Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Hotel is dated, but location is great and front desk staff is extraordinary for helping coordinate plans and excursions!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Catania in November

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The NH Catania is a good choice for a stay in Catania. As other reviewers have noted, it's in a quieter part of the city, right by bus stops for the airport and city buses. You can walk to the historic center or train/bus station in about 20-25 minutes. It's a newer hotel, and room/facilities are fine. The hotel staff were all friendly enough. As others reported, the breakfast does emphasize baked goods - but they're quality baked goods. The restaurant is OK - there aren't too many other eating options close by.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Catania is a compact city and easy to get around. The market which is daily is well worth experiencing. My wife bought loads of clothes for our young grandchildren. The restaurants are all good and quite cheap. I recommend this city. Airport not far away. Under 20 euros for the taxi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dreadful Stay

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
The receptionist did nit have a good grasp of English when checking in. The room temperature in the bedroom was 27 degrees we contacted reception who said they would fix it at reception she asked what temperature we would like we said 21/22 15 minutes later the temperature was 28.5 and getting hotter we opened the window and bedroom door to try and cool the room down. Not a good nights sleep. next day we went to reception and she informed us the problem would be fixed. We returned to the hotel late around 10 pm to find the room temperature at 27.5 we contacted reception once again she said she would switch of the A/c. 30 minutes later still at 27/28 degrees called to reception she said she would send someone to look at the controls The gentleman came into the room pressed a few buttons and said he would sort it at reception 30 minutes later still 27 degrees called reception who then said we would have to move rooms!! it was after 11.00 pm we were then called back to say they were switching on the a/c in reception and this would solve the problem!!. A dreadful stay in an hotel who;s air conditioning can not be operated by the staff. Breakfast was very bad with no tables available we had to clean a table to use to have our breakfast. We did inform reception of our experience on check out but I am not sure he understood us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Good location in Catania

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean and quiet. The range of and quality of food at breakfast was excellent. Staff helped with booking a taxi for the airport.
Cons: Checking with guests on arrival if they would like a smoking room - really in these days it would be better if all hotels were non-smoking.
Location: Easy walking distance to Catania centre, shops and historic area.
Generally a good experience, with the main downside being that I was given a smoking room even though I am a non smoker so there was a slight smell of smoke when first entering the room. The wifi worked in the room on the first day but then stopped working although it worked in reception and the restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Catania stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel. However, not a lot of information provided on Catania tourist information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Oasis

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff very friendly, accomodating.
Cons: For the life of me, I couldn't find the buzzer to get the gate opened into the onsite parking. Street parking was available.
Location: I didn't find much to do nearby, but I was just using the hotel as a jumping-off point to drive to other places. It worked fine for that.
This was quite a nice hotel, in the middle of the city. I didn't see restaurants in the neighborhood, but there is plenty of available practical shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad, not good.

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at several NH Hotels. This is the best amongst them. The card-key did not work so I had go up and down to reception to get it fixed. They couldn't and eventually gave a normal door key to use. Unlike similar hotels there was no computer to use. There was free wifi and you had to use your smart phone. They were helpful and pleasent at the reception. It was a bit off the city center, so walking back after dinner did not feel safe enough.In our previous stay we stayed at the UNA hotel on Via Etna, which was by far cheaper/better located/with nicer roof top restaurant facing Mt Etna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex, England

Very helpful and friendly staff

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, friendly and excellent food.
Location: Within walking distance to restaurants, Cathedral, Roman amphitheatre etc...
Stayed with my son for 5 days. Very friendly and helpful staff (reception, restaurant and cleaners). The breakfasts were excellent, so much choice. We ate in a couple of times in the evening and again the food was excellent. We had deluxe single rooms which were comfortable especially the bed, quiet and clean. Our rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard. The Hotel is well situated in Catania. The only negative thing was the limited parking at the hotel. However, I only had to park on the street for one night. If you have to do the same, then make sure it's a 'Blue Bay', it was cheap compared to the UK.