Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Staff is the best

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Better mattresses and either fans by the A/C to circulate or better units.
Location: Location was walking distance to the Catania night life. Much t do locally
Even though the bed was uncomfortable and I had to purchase a small fan to circulate the A/C in the room, our stay was outstanding. The staff was second to none. Best staff I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockville, MD

Well-located, great staff

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location, the A/C, the WiFi
Cons: Ice machines would be nice. We only seemed to get 2 channels on our TV - BBC world news and a German movie channel.
Although the neighborhood looks a little scary at first, this is a wonderful hotel, well-located with an affiliated parking garage just halfway down the block (for a small daily fee). The staff all went out of their way to be friendly, and they manage to pack almost all the regular amenities into this classic older building. While they don't have a "business center" when I forgot to print some theater tickets they had me email the file to them and they printed it them for me. The lobby area is very nice, the AC is ridiculously strong, and the WiFi was great too. We upgraded to a small suite and had a thermostat for each room. The TV only seemed to have 2 channels - BBC World News and a German movie channel, but honestly I don't really expect to do much TV watching in Sicily. The staff recommended a local restaurant for dinner (Trattoria del Cavaliere) and made a reservation for us. The meal was fantastic - the spaghetti al Nero di sepia (squid ink pasta) in particular was incredible. We will definitely state there again the next time we are In Catania.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trento

Buon Hotel in centro

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: L'atmosfera, la disponibilità del personale, l'eleganza e anche la riservatezza nei confronti degli ospiti.
Cons: Il parcheggio carissimo 13 € a notte sono decisamente eccessivi se si considera che la sosta normale costa 0,75 all'ora e dopo le ore 20 è gratis.
Location: Posizione ottima, parcheggio difficoltoso, la zona è molto sporca ma si sa è Catania!
Struttura anonima all'esterno ma decisamente gradevole e bella all'interno. Personale sempre disponibile e ordinato anche nell'abbigliamento, preparato anche nel dare indicazioni culturali.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant and comfortable hotel.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The room was very pleasant, with a high ceiling and well lit by the ceiling light and other light fittings. We liked the bed very much (it was nice and firm). They do provide an extra soft layer for those who prefer soft beds. There are several places in the hotel where you can sit and have a drink and talk, from the well air conditioned lobby to a shady garden and other comfortable sitting areas. Wifi worked well and was free. It is not really a business hotel in that there is only one small desk in the room and the safe is too small to take laptops, but we enjoyed our stay very much even though it was a work trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Unbelievable staff

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Beautiful hotel,the staff can't do enough for you a real pleasure hope I get to go back one day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great little hotel just of the main track

Posted Jul 3, 2016
great little hotel, 5 mins walk from downtown. excellant attentive staff and good breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

It's a lovely property. Rooms need some update.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
This is a lovely hote. A short stroll from the Main Street. Room are cute but lacking some updates. Bathrooms looks like 80s bathrooms that cry for a renovation. Wall to wall carpeting are so passé for that type of room. Carpets were stained. Breakfast was yet another disappointing Italian breakfast. Just never expect good breakfast in Italy. It's still overall a nice hotel and I woukd stay there again. Staff was very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant well appointed hotel, well located.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
A real gem in an interesting neighborhood. The staff could not be more welcoming and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Schwabmünchen

Posted Jun 4, 2016
.........................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
by Susan from Darlington

Great hotel with fantastic staff

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
My husband & I stayed for a week at the Liberty Hotel & would definitely stay again if visiting Catania in the future. The décor is lovely, the garden terrace is charming, however, the real gem are the staff. With suggestions of where to visit, assistance in booking a trip & ordering in a meal on a night we didn't fancy going out. Always helpful & always smiling. Before travelling I researched how to get to Pizza Armerina & the Villa Romana, however, the hotel suggested private transport & arranged for Simona to take us & it worked out not much more expensive but far, far more convenient!. If you do stay & fancy a trip definitely ask for Simona!