Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Quiet hotel close to the beach.

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Garden, rooms with balcony and staff
Cons: No
Location: Bike ride down from the airport I the sky was great. Catalina bikes
Beautiful rooms with custom wood interior. Outdoor garden filed with hummingbirds and a koi pond. The staff is warm and helpful. Only one block from the beach with a great view. We were upgraded for free and got to hand feed the fish several times. Loved our romantic vacation
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, CA

Quaint Hotel

Posted May 12, 2016
The Avalon Hotel is very quaint & unique! The rooms are nice sized with wonderful amenities (free snacks/candy/beverages, complementary breakfast daily & beer/wine nightly, robes, books, etc.) and the bed is oh-so comfy! They even give you towels and a beach bag if you want to head to the nearby beach! Also, the soaking tub is heavenly! Bonus: Views from the top of the hotel can't be beat! Plus, it's centrally located and a brief walk to everywhere in town. Lastly, and most important, the staff at the Avalon is FANTASTIC! They are very personable and go out of there way to please each guest as if they were family! I will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Quiet, convenient hotel, just off the main avenue

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The room was exactly how we like it: comfortable, softer sheets than in many hotels, tasteful tile in the bathroom with a real marble vanity.
Cons: The pillows were less than great. Some were sacks of mush.
Location: The best part of our hotel was how quiet it was.
It was my husband's 50th birthday, so I decided to treat him to a trip to Catalina. I chose this hotel over many others and was really happy with my choice. The hotel staff was excellent, even the customer service when calling for the reservation to the minute we stepped in the front door was what I dream about with other establishments. They extended their happy hour for us knowing we would return from the zip line activity a little late. The fire pit in the open garden was lit and other guests made for some nice conversation after a long, adventurous day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Nice Hotel right around the corner from everything

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The quality of care to the hotel and it's guests is wonderful.
Cons: I can't think of anything at the moment that could be improved upon. Maybe set up discount package with stay if you pay for discount upgrade.
Location: The hotel is right around the corner from everything and in walking distance. So you can chose to do so much, eat, shop, inline, tours etc.
Awesome experience! We appreciated the care and maintenance of the facility. Beautiful woodworking and carpentry that gave the place elegance without feeling like a museum. The staff is very welcoming and attentive, they anticipated our needs and were great with our child. The live in hotel representative was superb, she provide great service and she was genuine and authentic about it. Our room was clean and comfortable and the access to the rooftop offer a postcard picture view of Avalon. The hotel's location is right around the corner from town so everything is accessible. We had such a great time and were so comfortable we were sad to leave. When we left behind a package they were quick to offer to mail it to us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

A must stay

Posted Apr 14, 2016
I was so impressed with everything from staff cleanness to location
4 out of 5
by philip a from Lakewood California

Our first getaway

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Laurie was great. After I ordered a yellow rose for my new girlfriend she gave us a comlimentary bottle of wine, which was unexpected. When we were leaving I found out the dozen short stem yellow roses on the night stand were for us and that the hotel bought them for our special occasion. I definitely would recommend The Avalon hotel.
4 out of 5
by Hortencia from San Diego

Nice stay

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
Spacious bathroom, comfy bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful hotel on Catalina Island

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Everything.... the cleanliness, it was a large room. Many extra touches!
Location: you have all of Catalina just a few steps away.
We arrived and were greeted by friendly staff who took the time to ask us how our trip was so far. They checked us in quickly and got our baggage to out room. The room is clean, pretty and fully equipped. Gorgeous clean bright large bath. A few little perks we were not expecting.... candy by the bed, ice tea and water in the mini fridge, bag of popcorn to pop in the microwave.. The packed pool bag with towels ready to go was a thoughtful surprise! The rooftop observation area with views of ocean is spectacular. The garden with flowers and koi fish was charming and the breakfast buffet was delightful. The staff was very friendly offered answers to questions easily and went above and beyond to help us! These careing professionals are so warm, and helpful they really made our stay unforgettable, and the room was absolutely fabulous!! We WILL be back again! Thank you all for a wonderful stay!! .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramemto, CA

Comfortable and clean hotel.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Loved the decor of the room. The rooftop had a great view of the harbor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Del Mar, Ca

Big plus for the roof!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
I have never been to Catilina Island before. We were on the third floor and there is no elevator so we had to drag our bags up there, no big deal. The room was kind of small with a king size bed in there. Down below we had a coy pond, it was very peaceful. We spent time on the roof with glasses of wine watching the boats go by. In the morning they had continental breakfast, with pealed hard boiled eggs next to the coy pond, very relaxing. Had a refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker . All in all it was a three star room.