Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Desborough

Charming hotel in historic centrr

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We loved this hotel, because it was so close to all the interesting sights in Catania with plenty of restaurants and bars in the vicinity. The breakfast served on the beautiful terrace was delicious. Very friendly and helpful staff, The room was spacious and comfortable and we had a view of Etna from our window. The only minus: Wifi was patchy and unstable. We certainly recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Catania.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB Canada

Good location close to historic sights

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location, safety
Cons: Need to clean or replace carpets in the bedroom
Location: Heart of Catania, on a steep street, walking distance near historic sites, shopping, restaurants
Good location, close to historic sites, a few blocks from shopping street Via Etna. Older style hotel, halfway up a steep hill, rooms spacious, bathrooms clean. Carpets in the bedroom had stains so need to be cleaned or replaced. Free wifi, great water pressure in the shower. Didn't try breakfast as had to leave so early. Not far from a nice outdoor Pizza restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location but dated

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Located in up hill location a struggle to come back from the old town but near beautiful old town 5 minutes walk Staff very helpful and speak good English Breakfast is excellent in a terrace Rooms in 3rd floor are newly refurbished and good size and nice furniture Rooms in 1st floor some are a wall separated from the bar and lounge not only that they are dated and smelly -musty smell also the one facing the street is a problem as street noise is up to 12 midnight mainly because cars are driving uphill in a narrow and busy road and poor isolation of the windows Internet is another story keeps cutting off for long intervals Car park is within the hotel premises cost 15 euro per day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham UK

Great Location

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Excellent location, great staff.
Cons: Guest rooms in need of re-furbishment
The hotel is situated in the heart of old Catania. It is in a good position with many attractions within easy walking distance as are shops bars and restaurants. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly and the included breakfast is adequate but there is limited choice if you are not into cakes ! That said, it is well presented and served in pleasant surroundings by friendly staff. The hotel is quite quirky. It is an old palace and some of the corridors contain old artefacts which is nice. There is also a small sun terrace on the 3rd floor with good views over the city to Mount Etna. Our room had a small balcony, a safe and minibar/fridge. There are no tea/coffee making facilities. The room was clean, comfortable and well maintained. Daily service was good. One evening a light bulb in the bathroom started flickering. We didn’t say anything but when we returned the next day it had been replaced !! It has to be said however that although clean, the rooms are tired, worn and in need of re-furbishment. With some investment in this area the hotel would be fantastic – but no doubt far more expensive. Overall, a good hotel providing value for money in an excellent location. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Decent enough hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The staff approach. The breakfast was just what was required and nicely balanced.
Location: Catania is pleasant enough but a limited place from a tourist perspective. It served my purpose well for excursions elsewhere.
The staff were very pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. The room was fine and well cleaned overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Farnborough UK

Excellent hotel near Catania centre

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and room
Cons: From our experience probably nothing.
Location: A few hundred yards from the main shopping street. Close to the main square and in walking distance of the main historical attractions
The hotel is well situated close to Catania city centre and in easy walking distance of the train station. Staff are helpful and attentive. We had a superior room that was very large and included a private patio. The hotel was clean and, for its age, in a good state of repair. The buffet breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The Hotel, staff and location are lovely. Situated close to cafes, bars & Restaurants, plus walking distance to virtually everything you may need to see. The Hotel terrace on the third floor is a little oasis that nobody else used, other than my wife & I. The 360 degree views over the City are some of the best I have seen, with a fantastic, unobstructed view of Etna smoking in the distance. Well worth a 3 or 4 night stay, although we spent a week there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Staff and location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Warm welcoming feeling
Cons: Breakfast was a ok but a menu would assist as we were unsure on what was on offer
Location: Great food, wine and sights to see what more could you possibly want?
Great location and a great base to explore from. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us and I would like to thank them for their assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

CONVENIENTLY SITUATED

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: We liked the location and baroque style of this hotel,
Cons: A kettle and tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcome
Location: Try coffee and cannolo at Café Duomo in Piazza Duomo.
We loved our, stay here, there is everything you need, good location for all the main attractions. Very comfortable rooms, with comfy beds and good quality bedding. The staff are very pleasant, and the breakfast room is situated on a pleasant terrace with good views of the neighbourhood. While the breakfast table boast a variety of cereals, hams, cheese, fruit and pastries etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Hotel is located a the heart of the historic center of the city, close to dining and shopping. The hotel's breakfast is very good with excellent quality of food.