Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Comfortable hotel, with very helpful staff

Posted Jan 10, 2018
Pros: Comfortable room, and very helpful staff
Cons: Would be good to have a kettle in the room
Location: 15 - 20 minutes walk from all main sites in Catania, and also from the main bus and train station - allowing easy access to most attractions in Sicily
Spent 10 nights at the hotel, using it as a base to visit both Catania but also across Sicily using the local bus and train network, which is excellent. Reception staff were very helpful finding bus and train schedules for us to get around the island. Breakfast is varied and good. Room was good sized and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in quiet area

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Nice hotel. The main thing I look for in a hotel is quiet, and this didn't disappoint - sound didn't carry between rooms or from outside. The staff were absolutely lovely and made me feel very at home. It's in a quiet area but only a short walk to the main shopping street, and also not far from the big monastery. The breakfast was the only thing that wasn't great, not terribly fresh bread - always a conundrum for a small hotel to manage a decent variety without throwing lots of stuff away though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Close to everything

Posted Nov 8, 2017
The Liberty was a great home base for adventuring around Catania. We loved the market and the wonderful sights and sounds of that experience. We took a day trip to Taoramina which was an easy bus ride!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Excellent place to stay in Catania.

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Liberty Hotel is an excellent base for a stay in Catania. Our room 203, was a suite which had everything you need. The hotel still has that old fashioned charm which modern hotels can’t get and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay a happy one. The surrounding area is a bit shabby but don’t let that put you off as most of Catania is like that! Breakfast was lovely too. Good place to stay. Good local restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
by MR WILLIAM G DAVIES

Superb service, superb hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic experience in the hotel from beginning to end. Complimentary wine on arrival for our honeymoon and service above and beyond what I would have expected in terms of local knowledge and helpfulness. Superb all round and thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wangaratta, Australia

Deliciously old fashioned hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable with small touches like dolci on the bedside table and linen hand towels.
Location: Five minute walk to Via Etnea or the Bellini Gardens. Great little family run trattoria two minutes away.
Beautifully decorated hotel with spacious rooms, great breakfast buffet, helpful and courteous staff and located just a few minutes from Via Etnea and the Giardino Bellini. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location, staff
The hotel is well situated, well maintained, and the staff are great. The breakfast was nice too. If you are staying there and want natural light, make sure and check this out before booking a room (our room had none and that was important to me). Lots of outside noise, but that is probably a problem everywhere in Catania. The shower was really great, and you can tell that they work hard to make it a very good experience for their guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel let down by uncomfortable bed!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice staff, good breakfast
Cons: The bed!!
Location: Reasonable central. Although there is nothing in the immediate streets it is easy to walk into the centre
This hotel has a unique, old fashioned style. It is not shabby - it just has an old world style to it. The staff were all helpful and the breakfast, for a cold only continental breakfast, offered everything you could want. However, both my husband and I found the bed horrendously hard so neither of us had a good night's sleep. Shame as it spoilt an otherwise pleasant night's stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Francesco Puglisi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, to make the bed softer, it is possible to require some coverbeds at the reception desk, as written in the rules & informations.
5 out of 5
by Barbara

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Located on a quiet street within walking distance of good restaurants, a lively shopping area, and interesting sights, Liberty Hotel was the perfect choice for our family of four adults. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the ample breakfast included with our rooms. We highly recommend this small hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco CA

One night in Catani

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Orbitz
We booked Hotel Liberty in a last minute decision to stay in Catania. Hotel is a quick five minute walk to historic sights and is on a quiet streeet. The staff was welcoming, friendly and very informative. the rooms are very large and bed was comfortable; the couch, carpet and drapes appear very old. We would definitely stay hear again.