Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: The location - near enough to all the main attractions and airport!
Cons: Written instructions on how to use the boiled egg cooker - we wasted a few eggs getting the timings right!
Location: Within walking distance of Acireale and on the main road from Cantania Airport. Approx 1 hour drive to Etna and Taormina
Stayed here for 4 nights with friends. Drove past the entrance on arrival and had to take a detour to get back to it but once we arrived what a lovely surprise. The hotel staff are lovely. Our rooms both had French doors that led out onto the garden which was a nice place to gather and have a drink in the evening. The hotel is situated next to a busy road and railway line but we did not notice any excessive noise. We ate in the restaurant a couple nights and would also recommend this. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate although the boiled egg cooker took some getting used to! Swimming pool area was nice and the pool although not heated was nice a the end of a day sightseeing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The restuarant in the hotel was FAB!!!

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the Santa Caterina hotel, and would highly recommend it to anyone, families, couples, singles. It is in a great location to visit many of the beautiful towns surrounding it, Etna, and Catania. Acireale is Baroque as is much of this part of Italy and very close to the Isole Ciclope of Odyssey fame. Fabulous area, great food, local life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoy staying at this hotel and are repeat visitors. Comfortable room, good breakfast, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with character

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Generally a good standard hotel though not 4 star...lovely pool and decent sized room. Reception greeting lacks information unless you ask all the usual questions. Wifi, breakfast times, facilities and the safer way of leaving the hotel for the town.(ask them to open back gate). Good breakfast choice. Shower in our room clean but the edges need a good deep clean between frame and glass. Small table on grass outside rooms lovely. steep walk down and up to the Nature Reserve which also has a cafe with sun bathing area. Nature Reserve possibly a broad term in the sense of what you may see... Well placed for the town (10/15 mins) with some excellent fish restaurants. We would return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with a wonderful view

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The staff both at the hotel reception and at the restaurant are pleasant and helpful. Wonderful views of the ocean from room. Great restaurant onsite.
Cons: Room should be provided with complimentary drinking water and a hot water kettle with tea/coffee sachets. This is pretty basic in most hotels.
Location: The location of the hotel is difficult to get to by car and better signage maybe required. Arciaele is an old town and offers many attractions.
We stayed in Hotel Santa Caterina for 6 nights on our maiden trip to Sicily. The hotel is a little difficult to access by car and the GPS directions takes you through the one way Santa Caterina street. But once you reach the hotel, the views of the sea are breathtaking. The rooms are nicely decorated with basic amenities, and we found the mattress very comfortable for a good night's sleep. Each room has access to a terrace overlooking the sea. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and extremely pleasant to converse with. They do speak English and are well versed with tourist attractions that the area has to offer. The restaurant at the hotel seems to be very popular with the local residents and tends to be busy. Their pizzas and main dishes were delicious and quantities very generous. Would recommend making a reservation to get good tables. Overall, we had a great experience staying at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Nice hotel, nice rooms, friendly staff Great restaurant, excellent breakfast A bit far from Catania but worth the drive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Den Haag

In the Sun

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Informative & helpful Staff, good food
Pleasant Staff, enjoyed both the breakfasts and dinners.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good location

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: pool side
Location: not a thing
the dinning room staff was great all meals......the hotel is in a bad location to get to and from.....my refrigerator was broke for the three days i was in the hotel and the front desk would not get me a new one