite a ways up. The other thing that wasn't really nice was the karaoke that was blaring two nights until 9am. Because it is in the lobby of the hotel, the sound penetrates every room. Other than that it was a really nice place to stay. Oh, and the breakfast is quite good too :)
3 out of 5
by michael siska from vietnam

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels
Good location, staff okay but not overly accommodating at times. Breakfast were adequate. Very clean and quiet this time of year. 2 room suite spacious, water cold at times.