Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral UK

Great location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Near to bars restaurants and sites.Transport from airport Ali bus 4 euros stops right opposite hotel.Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cereal to everywhere.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Very enjoyable stay and recommended and easily accessible to public transport for the rest of Sicily.😀
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel in the heart of it all

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located in centre of Messina. We were there on a Saturday night and it's in the middle of party central. Our room faces the street and was noisy until 2 am. Wi-Fi was spotty at best. The building is almost 300 years old and the hotel is very unique. Our room was incredible! Huge and very unique. Staff is awesome and the breakfast served on the rooftop is incredible. It is 3 flights of stairs up to hotel with no elevator and the rooms are not very soundproof. Just a few pointers to be aware of if you stay here. It's a short walking distance to all the main attractions! Parking is limited but if you tell the hotel ahead of time they will reserve a spot for you! Staff was great. We enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
A very central location with an easy walk to Metro and Train Station. Staff extremely helpful and breakfast variety very good. Bathroom fittings a bit run down but we didn't pay a lot either. An ideal spot for a short break.
3 out of 5
by Chantal from Cheltenham

Great location and lovely little rooftop terrace!

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
This was our second stay at Hotel Biscari. It's a basic no frills hotel. We lucked out with our double room which was massive with a balcony overlooking the street. Whereas one of our friends got a much smaller room for virtually the same price. The reason we returned was the location - only 5 minute walk to the main square. Quite noisy at night but we enjoyed the hub bub of activity. Breakfast is served on a little rooftop terrace - the perfect start to the day. Staff friendly but not overly so. The only downside, which may stop us from returning (we visit Sicily every year to run yoga holidays in the mountains) is the exit mechanism on the gate at the bottom of the stairs that leads to the hotel. We found ourselves stuck for ages trying to get out of the hotel trying to press the buzzer and pull the gate. Our friends had trouble too so it wasn't just us! Also be aware that you have to climb about 3 flights of stairs but we didn't mind that!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Difficult to get in!

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Due to flight delays we arrived late (11 p.m.) and were standing outside the door, telephoning the hotel but unable to be understood - we were just outside! The reception is on the third floor. As is the case (I think) in most central city hotels which are rooms above residential premises or shops there is a buzzer, along with all the other occupants of the building, which is not easy to see in the dark. We eventually got in. Our bed was not comfortable and the en-suite had an unpleasant aroma. (room 1). The breakfast location is beautiful we really enjoyed eating on the roof terrace. As we had also booked the hotel for a few days later we were facing the return with trepidation, but as we now knew the foibles of getting in and insisted we have another (room 10) the return visit was much more satisfactory - the room was now o.k.!
5 out of 5
by Ib Skaale from Ølstykke, Denmark

Good hotel at a wrong island.

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great. The only exception was the standard Nestle breakfast. Why not something local. The place Sicily. I prefer northern part of Italy. People are not so smiling and friendly. The main attraction Etna, it was not possible to see other than stones and sno. No lightning lava, only smoke from long distance.
5 out of 5
by Vladimir from Genova

Posted Feb 6, 2016 on Hotels
Very satisfactory experience for rather little money.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and service.

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely welcoming, friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location for Piazza Doumo and all of the surrounding sites and restaurants. Lively fish market each morning just behind the Piazza Doumo. Use of rooftop terrace for beautiful sunsets. Excellent breakfast on the terrace. Just a few steps across from the hotel to Airport transfer pick-up point.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice home away in Catania..

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is much better than some of the negative reviews I read here... Taken that you will have a few flights of stairs to climb.. Just as most of the others.. The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful. With all the security measures, I can't feel safer staying in Catania..