Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Kevin

Like a hostel but $$ and without inroom wifi

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
The room which we had booked (in the basement of his house, with kids running around upstairs), had no wifi in the room (it worked in a seat in the corner of the downstairs living room) We upgraded to one of the huts for $10 to get inroom wifi. I was finally able to logon but it barely worked in one corner, continued to cut off, and worked with one device at time. We had decided on Etna Hut in order to get hiking info, the only advice available was the info in the book in the room. We thought about tennis but it was 5euro for 2 people. There was mold and mildew in the shower, tiles falling off. The heater was set to 28, and didn’t get over 18. There is a raised 2x4 in the floor that is a great place to stub your toe in the middle of the night. Breakfast was poor, a nice freezing glass room with the heat off. There were two "Fresh" croissants, a bunch of prepackaged biscuts, and the worst imitation Corn Flakes I have had and coffee packets which worked in some sort of Keurig like device. On checkout which includes the mandatory random city tax of 2euro, and our 10euro upgrade my wife mentioned that the wifi didn't work, which was greeted with "well it must be your wifi devices, it works great and is fast".
5 out of 5
by Dorothy from Upleadon Gloucestershire

Etna Hut , wonderful place and people

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Memo,Elissia , very friendly and helpful ,they will pick up from airport, bus to mount Etna from Nicolosi every morning,twenty minute walk from Etna hut down steep hill , Etna was erupting when we arrived , wonderful to see but a little worrying , we caught bus to Catania then to Taormina if you do this catch early bus from Nicolosi ,buses are very cheap , wonderful place , Torist information in Nicolosi very helpful, if you want to see more of the surrounding country side and more remote villages , hire a car but this is not for the faint heart-ted , crazy people when driving,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel on the Etna slopes

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy walk into Nicolosi - but you must have a torch and good shoes.
Great location (and views) with very helpful guidance about the best opportunities for experiencing Etna.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Etna Location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
Great location to tour Etna from. A small family owned B&B with personal service. Located in a nice, residential area on the edge of Etna.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely Attractive Setting and Rooms!

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely surroundings and very beautiful rooms with lots of color. Town of Nicolosi was fun to be in - appears to be a vibrant community on the slopes of an amazing volcano.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Canterbury

Mount Etna trip We would give Etna Hut a 10 V GOOD

Posted Jul 23, 2012
Pros: Location, View, Cleanliness, Hospitality, Breakfast & Pool.
Cons: None
Location: Brilliant for Mount Etna and area
Etna Hut is an idylic accommodation location situated on the road heading up to Mount Etna. The property is as secure as fort knocks. In that yu feel extremely safe and at ease. We chose a room with no view, basic, under house. It was fantastic. As you stepped out of the lower fron door the view of a night time was that of Catania & Syracusa point. It was spectacular view. The owner Mimo was very nice & his wife & daughter Alice & even her little daughter of 3/5 was polite. Saying Boungiorno. At the back of the property which was an Angels hill top retreat. Were 4/5 Huts which were higher quality than the room that we had but looked superb. The pool was amazing. Tennis courts available. Menu available for drinks and wine & tour details given. No NOISE ANYWHERE.
4 out of 5
by Lina

Close to Etna

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels
We visited Etna Hut in April 2012 and hoped to come to the top of the volcano. The owner was very helpful and rang every day up to Etna to see if the weather was good. He also helped with transportation to Nicolosi and gave us tips on good restaurants nearby. The room was clean and had all the amenities one could wish. The view is fantastic and in the evening you can sit by the pool and drink wine at sunset. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate new york

great location

Posted Apr 8, 2012 on Hotels
Good bed and breakfast for exploring Etna. Great views of Etna and Catania. Owners speak English and are very helpful. Simple breakfast in a lovely glass enclosure. In season, there's a nice pool and tennis court. Nicolosi is a good base for touring Etna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham UK

Far exceeded expectations

Posted Nov 5, 2010
Excellent location, views of Etna to side and rear of property, views of coastline to front. Rooms brilliant, we stayed in the "Africa" room. Spacious, spotless and stylish with great attention to detail. Hosts extremely helpful. Breakfast ample- fruit, cereal croissants etc. Good swimming pool and tennis court. Would loved to have stayed more than one night but itinery didn't allow
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel sympathique, mais chambre très inconfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: L'emplacement et la piscine
Cons: Le confort, la literie, la déco, l'accueil.
Location: Sur les hauteurs de Nicolosi, au pied de l'Etna (mais n'était pas visible de notre chambre).
Nous avons été bien accueillis, mais de manière très décontractée (pas de bureau de réception, pas de document à signer). Cependant, nous avons pu prendre la chambre à 11H au lieu de 14H (car le voyageur précédent était déjà parti). Nous avons logé dans une petite maison de vacances avec une vieille cuisine et une déco kitsch et ancienne. Une jeune chienne nous a tenu compagnie pendant notre séjour. Nous avons logé dans un bâtiment annexe avec parking en cour intérieure, fermée, pour la voiture. La chambre : lit très inconfortable, très dur. Nous avons eu mal au dos. Salle de bain : petite. Nous avons du attendre 1H30 avant d'avoir de l'eau chaude le matin. Donc une douche à l'eau froide! Localisation : à proximité de l'Etna, idéal avant ou après rando, cadre sympathique, calme, avec piscine. Petit déjeuner : une dame nous a préparé le petit déjeuner dans la vieille cuisine. Peu de choses à manger mais convenable (viennoiseries, yaourts, boissons).