Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: vicino al centro
Cons: ingresso e colazione
Location: vicino al centro
personale gentilissimo ma la prima impressione quando arrivi, non è buona. La struttura si trova al primo piamo di un palazzo d'epoca che è lasciato un po' andare. Scomodo da raggiungere con valigie o passeggini. Camere senza dubbio grandissime, ma essendoci ponteggi per lavori alla facciata del palazzo, non si potevano aprire finestre e il terrazzo era sporchissimo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Hintatietoisen valinta

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Hotelli on mukavalla paikalla lähellä kaikkia palveluita. Aamupala on kovin niukka mutta sillä pärjää. Hotellirakennus on ulkopuolelta remontissa joten ympäristö ei ole kovin kaunista tällä hetkellä.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Baustellen Hotel in Stadtmitte

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Der Kühlschrank, man konnte in regulieren.
Cons: Schadenersatz.
Location: In der Mitte der Via Etnea. Garden Bellini , Botanischen Garden und Schoppen auf der Meile ohne Ende.
Es war ein dunkles, staubig, schmutzig Zimmer,kaum Licht, das Bad ein Loch, Dusche sehr klein, für extrem sehr schmale Personen, Schimmel in den Schiebetüren in den Ecken mit Syilkon überzogen. Die Türen sind auseinander gefallen beim öffnen und schliessen. Der Wasserdruck war bescheiden, Frauen mit langen Haaren müssen mehr Zeit einplanen.Zur krönung kamen noch Ameisen ohne ende. Die Matratze schon durchhängend nichts für Leute mit Bandscheibenvorfall. Die Matratzen mit Verpackungsband zusammen geklebt Es sollte ein Doppelzimmer sein mit 6 qm. Der Kleiderschrank für Singelpersonen. Man durfte nachts die Türen zum Balkon zum Hinterhof nicht öffnen da sonst die Stechmücken kamen.Es hat nach Baustelle gemuffelt. Die ganze Nacht die Klima. Der Frühstückraum morgen um (8:00) mit über 30 Grad man besahs ein Klimagrät es war nicht eingeschaltet, man öffnete die Fenster so daß noch mehr Staub in die Räume, Tische und Boden kam. Das Buffet naja italienisch halt. Der Chef des Hauses kompromisslos. Kein Hotelier.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel - worth every penny

Posted Jul 30, 2016
If I had to summarise my experience in one word - Absolutely flawless. Yes, I know, those are two words but one word would not have done the hotel justice. The location was amazing. Excellent restaurants nearby with some very good tourist locations (eg. The Duomo and fish market being 5 mins walk from the hotel). Previous reviews complaining about scaffolding - well, I mean, scaffolding is there for improvement reasons. That's like complaining about a hotel that is constantly trying to improve.Furthermore, reading from previous reviews about the beds; we had zero issues about the standard of our beds or the quality of our sleep. The staff were very friendly and fantastic. They were very accommodating to our needs. I would like to highly recommend the tour offered by one of the hotel staff. It is about the same price as most other tours in Catania. However having the opportunity to be given a tour by someone so passionate in the subject is priceless. Marco was an absolute joy to go on tour with and I learnt more during the tour with him than on any other tour I have been. If you want to learn about history, I highly suggest a tour with Marco. All in all, fantastic hotel with great location. Air conditioning was working brilliantly. If you need a tour, take the opportunity to go with someone who is actually passionate about the subject. It was a pleasure, Hotel Etnea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manila

Great value BUT...

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Coffee individually made to order.
Cons: hot breakfast would be nice.
Location: 15 minute walk to duomo and fish market. it is across the bellini garden. lots of restaurants and shops around.
It was shocking to find the hotel covered in scaffolding. the hotel is a very old house with the flooring in reception sagging one way, it looked scary. There was no elevator and you'll have to haul up your luggage two flights of stairs, with their help. no ham and eggs for breakfast, just bread and jams. We dealt with 4 front desks staff, some more friendly than others. the room was spacious and clean, A/C good and there was hot water. No complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Nice, quiet hotel in central location.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great staff members. They were nice and helpful. The bed was sagging and needed replacement, but I had a good night sleep due to the hotel being very quiet. Breakfast was fine. AC could be more strong, but it was normal by Sicily standards. Good value hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bologna

Ambiente demodè, servizio ottimo

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: La disponibilità del personale
Cons: Comfort e ingresso
Location: Posizione ottima, vicino alle principali attrazioni e alle fermate dei bus
Ad oggi l'hotel soffre per i lavori sull'esterno del palazzo, tuttavia l'ingresso è bruttino e la nostra camera angusta, senza abat jour . A fronte di questa debolezza strutturale la disponibilità dei ragazzi della reception è totale. Conclusione : buono per chi non ha grandi pretese sul comfort e conta sull'aiuto per orientarsi nella città.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2016
Our stay was very brief but enjoyable. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very tasty breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Worst bed I've ever slept on. Ever.

Posted May 6, 2016
Most everything was GREAT about this hotel. The location was perfect, the staff were pleasant, the breakfast was soooo good. However, I cannot recommend this hotel because the bed is SO BAD!!! I imagine an old ancient prison bed is uncomfortable but not as bas as a Hotel Etnea bed. Don't bother staying here if you need seep or would like to be physically comfortable. It will not happen. Also, there was construction and a jackhammer right outside our window every day. We couldn't open our balcony window for air because the workers would stop working and stare into our room from 3 ft away. Perhaps you could warn guests that their privacy and peace and quiet will be interrupted before you arrive. Cute hotel to see but I warn you that this is THE WORST BED you will ever sleep on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted May 3, 2016
Amazing staff ... Small things would make this a totally fab place... Hairdryers in the room rather than having to ask, tea and coffee making facilities in the room, pillow slips on the spare pillows.