Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in heart of downtown Catania --

Posted May 14, 2017
Walked from hotel to square - used "hop on, hop off" tour bus to see the sites. Great restaurant across the street to the left and right at 1st little alley called "Be Quiet". One of our best dinners in Sicily (open before 8pm if you prefer the earlier dinner hour)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for taking your time to post your review on Expedia and sharing with the huge travellers' world, such a pleasant stay's experience in our city centre Italian design hotel, discovering the territory, food and culture of Sicily. We invite you then to come here again and visit as well the other UNA & ATA hotels of our Italian brand group. Kind regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Well situated in the centre of Catania

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were very welcoming and helpful
We visited the beautiful churches, the Monastery, a castle, Botanical gardens, all in walking distance, and arranged guided tours of Etna, Taormina, Ragusa and Puntasecca all from our hotel. We discovered the Opera House....there was a concert (Rachmaninov) it was a wonderful experience and very reasonable
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs Amy, we really appreciate your liking and preference for our city centre located design hotel in Catania. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hospitality and so that, evaluating your stay with the maximum scores rating on Expedia. Your satisfaction is our most important mission, because we have at heart to provide you a memorable stay experience discovering too the excellences for #territory #culture and why not #music too at the Bellini's Opera house. We look forward to welcoming you here back in the near future and as well in the other UNA & ATA Hotels & Resorts all over Italy. Warmest regards from Sicily! Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virgin Islands

Good Location and pleasant atmosphere

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The gym facilities and better quality of the food.
Location: Walking distance to Duomo Piazza and many restaurants.
Although I loved the convenient location, the "gym" was inadequate and very small.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Michael, thank you for taking a little of your time to write your review on Expedia, for us representing a source of information, that helps us to monitor our services to get closer and closer to our guests’ expectations. We see that your general comment is positive, mainly appreciating the hotel city centre location and at the same time, we read that you pointed out your preference and suggestions for the gym, which is a corner for our guests relax with facilities of a well-known Italian fitness leader company. We are sure that your next stay with us will be more and more close to your desires and in the meantime we wish all the best. Kind regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great central location

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Great stay at UNA hotel, we stayed on the 6th floor so great views of etna. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and a few gluten free options which can be requested. Room was spacious and very clean. Guest relations were really helpful with local transport and places to visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. JB, nothing more pleasant for us than reading your review and knowing that we were successful in making your stay, such a great experience in our city centre located design hotel. We would like to thank you then for sharing it with the worldwide travellers on Expedia and for appreciating our service and team work. We always do our best to let our appreciated guests, like You, to enjoy our hospitality, so that, as you experienced it, we invite you to come here again and choose also the other hotels of our group and enjoy the Italian excellence for #territory #food and #culture. Wishing you both all the best, Warmest regards from Sicily! Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If only we could control our own temperature

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Great room and breakfast and staff helping at breakfast
Cons: The guests control their own temperature.
Location: Great area to walk around
We arrived to a beautiful upgraded 2 story room to catch up on sleep from a 24 hour travel day. There is a thermostat in the room but only the front desk controls it. We called the front desk 3 times and they brought the temperature from 84 degrees to 83 on the 3rd call.Very hard for sleeping!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Sir /Dear Madame, we would like to thank you for providing your opinion on Expedia thus allowing us to monitor our services and improve of necessary and get closer and closer to our guests' expectations. We read with pleasure that you mainly appreciated your room and our personnel helping attitude at breakfast and at the same time, we are pleased to read that you pointed out of those elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards as per your preferences. We really apologize for the misunderstanding about the temperature and we ensure that your comments already shared with our team, have given us the opportunity to improve and take all measures to avoid any other unusual circumstance. We are definitely here to take care of you and we are sure that your expectations will be more and more satisfied during your next stay. Warmest regards from Sicily, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tries to be the best

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is old, but has been somewhat renovated. Door keys kept on malfunctioning. There appeared to be a plastic cove under the sheets - which was uncomfortable. Staff were great and kind enough to give us an upgraded room because they were not too busy in February.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Rita GR, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/ Madame, we would like to thank for spending a little bit of your time to provide us your opinion on Hotels.com. We read every review with interest as it represents a source of useful information, which helps us to monitor our services performance and quality. We have noted that, your general comment is positive mainly appreciating our prompt 24 hours’ service thanks to our staff taking care of you as our appreciated guest. At the same we were pleased that you also shared your preference and what was not to your liking. On this matter we are glad to confirm you that doors are functioning properly thanks to their modern opening automatic system, that as soon you put the key card in, after a drill ring letting you directly access in the room just immediately pushing the door. Your comments and suggestions are really important for us and give us the opportunity to continue to improve, so that your expectations are more and more satisfied next time you will choose to stay with us. In the meantime, we stay at your disposal for further info or assistance you may need and we look forward to welcoming you back again and in the other hotels all over Italy of our group #ATAHotels & #UNA Hotels. Very best regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK.

Comfortable hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness. Breakfast. Friendly staff. Location.
Cons: Temperature control in bedrooms - not much changes if you change the control panel.
Location: Very close to shops and restaurants/cafes. All sites are an easy walk.
Really clean hotel throughout. All staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the main breakfast room is super, one of the best continental breakfasts I have had in any hotel: fresh and all good quality. I didn't try the special breakfast on the top floor, as it takes too long (too much sight seeing to do) and seemed really expensive, especially as the main breakfast is so excellent. The 'Turkish Bath' is actually just a sauna, not a 'Hammam'. The beds are very comfortable and the room overall was just right. The lighting is rather clever, sophisticated that you can knock out all the lights next to each bed side. The hotel is really close to cafes and restaurants and there are a couple of bars close by too. All the sites are easily walkable, and the hotel is right on the main shopping street, making the odd purchase very manageable between sight seeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Julie, we would like to thank for spending a little bit of your time to provide us this detailed review on Expedia web portal. We read every review with interest as it represents a source of useful information, which helps us to monitor our services performance and quality. We are also pleased that you also shared your favourable opinion regarding our teamwork, room cleanness and our delicious buffet breakfast. We really believe that every day should start with a magnificent breakfast that is why our continental buffet breakfast is made up of a variety of products. And more, there is also our special Sicilian Etnea Roof breakfast, with typical sweets and savoury delights freshly prepared at the moment by our chef de cuisine, such as the original arancino, a fried rice ball with meat sauce or cuttlefish ink, the cannolo with fresh ricotta, caponatina, parmigiana and lots of other typical delicacies. So, with only a little supplement of 12.00€ per pers., you can also choose to start your day with the Sicilian taste in our breath-taking Etnea Roof. Besides, taking note about your preference for the temperature, we are glad to confirm you that both the heating and air conditioning systems are both centrally located and that you can change and regulate them three degrees more or less and if you need more, just ask us for a different setting in the manual mode, but, of course, in case of window opening everything immediately stops. Your comments and suggestions are really important for us and give us the opportunity to continue to improve, so that your expectations are more and more satisfied next time you will choose to stay with us. In the meantime, we stay at your disposal for further info or assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back and in the other hotels of our Italian group. Kind regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation
5 out of 5
by ZEEV

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Rita GR, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Zeev, thank you very much for providing your high scores feedback and for sharing with us on Hotels.com your pleasant Sicilian experience during your stay in UNA Hotel Palace. Our success is our guest’s satisfaction and we always do our best to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible providing high quality services, suggestion you the best that you can experience concerning territory, art, food and culture, the care of details, which characterized our hospitality #Atahotels & #Unahotels. We look forward to having you here again as our appreciated guest in the near future. Best regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Great hotel in the center of Catania

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast included, good wifi speeds, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to many restaurants and gardens. Close to many historical sites as well.
Easy check-in and actually received an upgrade! Hotel was beautiful and very comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options. Also had welcome drink which was great. Clean room and very friendly staff. Not the best of views but the hotel atmosphere and hospitality more than made up for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Guest Relation RM, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Joe, it is so pleasant to read your feedback about UNA Hotel Palace and we thank you very much for appreciating our services. It is rewarding for us and helpful for the other travellers that like you can choose it, for its convenient city centre location, the delicious breakfast, the cleanness, our hospitality and the quality stay provided. We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and beautiful city and in the meantime we invite to visit the other Italian design ATA & UNA hotels, as well centrally located and with strategic positions in order to let you discover the Italian excellences. Kindest regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and Friendly Staff!

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Just arrived back from staying 2 nights at this hotel. Perfect central location, close to all the shops, bars and restaurants. Staff were very helpful from the day we arrived. Allowed us to check in early. This allowed us get out and start exploring the city. Bus station is close by if you are looking to do the Etna tour. Room was very hot during the night due to their heating but this was our only complaint. Otherwise great hotel, ideal location with lovely staff. Would definitely recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Hotels.com about your great stay at UNA Hotel Palace so that you can a recommend it for its perfect location to discover the city highlights and to reach the other important Sicilian tourist goals. Moreover, we are very pleased to read your appreciation for our welcome and hospitality. We have at heart to provide you a stay experience close to your desires and taking note about your opinion for the heating system already shared with our technical dept., we are sure that your next stay will be more and more close to your expectations. We look forward to having you here again and in the meantime we also invite to visit the other ATA & UNA Hotels all over Italy. Very best regards, Rita Monfrini Guest Relation UNA Hotel Palace