Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location, staff
The hotel is well situated, well maintained, and the staff are great. The breakfast was nice too. If you are staying there and want natural light, make sure and check this out before booking a room (our room had none and that was important to me). Lots of outside noise, but that is probably a problem everywhere in Catania. The shower was really great, and you can tell that they work hard to make it a very good experience for their guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel let down by uncomfortable bed!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Clean, nice staff, good breakfast
Cons: The bed!!
Location: Reasonable central. Although there is nothing in the immediate streets it is easy to walk into the centre
This hotel has a unique, old fashioned style. It is not shabby - it just has an old world style to it. The staff were all helpful and the breakfast, for a cold only continental breakfast, offered everything you could want. However, both my husband and I found the bed horrendously hard so neither of us had a good night's sleep. Shame as it spoilt an otherwise pleasant night's stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Francesco Puglisi, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, to make the bed softer, it is possible to require some coverbeds at the reception desk, as written in the rules & informations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts, USA

Business

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Excellent service, ready help and advice in local affairs. Convenient location, access to city cebtet restaurants, bars and shopping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Old world charm.
Location: The location was a bit grungy.
A bit disappointing particularly the location. The room itself was old fashioned but charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF,CA

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Only complaint, and it is a minor one, the water could have been a little warmer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Just stayed one night. Excellent value for money, compared to London. Very stylish and comfortable with faultless service. Would definitely try to stay there again, if we go back to Catania. It is also just ten mniutes walk from the centre of town and 20 minutes in a taxi from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara

Nice Hotel, Questionable Neighborhood

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff and my room.
Cons: ...ask the government to clean up the neighborhood a bit.
Location: Walking distance to the historic sights.
The property was in a somewhat difficult to find location...the taxi was a little lost trying to find it. The staff were all extremely helpful. The manager on duty gave us directions to a great little pedestrian area with lots of night life and restaurants. However, the walk to and from the hotel was a bit odd; the walls and buildings were covered with graffiti and the streets had trash laying around. I think the neighborhood must have been nice at one time, but it is now very decayed. I would have chosen a place closer to the main square if I had known this. The room was very cute and had charming decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hockliffe, England

Quiet, comfortable and stylish

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Relaxed, quiet, friendly
Cons: Coffee at breakfast - Americano too weak and Espresso too small
Location: Quiet back street - wouldn't have found it without Google Maps
This is a small (18 room) hotel which doesn't seem to be very busy; this means it's quiet and peaceful. The rooms are large, well decorated and comfortable. Quite old fashioned decor but very stylish. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Location is a 5-10 minutes walk to the main square with plenty of restaurants there. Would really recommend this hotel if you want somewhere more relaxed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cheshire

Great welcome, lovely characterful hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The hotel's surroundings aren't exactly salubrious, but then from what I saw of Catania not much is. However the hotel itself is delightful, as are the staff. I arrived at about midnight after a long day's work, and Antonio came to the front door to welcome me and treated me to a large glass of (excellent) local red wine. The room was very pleasant, the tiling in my bathroom was amazing and the Wi-Fi was excellent. I'm only sorry I couldn't stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Hotel Liberty is close to the center, bus station and a lot of restaurants. The staff is wonderful and always willing to help. Room is very spacious and lobby is really nice.