Ratings based on 1,454 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

A bit of a hike

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: The fridge and micro wave and Keurig
Cons: Attention to the grounds and fixing the room doors of gaps
Location: A bit of a hike and nothing besides golf close
This "resort" is a bit of a hike from downtown, where all the action is. They do have a mini van shuttle which we never were able to catch so we did alot of walking, the distance is not bad but about a third of the walk is up hill and at night no street lights. The hotel has potential, I think they are redoing it but the grounds are in serious need of help if they are going for a resort title. The rooms were redone nicely with a small fridge, micro wave and Keurig which was nice. They have a breakfast for purchase on the weekend but I noticed it was not open on Monday. My main complaint with the room was the door had some serious gaps all around =| had to stuff a towel in the base of door and the room was not in the least bit quiet, you could easily hear most of what was going on all around you, thank goodness for earplugs and sleeping pills. The staff was always very helpful and kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Obnoxious night staff

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: not much
Cons: Get better staff!
The elderly night time front desk man was obnoxious!!! We asked if he had forks and pulled out a basket of forks and instead of giving them to us, he held it away from us and proceeded to tell us how annoyed he gets when guests ask what time it was..nothing to do with us asking for forks for my birthday cake! After he went on and on.. we walked out-without the forks. Morning we checked out, same man was there and I asked him if I needed to check out and he asked me for my room key..I told him I left them in my room and he told me I needed them. After a stare down contest he told me I already paid and I did not need to check out. Jerk!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My wife's birthday weekend

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Room was quiet and massage facility was close!
Cons: Transportation more reliable for pick-up, communication with the Van was a bit disjointed.
Location: Golf was close but restaurants and town a bit far!
Sometimes Front staff not at desk. Also, a bit vague on responses. Overall OK. Must enjoy walking because Hotel far from town. Spa being broken was not good!! We are Jacuzzi people but you mitigated with a Jacuzzi tub in room! Restaurant could be open on Friday, which is was not. A bit disappointing. Van schedule a bit mixed up, with ferry arriving etc, but overall ok. !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The resort is looking a little tired

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: Showers were rEcently redone and very nice. Beds were comfy.
Cons: Friendlier front counter staff.
Location: Out of the way but they did provide a shuttle into town. Shuttle drivers were very friendly.
Front counter guy was not very helpful . Check in took forever and he did not even seem to want to acknowledge we were there. The only times he spoke was to tell us if we lost a key it would be five more dollars and if we wanted another coffee for the morning it would be two more dollars and if we did not return the wine glass it would be $25 per glass.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Hotel rooms are nice, recently updated and they feel good. The grounds do not look like they've had the same attention. A bit of a hike from downtown to the hotel with the last stretch up a hill. Not bad for us and the shuttle is handy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The on site restaurant was not opened, the ice machine on our floor didn't work, they had coffee machines in the room but ran out of coffee. Just very disappointing that it is suppose to be a spa/resort but yet so unprepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Cons: Check in wasn't until 4pm. They didn't have a SECURE place to hold my suitcase until my room was ready just a community room.
Everyone said it was really far away but I walked from my boat to the room with my suitcase (it may be harder with small children though). They also has a shuttle for times I didn't feel like walking. Catalina is beautiful and the hotel was very nice. I loved the bed, shower, and balcony. Ill be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Good Value For The Money

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The shuttle service and the quietness.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Location: Lots of great food just down the hill at the Sand Trap ($1.00 tacos!!), complete with a friendly staff. Tour the island, snorkel or just chill.
The shuttle service drivers and staff at the motel were pleasant and did a great job. The furnishings in the room were a little rough (a piece was broke off from the night stand and we called twice and let them know but they were not too concerned). The courtyard area was nice and well kept as was the lobby. Wifi was spotty at times and that is pretty much what I experienced on Catalina Island. The room had cobwebs around the shutters and when doing a pre-check sweep of the room on check out I found a cup that had been used for snacks was laying under my bed, with cobwebs in it as well (no, it was not mine!). Short of that, it was quiet and did provide good value, I just wish the rooms were cleaner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Stay at the Catalina Canyon

Posted Jan 1, 2016
I would stay there again. The staff was nice. Everything is so close to hotel. Just down the hill into the city. The shuttle runs all day. Only thing was there was no view of the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel great for families

Posted Jan 1, 2016
We spent 3 nights with our children and family. It is not in walking distance to the beach area however there was a shuttle van that ran about every 15 minutes. The view from our rooms was very nice.