Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Clive

Catania on foot

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was most enjoyable and the hospitality of the owner and her assistant was first class. The furnishings were somewhat dated, but perfectly clean and comfortable.The 20 minute walk into the old town centre might put some people off , but we liked it very much and enjoyed the experience. Parking was less than 5 minutes away from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Friendly and helpful staff. Ideal location as hotel on main street and a walk walk into city centre. Rooms quiet despite the traffic outside. And air conditioned. Lovely decor. Breakfast included. Would go back ourselves and recommend to others planning a trip to Sicily/Catania.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnny B from London, UK

Quirky but comfortable

Posted Jun 5, 2012
Pros: Quirky character makes a good change from the sameness of modern hotels
Cons: Squeaky beds
Location: A litle too far out of town
This is a quirky hotel, the room we had was old but has been properly modernised to make for a comfortable stay. One of the beds was a little too old and it certainly would not have been the place for a romantic trip away, unless you want the rest of the hotel to know about it! Generally though the room was good and even though it is on a busy road extremely quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast adequate and the hotel smart, comfortable and full of character. The only reason I would not rate the hotel higher is that it is a long way fron the key sites of Carania albeit they are easily reached by the regular local bus services.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Jan 15, 2012 on Hotels
Downsides: Location - it's about 25-30 minutes walk from the main tourist sites and squares of Catania, so not very convenient if you're visiting as a tourist (better if you're up for figuring out buses - we did eventually but they're patchy on public holidays). Walls are quite thin, we heard a lot of noise from other guests. Upsides: Reception staff were friendly and spoke good English, they helped us book a taxi to the station. Building and rooms have a nice old character feel (ours had a very high ceiling). Fairly cheap relative to other hotels we looked at in Catania. But overall we'd prefer to spend a bit more and stay closer to the centre if we returned.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dublin, ireland

location location dont stay here on your vacation

Posted Oct 20, 2011 on Hotels
firstly to say that neither my wife nor i have exacting standards when it comes to holiday accomodation- not snobbish at all. but: depressing location. couldn't open shutters 'cos of proximity to slum. usual uninterested reception (certainly you must not travel to sicily in search of human warmth, nor even much basic civility). 'palazzo' was probably, at some stage, not a profoundly ironic name for this buiilding. breakfast was only moderately poor. room was very clean (also something you CAN rely upon from sicilian accomodation. navigation to dead centre of town is easy - just straight down via etnea - and not too far (or TOO scary). in sum: this is not a hotel. it is poorly equipped, badly in need of refurbishment (it's so dark!) and anyway located in an area suitable only for a hostel (where punters younger than me might actually enjoy the rather basic grafitti tagging visible from their 'window', just across the escalator down to the metro
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good.

Posted Jun 8, 2011 on Hotels
Would recommend it to all
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Comfortable and convenient

Posted May 11, 2009
A very pleasant hotel, close to public transport and on one of the main streets in Catania. With clean and spacious rooms, high decorated ceilings, period furniture, large-screen TVs, wireless internet and extremely friendly and helpful staff, this is an excellent option for anyone visiting Catania, whether for business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 11, 2009
The customer service was exceptional. The room was beautiful, bathroom good size, comfy bed, good facilities. It's right on Via Etnea and great access to circumvetnea train, but be prepared for the traffic noise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darwin

Best kept secret.

Posted Jan 23, 2009
Classic hotel with a fantastic room with balconies high ceilings and a frescoe and bathroom entered via wardrobe ! Wide screen television with cable and optional languages. Absolutely wonderful staff. They put us on to a local restaurant with terrific food and a great owner.Walking distance from the centre of town, train and parking. The Mauritian staff are wonderful, and they speak fluent English, French, Italian, and probably some other languages.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

functional, good value hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2008
Good budget hotel with excellent security. Room was adequate and bathroom facilities good but perhaps needed a little more attention to cleanliness. Situated at the top end of city and ideal for Etna tour pick up. Room decor interesting although a bit tired. breakfast adequate. Would recommend for overnight or 2day break for sightseeing.