Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and welcoming.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: As above
I arrived before the check in time but waited only about fifteen minutes before a room was available. There was water in the frig, a box of tissues by the bed, lovely walk-in shower in the bathroom and the room was very attractive with double doors opening to the courtyard. The receptionist booked me a taxi for the following morning as I had to leave at 5.30 am for an early flight - too early for breakfast but the vending machine provided an excellent cup of coffee. An excellent overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Stayed four nights in January

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Very nice courtyard area for sitting out in the sun (or shade).
Cons: Coffe/tea making facilities in rooms.
Location: Very close (5 mins) to all regional bus and train services. City centre 20 mins walk. Lots of cafe's and eating places nearby
We were a bit disappointed when we arrived tired after a seven hour journey by bus and train from the west of Sicily as the hotel is in a run down part of town exactly opposite the train station and doesn't give a good first impression. Unlike the marble tiled modern hotels we had previously stayed at, the Villa Romeo is more traditional, very ornamented and a little tired. Also there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which we regard as a must. However, the hotel room was very clean and spacious with a high ceiling, a fridge and a very modern bathroom with a good shower and was very quiet though it faced the street. The hotel is on the top two floors of an old building and there is a lovely completely enclosed courtyard where you can sit outside and drink your own beer or wine. Hotel breakfast costs Euro 5 and was fine. The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful. Free Wifi was good. The strongest point of the hotel is it's proximity to the train and bus stations which make it a good base for exploring the East coast - we visited Syracusa and Taormina by bus. Catania cathedral is about a 20 min walk. We found a world class wine bar Il Cantiniere 15 mins away. We would highly recommend if you are looking for a base to explore the east coast of Sicily and the Mt Etna area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Overall very good

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Cleaning fluid smell
Location: Close to train station
All good, but smell of cleaning fluid is disturbing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price with wifi

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was ok for the price. The area is not really great to walk around in with some apparent homeless shelters nearby, especially at night. It was clean and with the doors opening out to a patio. The staff were absolutely lovely and helpful and spoke English. Breakfast was just ok. Free wifi in the room which was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice 3 star!

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Closeness to train station and easy walking distance to historic centre.
Cons: Neighbourhood wasn't ideal but seemed safe at night on main roads.
Location: All the major historical sites were easily accessible on foot. Hop on/off was ideal to get bearings - we were warned not to get off as frequency dodgy
Clean, roomy and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Nice breakfast atmosphere in open garden space. Plenty of flora throughout hotel in such a dense urban environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

nice hotel close to transport,city.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
what can i say the staff where good and very helpful.not only that there was always a smile on there face.and ready to advise you on where you should go.and what to see.Had a great day on our tour to mt etna and wine trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel despite proximity to train station

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Hotels around train stations are not normally that good, however, this is an exception. There are two courtyards and my room faced onto one of them. Some rooms will face the main road so if you can try and arrange the former. Would have scored higher for the room but for a pervasive smell of mold in the bathroom - but the staff we surprised by this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Great staff

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The staff Francesco and Claudio are superb.
What makes this hotel great is the staff. Francesco and Claudio are fabulous! They go above and beyond to be helpful and courteous. The security in the hotel is great and the courtyards are welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Signs from bus station were very helpful in locating the hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Prettiest cappuccino in town :) Room was much bigger than expected. Price excellent for the quality of hotel room. Staff very kind and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Inexpensive hotel provides comfort and good value

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location, reception, excellent value, small floral patios.
Cons: Accept this hotel for what it is and you'll be happy. Seedy neighborhood obviously can't be improved by the hotel.
Location: I got there at night and left in the morning. Would definitely go to warm and friendly restaurant with terrific simple Sicilian food.
This hotel located near the train station is clean and well maintained. Rooms are small and furnishings are old and somewhat drab with hard beds (that I actually prefer) and old fashioned decorations. Excellent wifi in rooms and simple pleasant breakfast in a charming out door patio. New fixtures in bathroom. Reception speaks excellent English and is quite helpful. Around the corner from an excellent inexpensive restaurant that shouldn't be missed (restaurant requires reservations on Saturday evening.) I would stay here again.