Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: This hotel is a bus ride from Catania - just walk down the hill and catch the 935 just by the chemist. There is no beach so get the bus or go by car.
Our first impression of the hotel was the male receptionist. Unfortunately, our elderly taxi driver spoke no English insisted on going into the hotel, as we questioned the taxi fare which had been inflated from 15 to 40 euros.The receptionist dealt with the taxi driver with diplomacy and tact. We were then taken to our room which was exceptional - spacious,extremely clean, bathrobes and slippers, large flat screen TV, balcony, sofa and more room than we knew what to do with. The pool was lovely but you had to wear a bathing hat before being allowed to swim. The restaurant was spacious, the food was good but my only criticism was the menu didn't change. However, the choice at breakfast was excellent.We had a lovely stay at this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Experience

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: N/A
Staff is not friendly and the first assigned room was terrible. overall experience this hotel was so bad and I think I wasted my vacation time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: spa (with caveats)
Cons: spa and breakfast.
Location: beach
the main reason I used to pick the hotel was the spa, otherwise the hotel is nice but not amazing. modern and clean but nothing spectacular. the spa is nice. many pools with different type of jets. yet, the spa could be improved by making the water temperature a little warmer. some of the pools were useless, and people tended to crowd over the useful pools (meaning with more efficient jets). the spa tends to be very busy and sometimes not too clean. the breakfast was very disappointing. in the summer it may be a wonderful location by the sea, but from november to april it is a very odd place to be - everything nearby is closed and deserted. on the other hand in the summer the spa is probably way overcrowded. I recommend this hotel in the spring and early fall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Events rather than Hotel Hospitality

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Clean and spacious rooms, swimming pool and outdoor area
Cons: Hospitality focus with guests
The hotel has a large Spa Resort connected to it as well as great facilities and is still in its early days of becoming known. This puts a focus on the creation of events to attract visitors to the resort - there were 3 events during the 6 days we stayed at the hotel. They took over areas where guests would normally be e.g. swimming pool and outdoor dining area - which left us our hotel room and balcony (or the inside dining area) to use. Two staff - one in the dining room and one who managed the outside area - recognised us and smiled on a number of occasions, however we did not feel as though we mattered much as guests - even if we were there for a long period of time. We had also booked an apartment and were put into a double room on arrival. There was no problem in changing once I went and asked and an apology was made. The apartment was very spacious and had facilities for cooking however there were no appliances, no utensils, no crockery, cutlery or glasses, no saucepans - in fact every cupboard and drawer was empty. Bathroom items - shampoo, soap etc. available. We had imagined going and purchasing local produce to bring back, however we visited local restaurants instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from devon

Nice hotel but didn't rate the restaurant

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Comfy large rooms
Cons: Don't charge guests to use pool and gym. Improve the menu
Location: Syracuse was well worth the drive - personally wish I had stayed there as i didn't rate Catania at all
Hotel was good and we were upgraded to an apartment which meant there was a living room with comfy sofa. The kitchenette had nothing in terms of cutlery, crocks, cooking utensils so wasn't relevant. We used the pool once but it was very busy with both an aqua class and lane swimming going on. The receptionist wasn't very keen to let us in and wanted us to come back after 8 in the evening. We came back just after 7 and it was still busy but we went in anyway. Good sized pool for serious swimmers but at 10 euros each, it felt expensive. We ate in the restaurant whilst we were there as driving back into Catania just felt too stressful, but the meals were merely ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

5 star!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Absolutely fantastic hotel! We got upgraded to an apartment which made us want to stay longer, beautiful views of the coast, spa and staff very welcoming. Particularly the very helpful lady on reception ( called Serene we think) only small gripe was the spa cost 30 euros extra each which we weren't really told about, but worth it nonetheless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, brilliant service. Good staff

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: It was so clean and staff are great
Cons: Stop random people coming in to use the pool and life in the surrounding area.
Location: Location is rubbish. Nothing to do.
Hotel and facilities are brilliant, the other downside is the fact there is not effort to do in the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by jsai from London

Nicely decorated hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: New looked
Cons: Room kitchen facilities
Location: You can easily visit nearby towns and mount Etna.
the hotel is v convenient for catania airport. We used it as a base to visit mt Etna, Syracuse and taormina. Disappointed that u have to pay to use indoor pool as it was raining when we stayed. Room kitchens facilities could improve ; there was no kettle, microwave, serving /cooking spoon, knife or toaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vitabella from Montreal, QC, Canada

Great hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2013
We stayed there 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The beach close by is really nice. No need to go to Aci Castello... Unless you want to enjoy the boardwalk as the swimming is so much better near the hotel. I woudn't go to the beach the hotel recommend and pay 3 euro for a chair and be all squeezed between everyone. You can go just next by for free and lay down on the lava rock and jump in the sea. The hotel had a great breakfast coMpare to the other places we went. 15 minutes away from aci castello and 20 miNutes from downtown catane. Well located and very affortable compared to taormina... Rooms are huge but not all have balconies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

tutto oK!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
TUTTO oK! .................................................