Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The lady was helpful and kind.
Cons: i guess you already know what should be improved.
Location: it's close to city center but i didn't stay in catania to visit the city.
Stayed in a room and couldn't sleep well because of the traffic. Couldn't close the windows.
4 out of 5
by Barry from Newcastle upon Tyne

Decent budget option

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean and reasonably comfortable. The breakfast was not fantastic and the air conditioning not the best. But very helpful staff, overall there is nothing wrong with staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
The owner was really help full. The location is very good. My concern was about the breakfast it was poor, nothing you aspect for a Italian style. The room was clean with nice air conduction.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LK from Ithaca, NY, USA

Good location, Good value for the money.

Posted Jan 5, 2013
Good location. Good value for the money. Pretty basic rooms on a third floor of a residential building, private baths but outside your room.OK for overnight in the very center of Catania. The staff helpful in finding parking, moving bags etc. Breakfast very simplistic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed, bad management and possibly a breakfast.

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Cost
Cons: Embarrassment of dealing with guests on doorstep
Location: Ok, looks odd but felt very safe.
As a basic clean cheap hotel/ hostel room this was fine. However, the management of it is appalling. We reviewed trip advisor and other sites before choosing it so were prepared in terms of locating the door and that we may need to phone rather than ring. There are what look like new signs on the main door and street corner which is good but it is not obvious that you have to phone the manager. We emailed to say we would be arriving at 10. We arrived and rang the bell and then rang the phone number, no answer. Then we rang the phone number again, and again. It became a little worrying. Eventually it was answered, the manager turned up 5 minutes later and apologised for not having heard his phone ring. 20 minutes from when we arrived we got to our room. During the week we heard numerous people ring the bell, and were embarrassed as we left for our evenings out, to refuse entry to these other guests and try and explain the system as they tried to get hold of the manager. We also heard evidence of double bookings and poor logistics in general, one day there was no breakfast, another it ended an hour early. His friend/ assistant had very little English apart from!"Cafe, Breakfast, YOU PAY NOW" (shouted) and "card machine broken". So expect to call, expect to wait, expect to pay in cash and whether you get breakfast in the hotel or in the cafe opposite or not at all is just a gamble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlie from Malta

Hotel with a friendly atmosphere.

Posted Sep 10, 2012
Very friendly family run hotel. It is not a fancy place, but it makes you feel at home with the friendliness of the people who run it. And besides it was spotless and very quiet. It is for people who have a normal approach to life, without a lot of fancy extras, but it made me feel at home and very safe too. Recommended.
2 out of 5
by maggie

Impossible to find easily!!!

Posted Jun 28, 2012 on Hotels
We arrived about 10,30pm and had great difficulty finding the place. Without a helpful taxi driver I do not think we would have found it. Eventually a man came down who seemed to be a bit worse the wear and marched us off up the street to a totally different place which we were aware of from reading the comments about the place, It was not a great beginning.Rooms were ok clean with fresh towels.Breakfast was a bit skimpy but the young girl was doing her best. It seemed a bit of a unprofessional set up. It was well placed for the sites though!!
5 out of 5
by V Millman

Great value!

Posted May 17, 2012 on Hotels
This was a grat value for anyone looking to stay in Catania! It is well located, close to cafes, sights, sightseeing ours, restarunts, and shopping! The room was really nice and the staff was warm and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Great hotel, fantastic position, really close to the city centre.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't miss the flair of Catania

Posted Oct 15, 2011 on Hotels
G welcomes you with a comfortable apt at a good value within walking distance from the lively duomo. I will ring Antico Teatro again if I return to Catania