Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Lovely host, spectacular site, warm welcome. Great place to land.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by Santuzza, Hotel Management
Greetings from Catania! Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a great pleasure to meet you and hope to see you again! Best Wishes, Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
A lovely oasis with a 25m swimming pool. The staff were lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Castello D'Urso Somma, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your pleased feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by Alexey from Boston

Great villa in a beautiful garden

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is a unique medieval villa with a nice garden and a pool. The staff is welcoming and accommodating. The neighborhood is not as nice, car or taxi is a must.
5 out of 5
by N J from Somerset, England

COLLIS / CLOVER engagement

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
If you would like a relaxing break in a beautiful setting - this is the place to go. The helpful staff and owners made us feel very welcome and spoilt. We will be back next year!
5 out of 5
by VINCENT from Holgate

Unexcepted service

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly helpful family, couldn't ask more of a hotel they found a restaurant that came and picked us up and drove us back. The reason this is exceptional is there was flash flooding in the area and it was easy for the driver to pick us , he had to go the long way round but this was no trouble. 10/10
5 out of 5
by Bianca Valeria from bucharest

wonderfull

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Castello d'Urso Soma is fantastic. I've been there with my mother for our last night in Sicily after we travelled trough all the main attractions on the island. This hotel was the best of all, we had time to relax, the gardens are huge, the pool is amazing and the castle makes you feel like you're in a fairy tale. The staff was really friendly and helpful, the owner of the property as well, he welcomed us in a very nice way. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated, the breakfast area is very relaxing, you have a small terace with tables just in front of it. The water in the pool very clean and warm and you have a lot of isolated areas where you can relax. It was perfect for our last night in Sicily, we went straight to the airport after that with a very relaxed and beautiful feeling. Its very near from the airport, 10 minutes by car. Thank you for all that you offered, we are very glad that we chose this place!
5 out of 5
by Lioudmila from Los Angeles

Little oasis close to Catania airport

Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotels in Catania are hard to find, and even more so closer to the airport; we have stayed at several in the past that were horrible, so Castello D'Urso Somma was a little oasis in otherwise industrial only area just a couple of miles from the airport. It is a large, beautiful property (large well kept garden and grounds, stunning Olympic size pool) behind the gates - you feel totally secluded from the neighborhood. Rooms are in annex buildings, each has several rooms and a shared eating area where you can help yourself any time to breakfast items (yorgurt, milk, fruit, cereals, toasts, bread, spreads, cake - basic, but sufficient; there is espresso and tea as well). Rooms were not huge, but clean and bathroom with shower was actually very good size, especially for Europe. For the price paid, it exceeded our expectations and it was only a ten minute drive (without traffic) into the center of Catania and merely a couple of miles from the airport. The only item to note is that rooms are not soundproof, you can hear neighbors coming and people in the breakfast area, but it was only occasional. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and use it again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good B&B - Very loud though.

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Pool
Cons: Soundproofing
Good B&B. Its is a little hard to find in the dark. The directions they give are ample, but if you do book i would suggest going right to the end of the road to the round about - coming back on yourself and its 2nd on the right. Pool is wonderful, and the grounds are fantastic. The only issue we had was the soundproofing of the rooms. We were kept up most of the night with either a dog barking, people coming and going and people making breakfast in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

A perfect stopover place

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The warm welcome of the host and the well kept grounds and swimming pool.
We did not know what to expect but were blown away by the well looked after grounds and the enormous swimming pool. A perfect place for a stopover before flying out of Catania Airport which is only a couple of miles away. Don't let the appearance of the road between the airport and the accommodation put you off. You will get a nice surprise when you arrive and the grounds are extremely well kept. The accommodation is not in the castle but in a bungalow next to the castle. Although the rate includes breakfast, it is a do it yourself affair so allow plenty of time to make your breakfast when heading to the airport first thing.
5 out of 5
by Heather from Amersham, England

An oasis behind gates.

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
There cannot be a better B&B to stay if you're visiting Catania. Close to the beach, restaurants and airport (not noisy). We were made extremely welcome, nothing was too much trouble and given great restaurant advice. An oasis behind gates! Thank you.